Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 68 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Johnston Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are disciplined and care about the kids. The principal is involved and in-tune with the school's needs. The parents care as well and support the school at functions.

Johnston Middle School 5

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
Amazing school. Our son chose Johnston as a magnet in choir and orchestra. The teachers are very good and the GT class work is rigorous. As for the magnet classes they are even more rigorous and students who fail to comply with the high standards lose their eligibility. I know many parents are concerned about sending their child to a Title 1 school but they really miss out when they write Johnston off.


Johnston Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 30, 2015
- a parent
It certainly isn't a cakewalk! Still, my child is managing the load and 2 outside activities each week.

Johnston Middle School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted December 30, 2015
- a parent
I believe that the administrators and faculty strive to promote these values. Let's be fair - 11 years of bad parenting cannot be overcome in 3 years. This question refers to values which should have been instilled by the parents prior the child entering the school system. Further, there are members of the community and HISD officials who seek to undercut the efforts of the individual schools to promote these values by eliminating the school's authority to impose discipline. So, I agree that the school tries to promote these values , while it is the parents' responsibility to develop these values.

Johnston Middle School 5

Posted December 30, 2015
- a parent
My child wants to go to school every day. She has developed lasting friendships here. She is learning and is excited to tell me about her learning. That she is able to take art, orchestra, Karate and French classes is amazing. I am involved with her education. I have taken time to meet all of her teachers and have discussions with them. I know about the curriculum for each class. When she struggles, I know about it and I let her teachers know - other students may also struggle. We are looking forward to the 2nd half of the year!


Johnston Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Too much bad behavior going on to focus on learning, integrity and there was no fairness.

Johnston Middle School 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
I had one child to graduate JMS and two currently attending JMS. This school has problems and so do the other middle schools. Our experience with Johnston has been very challenging. Johnston now allows students to have math classes everyday. They offer tutorials for the core classes. I'm very active in my kids education, so when problems and concerns arises, the teachers, administrators, and counselors are very helpful. I feel the quality of education is fair. My oldest daughter that attends high school has been equipped by Johnston to succeed in Geometry and soar in her other core classes including Spanish. Although my oldest daughter is not strong in math, thanks to JMS tutorials she attended through out her 8th grade year, it is helping her to survive in her HS math class.

Johnston Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Godwin ( seventh grade counselor) and Ms. Lamb (6th grade counselor ) are awesome. I feel Ms. Godwin and Ms, lamb goes over and above their call of duty


Johnston Middle School 1

Posted May 13, 2015
- a community member
I am graduating from 8th grade from Johnston Middle School this year. It has not been a good experience. If you are a parent considering sending your child to Johnston, I would think twice and here's why: Drugs and Alcohol are a major problem here at Johnston. Kids get arrested and placed in handcuffs frequently. Another problem is the violence. There is literally a fight every week maybe even more than once a week. It happens way too often and it always seems to be that Administrators as well as the campus police are NOT immediately available to break up the fights. Disciplinary actions taken by the administration is also an issue. A student can easily attack another student and just be suspended for 1-3 days at the most. Another MAJOR PROBLEM is the quality of the education. The majority of teachers , in my opinion, do NOT teach well or in fact not teach at all. For example, some teachers I have had just sit at their desk while the kids go on their phones or horse around. Yes, there are a select few dedicated teachers who are fantastic and you actually learn from them but overall I was VERY disappointed with the education.

Johnston Middle School 5

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
My child is so excited about starting school but so nervous at the same time. The staff has done a great job by providing a camp for the new students. Taking students around the campus with a your, learning to use the lockers and meeting many of the teachers has made her more relaxed. I was also impressed with the parent information meeting with the magnet coordinator. There were things I did not know and he took time to go over certain aspects of the campus. I noticed many parents just as nervous as the kids but he took time to answer concerns afterward. The gradespeed part was good but the screen was hard to read and needed to be focused. I have been impressed with how strong the magnet areas are as well as the academics. From the start I was sold on this school with taking the magnet tour. The coordinator seems very excited about the school and it shows we walked around. Yes the school is older and needs some work in areas but the teachers make the difference.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Johnston Middle School
10410 Manhattan Drive, Houston, TX  77096
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 68 reviews. (713) 726-3616
Last modified Johnston Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top