Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 56 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Longfellow Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
Ms Kasner and Mrs. Howell. Two amazing teachers who took the time out to work with my son under his 504 accommodations (dyslexia, ADHD, dysgraphia) and for having the patience of a saint while doing it.

Longfellow Elementary School 4

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
Both of my children are in Longfellow and this is my oldest childs 4th year. For the most part my experiences with the teachers (this year is TBD) have been AMAZING. My eldest son has dyslexia, ADHD, and dysgraphia. He is under a 504 accommodation after I had him tested in Kinder. So far all of the teachers as well as staff have been very accommodating to his needs. The school also allows his private tutor to come during magnet for his dyslexia without any issue which I cannot be grateful enough for! I feel like my son can get the help he needs here while also being welcomed as an 'out of the box' creative thinker and person. My younger son has been thoroughly enjoying school as well. I think Longfellow is a hidden little gem. Not every school is perfect but I am satisfied sending my boys here.


Longfellow Elementary School 5

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
Our family has had a few years of experience at Longfellow and we are so pleased with the quality of academics, the exceptional teachers, the excellent magnet program and the Leader in Me experience. The teachers that we have had have been nurturing, enthusiastic about teaching, and instilled a love of learning in our children. The level of instruction is on par with other highly rated public and private school in the area. The Leader in Me program has seamlessly integrated real life skills of leadership, creativity, responsibility, compassion, initiative, and more into the everyday lessons. The magnet program is fantastic --my child is able to receive top notch music/instrument instruction for free that would have cost me lots of money in private lessons. I have had a very different experience than the parent who commented that there was no opportunity for involvement for parents. I have been very involved for the past few years and know many other parents who are as well. I have been encouraged and welcomed to attend field trips, volunteer in the classroom and take an active role in the school. I attended multiple field trips this year and in years previous. The school is locked during the day for the children's safety and you have to be buzzed in but you are allowed to visit and pick up your child early. If you do want to pick up your child early the school asks that you do so before 3pm since school lets out at 3:30pm and dismissal procedures start shortly after that. The rule is not restrict access to your child but to provide a smooth and safe dismissal process for ALL the children. Overall we have been very happy with our experience and the opportunities available to our child.

Longfellow Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
We have had four different teachers at the school and have loved everyone. The principal does a great job of creating a nurturing and enriching environment where the students are put first. All of the teachers we have had were blessed with the gift of teaching.

Longfellow Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
The students are given respect and they give respect to others. The students are quick to tell other students who are disrespectful that disrespect is not tolerated here.


Longfellow Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
The students are recognized for their acts of service, encouraged to think of random acts of kindness and take on leadership roles in the school like special friend leader, community outreach leader and more which develop compassion, caring and empathy.

Longfellow Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
The administration and staff foster an environment where honesty, integrity and fairness are expected and rewarded.

Longfellow Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
The Leader in Me Program at Longfellow Elementary gives students the interpersonal skills that help them be a leader, find their unique gift, and develop persistence, grit and determination.


Longfellow Elementary School 1

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
This school has little to no community involvement for the parents. The administrators and teachers control the students without parent input. They don't even want you to go on field trips with your own children! As a parent, you should be able to visit your child anytime you desire at his or her school. The school is on lock down everyday from 3 pm-3:30 pm where you cannot pickup your children at that time. LUDICROUS!!!!!! You should be able to have full and complete access to your own children at all times.

Longfellow Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2014
- a parent
The opportunities that the children have in the fine arts are amazing. The children learn self discipline and how to accomplish a goal together through their work in band and orchestra. Mr. Gonzalez and Mrs. Snow are phenomenal teachers and role models. This is our child's 4th year at Longfellow and his self confidence has soared with the help of the arts program. The children have several opportunities to perform all over Houston. The Leader in Me Program has helped to create a school full of caring, responsible children. Bullying is not something that we see at Longfellow. As with any school, there are lots of good teachers and a few teachers that teach the test. If you find that a teacher is not dynamic, the principal is very receptive to complaints to help change this. If your child gets the rare poor teacher be sure to speak up! And if they are the majority who get a great teacher, be sure to give them praise! The teachers that have been hired in the past 5 years are outstanding.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Longfellow Elementary School
3617 Norris Drive, Houston, TX  77025
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. (713) 295-5268
Last modified Longfellow Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top