Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oak Forest Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 818 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 7, 2013

My school is great! The teachers don't only teach they teach with their heart. The school is finely built. I would recommend having harder work for the top students of the class as a challenge though and for the students who need help to never work under their grade level. Overall the school is great (especially the students in the vanguard group ;) and the teachers in the school)


Posted May 16, 2013

In many instamces test scores and student performance do not correlate'It causes one to wonder why scores are high and performance is often not even mediocre. The administration becomes offended when statements are made such as this or even when a teacher questions the performance of a student enrolled in the Vanguard students. The Vanguard students appear to receive preferential treatment in all aspects of school activities. Also, many of the teachers appear to assigne busy work not only during the school day but also for homework. Parents also receive preferential treatment for their children based upon their economic status, professional status and/or involvement in school functions especially PTA sponsored activities. Teachers appear to receive preferential treatment according to the way they respond and agree with the administration - ethical or unethical.


Posted January 25, 2013

Oak Forest has really caring teachers, but the school seems to be growing a lot faster it can manage and like most public schools there are too many students per teacher. Teachers don't have the time to control the behavioral problems; there seems to be a lot of fighting that gets ignored. I've seen kids hitting each other outside while waiting in the car line. Bullying theme: "it happens everywhere so get used to being victimized." I have nothing positive to say about the principal leadership at this school. There is a culture of bullying and tolerance here, good bureaucrats run this place. I'm not impressed with the Vanguard program; it's uneven. Some of the school work is challenging, but a lot of it is busy work. I find some of the material worded poorly thus making it confusing. It appears tests are more important than actually learning. The PTA is very active; they work hard to keep OFE running well. I'm impressed by the level of commitment by these parents, but there isn t necessarily a community feel unless you re actively involved. If you have a gifted child, consider something like Montessori, Waldorf, Paideia, or a Charter School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

My daughter was in Mrs. McWilliams class last year and was transferred into the Vanguard Program for first grade with Mrs. Anderson. The homework is given everyday except Friday, which is sometimes tiresome for the parents as much as the kids. My daughter struggled at the beginning of the school year with the work load, however Mrs. Anderson offered to tutor her during the week after school to help her get a better grasp. My daughter brings home high marks and is now reading at a 3rd grade midyear level. Between working hard at home and the teacher's great efforts, my daughter is blossoming! I couldn't be happier. Great Teachers, very involved parents and love our crossing guard. It seems to be a well rounded school so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

My daughter is just about to finish K at OFE and I have to say she has had an excellent year. Ms. Paule has made the entry into the world of education very easy for her. I cannot thank this teacher enough. My child will start in OFE Vanguard program in September and we are very excited. The school has an amazing community support and very pleasant environment conductive to learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2012

We are zoned to Oak Forest Elementary. Our children have been attending school there for 2 years. We love it! My children's teachers have been very sweet & understanding. Yes, the curriculum is rigorous & there is nightly homework, but the results are amazing. My older child has grown & learned so much! I am truly impressed. I never would have believed that he would know so much at such a young age. His teacher doesnt only focus on avademics. She also teaches them to be a valuable, contributing member of society & how to be caring & compassionate. We love Mrs. Llamo!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2012

This is our second year attending Oak Forest Elementary School. We have been very pleased with the leadership and the teachers. Both of our teachers have had high academic expectations for their students. The school is very organized and is run efficiently. The PTA is great! You have to get involved by "chairing" a committee to really appreicate all that it does for the school. I would recommend this school to anyone and look forward to more years there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2011

I attended OFE and If you are truely talented DONT COME HERE. All they care about is test scores. If your child is below average they dont care about you. Also my sister goes there and is bullied endless. ALl of these good reviews are probably from staff. THe new principal never even smiled. No activites unless you want to pay 600 dollars or more and Believe me this is coming from a strait A vanguard student. In afterschool program the teachers are rude. I am glad to be outta there. But all they wanted was my good test scores. -.- This is actually coming from a student. Not a parent so I know what I am talking about. The ONLY good thing here is the nice teachers. Only some of them. I AM SERIOUS, all they do is test test test, benchmark tests real tests and blah blah.


Posted September 26, 2011

Our two children attend Oak Forest Elementary and we feel that it is one of the best kept secrets in Houston. I have been very involved in the PTA since my kids started kindergarten. As a new parent, I was welcomed and encouraged to participate. I am skeptical that the parent who posted that the PTA is snobby ever really participated. If she/he had participated, they probably would have learned pretty quickly that Oak Forest has a PTA, not a PTO (Parent Teacher Association not Parent Teacher Organization). Oak Forest PTA is made up of a wonderful, diverse mix of parents, grandparents, step-parents, guardians, etc. As with everything, you will get out of it, what you put into it. If the school is not a good fit for your family, I understand and respect your decision. However, it is an incredible school for many of us and we are proud and grateful that our children attend Oak Forest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2011

I love this school. There is so much teacher and parent involvement and a strong emphasis on learning and success for the children. My son is in the Vanguard program. I've been really pleased in how well he is excelling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2011

We left Oak Forest last year for a school rated "lower" according to the TEA, and couldn't be happier with our new choice. Only at our new school was I fully able to appreciate what a TAKS factory OFE is. It was all testing, all the time there. I would much rather have my kids (both straight-A Vanguard students, by the way) attend a Recognized school that is teaching the whole child and not just focusing on test scores. Oh, and the PTO is a big clique, snobby and elitist. If you don't fit their perfect Stepford mold, you won't be called no matter how often you volunteer. The specialist classes are a joke - band and guitar only in 4th and 5th grade, no vocal music taught at all. We were disappointed with art and the other specials as well. But those areas don't directly contribute to high test scores, so no time/effort/funding is put into them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

I attended OFE K-5 and had a fabulous experience! I am now in 6th grader at Lanier and am thriving in all of my classes thanks to the hard work of the amazing OFE staff! I still go back to visit them! The cirriculiam is very rigorous at Oak Forest and you are always being challenged. If you want your kid to be challenged, and have fun while doing it send them to Oak Forest!


Posted December 4, 2010

The teachers at this school care only for TAKS scores. We moved from a top ranked school district to the area and have been disappointed. I sat next to a teacher during a the first grade program- during the entire program the teacher(s) sat and discussed a little girls mother and how "awful" she is. Unprofessional and they disclosed the name of the child and parent. Like I said, they are teaching a test and not fundamental skills. Most of these 'fabulous' reviews have likely been written my the teachers or staff of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

We are so happy to be zoned to Oak Forest Elementary. Ms.Paule is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

This will be my son`s second year here.He loved his 2 nd grade teacher and she was very helpful.She didn`t put up with poor behavoir or bullying.No problem with what is being taught,as far i as know the test they take is not just on one subject.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

I have had many of the same issues ... classroom instruction is driven by scores, children are unhappy (including my own), discipline is based upon biases of the administration, there is tollerance of poor behavior/bullying, lack of interest in the children of parents who can not be involved on a daily basis. My children are saying that they do not wank to go to school anymore. Sad state of affairs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2007

My child is there to finish in the same school she started in. The new principal only cares about TAKS scores, and not total education. They have gone back to printing everything in spanish rather than teaching English. Most of the year is TAKS related rather than a rounded education Many of the good teachers have left. I miss Ms. Haynes, a truly good principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2007

The kids seem like unhappy droids in a totalitarian state. If you truly have a gifted child don't send them here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2007

Great School! The teachers are great and a lot of the time go the extra mile and encourage students to Excel. The programs and activities offered at this school are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2006

My kid is there because of the teachers who are fabulous. I miss the old principal who cared deeply for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

116 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

117 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

137 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

136 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

129 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

118 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

120 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

116 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students93%
Female97%
Male88%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female95%
Male97%
Black or African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education100%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)78%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students97%
Female94%
Male100%
Black or African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education100%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)89%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students96%
Female94%
Male98%
Black or African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students98%
Female97%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female96%
Male93%
Black or African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students88%
Female85%
Male90%
Black or African American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education60%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)56%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted75%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female95%
Male95%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented99%
Non-Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students98%
Female97%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education71%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted96%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students97%
Female97%
Male96%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education60%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented99%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female95%
Male90%
Black or African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education67%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students96%
Female95%
Male98%
Black or African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students80%
Female84%
Male74%
Black or African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education57%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented97%
Non-Gifted59%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 46% 52%
White 40% 29%
Black 7% 13%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 8%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • JENNY THOMAS
Fax number
  • (713) 613-2244

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1401 West 43rd Street
Houston, TX 77018
Website: Click here
Phone: (713) 613-2536

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT