Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 83 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Roberts Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted December 15, 2015
- a parent
Could use a little more of this. Our eldest landed at Lanier (Vanguard) after this and we suddenly had to prod him SIGNIFICANTLY, school-wise. He was an A+ student at Roberts, without prodding, so perhaps he could have benefited from a few more early lessons on self-motivation and responsibility.

Roberts Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted December 15, 2015
- a parent
They are working their tails off trying to, but I'm not sure how successful they are. They have a program called Positive Works that addresses these issues, yet 2 of our 3 kids encountered bullying at school, one so much so we had to seek out professional counseling. (They could stand to have a little more supervision at recess.) That said, I think it is the primarily the parents' job to instill such values. I wish we had more actual parenting and less hired childcare in our community in general. I think that factors into the lack of attention to the issue.


Roberts Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 15, 2015
- a parent
One of our kids (who shall remain nameless :-) ) once deliberately cheated on a spelling test. The teacher, rightfully so, took it very seriously. She spoke with our child privately and contacted us immediately. They weren't over the top about it, but handled it appropriately, emphasizing character over performance.

Roberts Elementary School 5

Posted December 15, 2015
- a parent
Collectively, our 3 kids have tallied 13 years at this place. Great staff, international community, educated parents, & precious building (art-lined walls, bright red doors, beautiful old windows, sunlit rooms) Only one of our kids we removed early, after 3rd grade, as he needed a smaller classroom environment. Teachers are wonderful overall. Our youngest is hearing impaired-- rare at this school, not a lot of special needs kiddos- but the staff has gone out of their way to help her. Can't go wrong with Roberts.

Roberts Elementary School 5

Posted July 05, 2015
- a parent
Our 9 year old son has been here since K. He is challenged academically and as a result of our schools diversity has an incredible knowledgeable of cultures different than our own. This neighborhood school of ours is a gem. It is nurturing, provides a solid curriculum, has an administration that truly has the school's/children's best interest at heart and strong PTO.


Roberts Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
So far, in our family's experience, Kindegarten, 1st, & 2nd have provided excellent teachers. Both the newly hired and the veterans have brought much experience and excitement to the table.

Roberts Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
The children are challenged, but not overwhelmed. Those who need assistance will receive it from teachers & staff.

Roberts Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
Children are given class,group, & individual projects throughout the year. Teamwork, persistence, & determination are required. Again, these are to be instilled by the parents. The opportunity to apply them is there.


Roberts Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
Again, these are values to be taught & modeled in the home; however, these children are encouraged to express individuality & accept others.

Roberts Elementary School 4

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
Roberts offers a well rounded education. My daughter has grown tremendously. My son, who has learning differences, has been assisted by teachers & staff. The communication from the school is constant. Kids are encouraged to be themselves & to accept those who are different. While we do have families from the medical center who are only here for a couple of years...make no mistake- this is a neighborhood school with a very involved and supportive community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roberts Elementary School
6000 Greenbriar Drive, Houston, TX  77030
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 83 reviews. (713) 295-5272
Last modified Roberts Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top