Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 76 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Johnston Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted August 11, 2016
- a parent
Sure. There are a few teachers I'd praise such as one male 8th grade, African-American Math teacher. This teacher is passionate about teaching Math.

Johnston Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 11, 2016
- a parent
Again, some teachers are highly effective, while others should search for another career. We have a handful of teachers assigned to this campus who hurt students mentally and academically. Teachers should not scream at students. The Principal is oblivious to this notion.


Johnston Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 11, 2016
- a parent
I believe many teachers assign homework that's appropriately thought-out and aligned to the curriculum. It is my belief as a parent homework should be an extension of content taught that school day.

Johnston Middle School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted August 11, 2016
- a parent
Overall, I believe some highly qualified teachers on this campus takes this seriously, while others need Staff Development.

Johnston Middle School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted August 11, 2016
- a parent
I believe some teachers are very skilled in this area, while others are not. The Principal should implement Staff Development for this cause.


Johnston Middle School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted August 11, 2016
- a parent
Some teachers feel compassion while others do not. I hope this will improve over time.

Johnston Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 11, 2016
- a parent
No. The Principal refuses to learn from the mistakes of his teachers and upholds them when he knows full well the teacher is wrong.

Johnston Middle School 3

Posted August 11, 2016
- a parent
Overall, this school comprises highly qualified teachers, but there are a few who should find another profession as they hurt the academic progress of students. A few teachers employed at this school are sarcastic, scream at students often, and put students down. Administrators do not have a clue what REALLY goes on in the classrooms. Once the teachers close the classroom doors it's their words against the students. Teachers say and do whatever they please, and when reported by parents, this Principal has a monotonous script ready - He says, "I am shocked to hear this. You are the first parent who has ever said this. I often talk to the students around the school, and they love this teacher." I hope the new Superintendent of Schools will "weed-out" ineffective teachers and administrators who hurt our students.


Johnston Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are disciplined and care about the kids. The principal is involved and in-tune with the school's needs. The parents care as well and support the school at functions.

Johnston Middle School 5

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
Amazing school. Our son chose Johnston as a magnet in choir and orchestra. The teachers are very good and the GT class work is rigorous. As for the magnet classes they are even more rigorous and students who fail to comply with the high standards lose their eligibility. I know many parents are concerned about sending their child to a Title 1 school but they really miss out when they write Johnston off.

Nearby schools

Johnston Middle School
10410 Manhattan Drive, Houston, TX  77096
(713) 726-3616
Last modified Johnston Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top