Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Petersen Elementary School 5

Posted December 20, 2015
- a teacher
Change is in the making! There are new teachers and administration who are developing change within the school.

Petersen Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 20, 2015
- a teacher
The new teachers there are able to see the problems, so they have a different drive to make things better.


Petersen Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 20, 2015
- a teacher
All student need homework to apply what they have learned at school. The teachers give enough homework.

Petersen Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 20, 2015
- a teacher
The administration definitely gives the students respect. On this campus there are no fights -students right themselves and each other.

Petersen Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 20, 2015
- a teacher
Petersen elementary is a campus where it serves a diverse population, there is not a moment where you won't see a student giving a hugs, smiling ,bonding and excited to come to school. What the Petersen teachers and administration have deposited into the students it's definitely something where the students are exhibiting these qualities.


Petersen Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted December 20, 2015
- a teacher
Yes, this is a global conversation around the campus. All students are reminded to use their good character traits and the teachers work together to ensure the consistency.

Petersen Elementary School 1

Posted January 31, 2014
- a parent
The school discriminates against kids who are disabled. They have after school enrichment program. I was told my soon could not participate because he is in Special education by Mr. Ferguson. He also stated attendance is money in a meeting with parent meets priciple I guess to encourage attendance to get more funding for the school. I ask how much funding goes to special eduaction. He told me he will get back to me never heard a word. He avoids parents never has a soulution and passes you on so he want have to deal with it. Not to mention it took me being there a month in a half withdrawing my child to get the correct services. Than enrolling him back and never getting a transfer ARD. Than when I got one we were having a Transfer and Annual ARD at the same time. To all parents stay away from this school this was my childrens first and will be there last poor Administration can care less and no services due to low staff and thats not our problem.

Petersen Elementary School 3

Posted May 30, 2012
- a parent
My child has been at petersen for two years now and honestly the school doesnt offer much .Some of the teachers are awesome but the school still lacks. Theres no after school programs, extracurricular activities, hardly any programs during the school year. No magnet or GT program. It just an average school, my child is a child that loves a challenge and its really not given to him there. Next year he will not be at petersen he will be in a vanguard program at another school. The new principal is nice, involved man I just hope that he works to make the school a alot better than it is. Its a good school for a child who's parents just wants their child to JUST go to school and get by.


Petersen Elementary School 2

Posted January 31, 2012
- a parent
I am a parent. My daughter has had 3 DIFFERENT Kindergarden teachers this year and its only January.I feel like everyone's heart is in the right place but lack of common sense abounds. I feel like they are trying but have a long way to go,yet. I also feel the rating given by this site was too high. Test scores arent everything.

Petersen Elementary School 4

Posted May 13, 2011
- a parent
I attended Peterson ELementary as a child and went on to accomplish many things including a graduate degree and am currently working in education public policy. I now have a friend whose kids attend Peterson and have to say that the school has apparently improved significantly after a dismal downfall a few years back. When reading the previous post, please note that the school has come all the way from a nearly 50% failure rate to an 80% passing ... I'd say that's pretty good and is a positive reflection on Administration (aka Principal, Asst. Principal and Teachers). Let's give credit where credit's due. Keep up the good work guys!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Petersen Elementary School
14404 Waterloo Drive, Houston, TX  77045
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (713) 434-5630
Last modified Petersen Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top