Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Houston, TX
Students enrolled: 762
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Roberts Elementary School 5

Posted July 05, 2015
- a parent
Our 9 year old son has been here since K. He is challenged academically and as a result of our schools diversity has an incredible knowledgeable of cultures different than our own. This neighborhood school of ours is a gem. It is nurturing, provides a solid curriculum, has an administration that truly has the school's/children's best interest at heart and strong PTO.

Roberts Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
So far, in our family's experience, Kindegarten, 1st, & 2nd have provided excellent teachers. Both the newly hired and the veterans have brought much experience and excitement to the table.


Roberts Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
The children are challenged, but not overwhelmed. Those who need assistance will receive it from teachers & staff.

Roberts Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
Children are given class,group, & individual projects throughout the year. Teamwork, persistence, & determination are required. Again, these are to be instilled by the parents. The opportunity to apply them is there.

Roberts Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
Again, these are values to be taught & modeled in the home; however, these children are encouraged to express individuality & accept others.


Roberts Elementary School 4

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
Roberts offers a well rounded education. My daughter has grown tremendously. My son, who has learning differences, has been assisted by teachers & staff. The communication from the school is constant. Kids are encouraged to be themselves & to accept those who are different. While we do have families from the medical center who are only here for a couple of years...make no mistake- this is a neighborhood school with a very involved and supportive community.

Roberts Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
While I feel these are qualities to be instilled by the family, they are actually discussed at the school. I know this b/c my own children have come home discussing integrity & fairness.

Roberts Elementary School 5

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
Roberts is an excellent school. It is very rigorous academically; consistently scoring very high on all state and district assessments, but since it is an International Baccalaureate school, it teaches the students an inquiry-based approach that encourages them to take responsibility for their own learning. The school community is incredibly diverse - it is truly an international school, and the students learn so much from being together. There is a strong commitment to the fine arts. The majority of teachers are very effective, and any teacher who isn't is given support to improve, but removed if they do not. The teachers and administration are very receptive to questions and requests for information. The very active PTO supports the school though fundraising and volunteering, and is open to all parents, regardless of how much a parent has to give. Roberts is a public school, and so has the same challenges faced by many public schools in a large urban district: uncertain funding, larger class sizes then private schools, a state and district focus on standardized tests. However, at the building level, there is excellent teaching and learning going on at Roberts on a daily basis. Roberts educates the whole child to be an informed, inquiring, and inspired citizen of the world.


Roberts Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
The parent community at Roberts is very involved, and not at all shy about sharing their opinions. A truly ineffective teacher will not last very long. At the same time, the administration is supportive of its staff. Every student and teacher is different, and while one teacher may not be the best fit for one student, other families may have a completely different perspective. One person's bad experience does not mean the whole school, or even the teacher, is ineffective, especially with young teachers who are still developing. The school is committed to quality professional development for all teachers.

Roberts Elementary School 5

Posted July 01, 2015
- a community member
My kids have been at Roberts for 4 years and I am very happy with our experience at the school. The teachers are excellent at instruction and in keeping parents informed about what's going on in the classroom. The principal is a strong advocate for the school at the district level and she is a great communicator. She is very effective, she shows up at every single event and is really dedicated to the school. The PTO has a great group of dedicated volunteers and is able to really help out and make a difference at the school. The IB program takes the standard public school curriculum up a huge notch and the fine arts programs (music, dance, art, musical productions in 3rd - 5th grades) are a huge bonus.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roberts Elementary School
6000 Greenbriar Street, Houston, TX  77030
(713) 295-5272
Last modified Roberts Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Roberts Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 76 reviews. Top