Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Houston, TX
Students enrolled: 445

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kelso Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2013
- a community member
My Grandchildren love this school.They offer after school activities that any child can participate in.I know there are a lot of budget cuts in the school,but I feel they are doing the best they can of providing needed schooling.

Kelso Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2013
- a teacher
Kelso is growing into a great school. The principal there is dedicated, and the teachers work hard. This year there has been a focus on differentiated instruction in leadership within the student body. I can see a change in the learning environment


Kelso Elementary School 1

Posted May 29, 2011
- a parent
worst school ever their is no dismissal time it can be from 3:10 - 3:15. also they have no security that the child will make it safe home my daughter and 2 cousins were follows in a truck while they were walking home, its not the first time this happens. and another thing tutorials is a waist of time my daughter was in her 80 and drop to 70 .. i don't recommend this school at all.

Kelso Elementary School 5

Posted July 22, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Kelso Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 13, 2009
- a parent
I am a parent and I have found a considerable difference in the school. They have made a big effort to provide our kids with more extra-curricular activities. My child has been tutored and his grades have went up considerably. His teacher is very kind and keeps me up to date on his development. So I think they are really making a step in the right direction.


Kelso Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted December 29, 2007
- a parent
This school is horrible! I don't know why anybody would want to send their child to this school. It is not taken care of and the faculty and staff are rude.

Kelso Elementary School 1

Posted February 20, 2007
- a parent
this is not a great school. my son hasn't learned a thing more than he knew before he started. his grades have dropped. i go over his homework with him every day. so i decided to go talk to his teacher. i found that she doesn't check their homework. instead she lets the kids check it. and she doesn't record their grades until like two weeks later. so i asked her how can i help him if i dont know what his performance is at the present time instead of finding out two weeks later. she said thats how she has been teaching for the past few years. she also told me that thats her classroom and not mine. therefore, my son will not attend this school next year. teacher quality is not good or professional.

Kelso Elementary School 2

Posted October 02, 2006
- a parent
Staff is only interested in doing the minimal amount acceptable by law and doesn't even accomplish that at time. We had a poor experience here and removed our child for that reason.


Kelso Elementary School 3

Posted February 07, 2006
- a parent
I would not reccommend Kelso elementary as a great school. The staff can be very rude and unproffesional at times. There needs to be major improvement in this area.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kelso Elementary School
5800 Southmund Street, Houston, TX  77033
(713) 845-7451
Last modified Kelso Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kelso Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top