Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
65 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 70 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lovett Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
Thank you, Mrs. Croft for your many years of dedication! You are a treasure to the school, the district, and the community.

Lovett Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
Since Mrs. Thompson arrived, she has really emphasized positive reinforcement of student conduct. There was already a pretty good culture there, but it has gotten better!


Lovett Elementary School 5

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
Both of my daughters (who are now in the 6th and 8th grade) attended Lovett K-5, and they both excelled and loved the program! They did band and orchestra, respectively, and loved their school experience. It was a wonderful school with dedicated teachers, and Dawn Thompson is a highly professional, effective and dedicated leader who I expect to remain at Lovett for at least the next several years. I miss the old building (although it was falling apart), but the amazing magnet program is completely worth it. I have heard from other parents that boys have a harder time, but that was not my experience so I can't comment on it.

Lovett Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2015
- a parent
E.O. Lovett Elementary is a Fine Arts Magnet school. The majority of the students enter Lovett under the HISD Magnet program. This means that most students do not live within the zoned boundary. Most students attend Lovett because their parents want the integrated Fine Arts curriculum for their children and are willing to make the sacrifice necessary to attend a school outside their neighborhood. In addition to this parental commitment to educational excellence, the school has invested in features which supplement learning; a f-t science teacher, a f-t librarian, 2 f-t P.E. instructors, a reading specialist and affordable (less than $100/month) after school care, including additional fee-based programs. Also, I found the teachers to be more than competent and very dedicated. I have a student in her 6th year at Lovett. She is GT - the majority of the 2014/2015 6th grade is GT. I believe that these children are high performing because of the brain and skill-set development brought on by the early introduction and continued emphasis on the fine arts, as well as the excellent teacher and parent community support they receive.

Lovett Elementary School 1

Posted March 30, 2015
- a parent
This school had be a night mare for me and my children...if u have a child who is a slow learner,and needs nontraditional stimulation this is not the school for u..Teachers a glorified caretaker in my opinion. ...THE IS A REAL CODE OF BLUE AT THIS SCHOOL.Don't challenge these teacher or ur kids will fail.....


Lovett Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2014
- a parent
Lovett has always been a great school - exemplary fine arts magnet. And since we got Mrs. Dawn Thompson as Principal (2012?), Lovett has been on upward trajectory. She is super organized, friendly and accessible. At the start of year, she would outline her program for improving every aspect of school experience and the entire school actually follows through. I love their 3Rs (Respectful, Responsible and Ready) theme that is woven into the entire school experience. It's a school where everyone knows everybody, and my son and daughter (grades 1 and 4) love the school very much! Extended day (3:15 to 5:30) is great too!

Lovett Elementary School 5

Posted April 06, 2014
- a parent
My daughter started attending Lovett as a Kindergartner; she's now a second grader. We love it at Lovett!

Lovett Elementary School 4

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
Owl's Nest through 5th Grade & my child is now prepared and met the standards for HISD's premier VanGuard & Middle Schools. Lovett inspires children from day one!


Lovett Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
My son has been in the school for three years. I like it because he likes it.

Lovett Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is attending this school for three years now. The general schooling environment is excellent. We are having great time communicating and dealing with the staff at school, and with the other parents. Eventhough we moved, and an elementary school is just a walking distance from the new home, we preferred leaving her at Lovett. However, the teachers are to concentrate more and help those young children, because there is still some potential, and they must exert some more effort. The previous principal was so energetic that it caused the current one my, relatively, low rating.

Nearby schools

Lovett Elementary School
8814 South Rice Avenue, Houston, TX  77096
(713) 295-5258
Last modified Lovett Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top