Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

River Oaks Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 705 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this amazing school!!! Most days it is hard believe that this fabulous school is a public school!! It is both warm and academically rigorous at the same time, which is hard to do well (but it is done well here!!!) I am so thankful for the wonderful education my daughter is getting here!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Teachers are great and facilities are well organized. Most importantly, my son loves River Oaks Elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

My child is in their third year at the school. It has a fantastic after school program, supportive pto and parents, with ample security. The teachers are also caring. I have found that the school lacks support for children that may have a learning challenge/sensory disfunction, but is tested as GT. The school administration does not support testing for adhd or Dyslexia and is reluctant to administer testing. Our experience is that it is a hassle and seems like they don't want that statistic associated with them. The principal is not approachable and hides behind email and letters in communication instead of meeting in person. It has been a true disappointment. My child has been negatively affected and I am considering switching schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2013

I was a student in this school from kindergarten to fourth grade, but unfortunately I had to move to France.. It is the best school ever, with teachers who care. I will never forget this school and hope to come visit one day!


Posted August 27, 2013

This is our 3rd year with ROE. It was great on the first year as we feel the school cares and teachers were great. They pay much attention to each students and sending kids to tutor if any fall behind. However, our 2nd year was not well. Our teacher has a maturnity leave and we have a long term sub, then short term sub and daily sub... After 7 or 8 sub teachers in 2 months, my child really have done nothing. When she asks a question to the sub teacher, she/he has no idea where things are and the question was ignored. These sub teacher really has no interest to teach, rather just pass the day and turn the ball to the next. I would like to see a school putting student's benefit the first and being a parent, it's just sad to see how things falling apart from one year to another. This year, we have a new teacher and we'll see how it goes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

The school is a gem among HISD. The current administrative team leaves much to be desired (especially given prior principal who was wonderful), but the teachers are excellent, the parents super involved in a good way, and the kids just plain smart. Great school, but you may bang your head in frustration at times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2013

River Oaks Elementary School is the BEST elementary school in the city. My older children went to private schools and I can tell you without a doubt that my child at ROE has had a better education. The teachers are the best, the parents are involved, and the children are kind to one another. If I had to do it all over again, all of my children would have attended ROE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2011

My daughter attended REO 2 years ago >> Iwas happy to see how involved the PTO was and all other parents hepling and partisipating in all activitities
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2010

I am an alumni of this school, and I can say that it is the BEST elementary school that I've ever known of! The teachers and parents are really involved and they want you to succeed.


Posted April 11, 2010

Incredible new principal hired in 2009; fantastic teaching staff and wonderful children. We live in the neighborhood and many of our neighbors are sending their children here and are all very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

River Oaks Elementary simply has the best teachers and staff. All the students are treated like the individuals that they are and they thrive in the environment of encouragement, mutual respect and high self expectation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

ROE is a wonderful school with great teachers, staff, students and parents all working together to provide an excellent environment for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

terrific IB Program, teachers, & staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

Amazing staff + supportive parents = a school filled with happy learners:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

ROE has an excellent Vanguard and IB program. The teachers are very caring, knowledgeable and best of the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2009

We entered ROE in 1st grade, having moved from another state. We were not even considering public schools until we heard about ROE. Although our son was accepted to the private school to which we applied, we opted to go with ROE. We are so happy with our decision. We have been very impressed with the curriculum as well as the level of staff commitment to the children. I'd have to say that the level of parental involvement at ROE is what helps to keep the standards so high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

There isn't a better school for elementary/primary years in the city of Houston. The only other elementary school that can compare to it is St. John's. The academic and international baccalaureate program at ROE are simply phenomenal. If you are lucky enough to get a spot here, thank your lucky stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

I have been at ROE for two years now. Everything, believe it or not, has been wonderful. My child has been challenged and he has felt loved. He has had to measure to a higher standard, of course, but I would expect that and am glad for it. He took the challenge to learn and grow, and with lots of help from caring teachers and staff, he did. I couldn't be more grateful for what this organization has done for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2008

Plagued by the same insane emphasis on testing as every other public school, so the kids end up feeling constantly judged and measured, rather than challenged and treasured. The teachers have been fine, especially the science teacher is a favorite; but the principal doesn't appear to possess the tact, manners or true sense of respect that are necessary to serve as a role model. I feel sorry for the teachers because it is hard to work for someone who is heavy on criticism and fails to see the forest for the trees.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2007

This school once employed the best teachers in Houston. The school has lost all of it's creativity and now promotes 'thinking outside the box within our parameters' teaching. If you look beyond test scores there is not much to impress. Vanguard level teaching and thinking is almost nonexistent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

108 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

107 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

108 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

108 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

108 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

127 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

127 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

126 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female98%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education100%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black or African American92%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education86%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented99%

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female94%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asian94%
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)70%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted75%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students94%
Female92%
Male96%
Black or African American100%
Asian94%
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted64%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female97%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic91%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education67%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented99%
Not Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students96%
Female96%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education50%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted75%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students95%
Female96%
Male95%
Black or African American100%
Asian97%
Hispanic91%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education50%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Gifted/talented98%
Not Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female98%
Male97%
Black or African American83%
Asian95%
Hispanic92%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education60%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students96%
Female95%
Male97%
Black or African American83%
Asian94%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education80%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted76%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander 24% 4%
Hispanic 16% 52%
Black 7% 13%
Two or more races 7% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 6%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 7%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2008 Kirby Drive
Houston, TX 77019
Website: Click here
Phone: (713) 942-1460

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. John's Upper
Houston, TX






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT