Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Travis Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2014
- a parent
Having come from the near by Feild Elementry we couldn't wait for our daughter to start at Travis. The staff is amazing, we moved to the hights specifically so she could attend Travis. It was the best thing we could have done. All around its an amazing environment. And I will say, her teacher Kathrine Stremple, has and continues to go above and beyond. We are SO greatful for her. I would recommend this school to anyone and everyone! Go Travis tigers!

Travis Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2013
- a parent
This is a fantastic place for kids to learn across the board. A very visible and effective administration that is very approachable. Teachers that absolutely work their tails off for the kids. A parent community that takes its responsibility very seriously and works hard to make Travis a great place to learn for all of the kids. The campus is beautiful and they have one of the best gardens of any school in the city.


Travis Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2012
- a parent
Our daughter entered 2nd grade, new to Travis (after living in another state). We researched the school and had high expectations. Travis has met those expectations. Second grade teacher Mrs. Weaver is amazing. She is engaged, focused, organized, and a terrific motivator. The principal, Ms. Walker, likewise seems focused and engaged with the students, parents, and program. I don't know about this "two tiered" system. The fact is, our child has been receiving a solid education throughout the year. She has homework every week, and good projects. Meanwhile, the school itself is beautiful, with a restored historic building combined with a new addition. Each class has a garden. There is a great "Spark Park." Parents are engaged and supportive. There are also strong after-school options for the children. All in all, we feel lucky that our child has attended Travis and can recommend it unconditionally.

Travis Elementary School 5

Posted December 02, 2011
- a parent
Travis is an awesome place that has nurtured and cared for our son. I am disturbed by some of the other parent reviews, as I have certainly never experienced the "two school" issue. We are magnet transfers to Travis and put much thought, consideration, and prayer into our decision about where to put our son in school. Travis has exceeded our expectations.

Travis Elementary School 3

Posted September 26, 2011
- a parent
Very average scores for awhile now, despite a vanguard program. Is it the teachers, cirriculum ? ROE, Oak Forest score higher, test much better all around for all students. Parental involvement is good at Travis, lots of spirit, really nice families; some teachers are excellent others are. not.


Travis Elementary School 2

Posted July 12, 2011
- a parent
It is shocking and disturbing how 2 schools are operating under one roof. The Vanguard Program looks very much like a "private" school, receiving opportunities to participate in extra field trips, be mentors for younger grades, participate in academic and dramatic district-wide contests, while the regular classrooms are neglected. The teachers at this school are wonderful but the system here is extremely dysfunctional. The dysfunction carries over to the students by about the third grade, when they begin realizing the differences in the two programs. Animosity builds and the entire culture is affected in a very negative way.

Travis Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
Travis is a wonderful Title I School that serves a diverse community near downtown Houston. Our daughter is thriving there!

Travis Elementary School 1

Posted February 26, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Travis Elementary School 5

Posted December 14, 2009
- a parent
We love Travis! The principal, teachers and administration are wonderful and really care about the children. The community and parents are very supportive. It's been a great experience for us and our child!

Travis Elementary School 2

Posted September 26, 2009
- a parent
If you have a Vanguard child and you don't mind raising that child with a view of a 'Haves and Have Not' world, then you are in the right place. There is a distinct line between those kids deemed 'gifted' and those in the neighborhood classes. They are not treated equally...pray your child passes the HISD 'gifted' test.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Travis Elementary School
3311 Beauchamp Street, Houston, TX  77009
(713) 802-4790
Last modified Travis Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Travis Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top