Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Walnut Bend Elementary School 1

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
The school has change focus and demographics the last coupe of years. Only by comparison to other bad schools in HISD could this school be rated well.

Walnut Bend Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
I am grateful for Mrs. Shaw. She saw Jacobs potential and was his advocate for moving him into Mrs. Gilio's class for 3rd grade from his SLC class. She communicates with me regularly and has provided support and guidance for Jacob and all of us in his family who want to see him succeed. She's kind, smart and cares passionately about her students and her work.


Walnut Bend Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
The SLC teacher Mrs Shaw teaches social skills and these transfer to the regular teachers and other students as well. She is a wonderful teacher.

Walnut Bend Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
From the beginning, now Principal Dahlquist supported my son in joining the AU-SLC class at Walnut Bend and we had many challenges starting in 1st grade. Now my son is a well-adjusted 3rd grader actively mainstreaming in a typical classroom with the support of his SLC teacher Mrs. Shaw. Mrs. Shaw is in constant communication about support for Jacob. He's been very successful with Mrs. Gilio and his new friends in 3rd grade. I am so grateful for their guidance, support and wisdom. The SLC class at this school is a rare gem in the HISD system. My only concern now is finding an equally exemplary middle school after 5th grade!

Walnut Bend Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2014
- a teacher
Walnut Bend is a great neighborhood school that meets the needs of all children. The building is beautiful and the teachers and staff are top notch.


Walnut Bend Elementary School 1

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
Walnut Bend is the worst Elementary I have ever dealt with. I can never speak to anyone when I call. I have left my number more than once for the principal to call me and she never does. The administrative staff is very rude and never seem to have any answers or useful information.

Walnut Bend Elementary School 5

Posted August 10, 2013
- a parent
I love Walnut Bend the teachers and staff really care about all the students. my Daughter loves going there everyday.she has perfect attendance.They always help children if they are falling behind on a subject, they will work with them after school. walnut bend is a wonderful school.

Walnut Bend Elementary School 5

Posted January 21, 2013
- a parent
This is my sons first year ever in school he has always been home with me. His PreK teacher is wonderful he has a speech problem but she has him counting and knowing all his ABC's. Although he wasnt quite ready for school they worked with me and this semester he is going all day and doing very well. Principal is excellant and very involved and the teachers visit other schools so they can get tips on how to become better teachers which in my opinion they already are!!!


Walnut Bend Elementary School 5

Posted July 15, 2011
- a parent
My oldest son went from kinder to 5th grade and now my other two littles are there also. They both enjoyed their classmates and teachers last year.The staff is very friendly and they do know most of the students name even when they are not in their class. I have teacher emails and can easily reach them that way or by phone.

Walnut Bend Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2011
- a parent
Walnut Bend is a great school. We sent our son there last year to give it a try and we are so pleased with the quality of education that we will send our daughter there next year. The faculty is fully committed to the success of each child. My son is in the gifted and talented program. I'm continually amazed at the level of work expected of my son. It's on par and maybe even beyond the expectations of the Private School we used to attend. Don't be put off my the ranking of acceptable. In our neighborhood there are a lot of children who need extra help but this in no way diminishes the quality of the education my son is receiving. I wish more parents in the neighborhood what realize what a great bargain they have in their own backyards. I've wasted a lot of money on private schools that I should have saved for college.

Nearby schools

Walnut Bend Elementary School
10620 Briar Forest Drive, Houston, TX  77042
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (281) 368-7450
Last modified Walnut Bend Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top