Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
60 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 85 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West University Elementary School 2

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
WUES is a public school, which means it's big (as a matter of fact, a little overcrowded) and VERY impersonal. I have kids there right now and let me tell you how rude and cold most of the staff and most of the teachers are to the parents, unless you are a PTO officer. Don't be fooled by its rankings. Those ratings are based off standard test scores. Given it's in one of the wealthiest neighborhoods in Texas, the caliber of the student body is high to begin with, so I believe even if the teachers didn't teach anything, these mostly privileges kids would have done wel anyway. The school is a big bureaucracy and they really don't care about the people who send kids there, unless again if you are a PTO officer or, presumably, a generous donor. Teaching quality is inconsistent, as are the grade curricula. Many (most?) kids get outside tutoring - and their families can well afford it. I should have sent my kids to private schools - in fact I'm looking to transfer them out. If you can afford it, go private school and don't send your kids here to become standardized test guinea pigs - unless you are the PTO/PTA parent type.

West University Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
I think many parents like me who don't have the time or energy to be part of the PTO feel the same way like me: disrespect from the school.


West University Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
Maybe 20 minutes per week at grade 2 or below and then barely 15 minutes a day at higher grades.

West University Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
From what I have seen the school's inconsistent standards can end up teaching kids that life is about taking advantage of others and taking advantage of the system.

West University Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
School appears to have inconsistent standards regarding grade placement, etc. I have seen people taking advantage of the system while honest families get disadvantaged.


West University Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2016
- a parent
I have had two children go through WUES over the last 8 years. It has been great for my kids. I agree that there is a certain rigidity in the program, but these kids leave and are prepared for any school they will attend. I believe there is a lot of value in that! We have had many great teachers and the school does an amazing job of attempting to create a solid match for students and teachers, based on descriptions that parents provide. Some kids need more structure while some need more nurturing. There is an active PTO with many parent volunteer opportunities. When HISD cut art and music funding, the PTO crested a far superior art program! Overall, I am very grateful to WUES for helping us to educate and socialize our children. Thank you!

West University Elementary School 1

Posted January 12, 2016
- a community member
Everyone that works in the school seem extremely unhappy! I wouldn't trust my children going there!

West University Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Strong academic foundation and tough discipline on kids prepare them well for middle school. No school around, private or public, except TC Rogers/ROE can touch WU kids' test scores, and switching classes from 3rd/4th grade onwards gets them ready for block scheduling.


West University Elementary School 1

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
Though the school is located in the wealthiest neighborhood, it is shocking to find out WUES does not have music and art classes! It is ironic and pathetic to see that those "affluent" parents did not realize the importance of music and arts from the early children even though the PTO has around $400K retained earnings!! Shocking, shocking, shocking! Most administrators in the school are rigid, bureaucratic, ignorant and absurd arrogant without knowing their limitations and how behind this school is comparing to other really good schools. The teachers' email address cannot be found on the school website. Parents have to send in the notes to the teachers and wait for the teachers' call. Playing phone tags are quite often which is extremely inefficient. For any new students, there are no evaluation of the students' level so that proper placement is to be done. Even if the students have totally mastered the knowledge from the prior study, the student will still be placed in the regular class. The school refuses to at least evaluate the student to ensure him/her is properly challenged. Horrible!!! The sad truth again illustrates that the economic affluence does not necessarily translate to the cultural enrichment. A significant portion of the homework are non value added. Students spend a lot of time decorating the pages of the homework rather than spending time learning the knowledge itself. No school bus is provided. The school starts at 7:45 am and the kids will not have lunch until after 1:25 pm!!! The kids will be sent out for recess even when the temperature is over 110 and the humidity is over 85%!

West University Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 02, 2015
- a parent
The school is operated at its own convenience instead of the students' need and welfare.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West University Elementary School
3756 University Boulevard, Houston, TX  77005
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 85 reviews. (713) 295-5215
Last modified West University Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top