Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
58 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 69 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West University Elementary School 1

Posted January 12, 2016
- a community member
Everyone that works in the school seem extremely unhappy! I wouldn't trust my children going there!

West University Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Strong academic foundation and tough discipline on kids prepare them well for middle school. No school around, private or public, except TC Rogers/ROE can touch WU kids' test scores, and switching classes from 3rd/4th grade onwards gets them ready for block scheduling.


West University Elementary School 1

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
Though the school is located in the wealthiest neighborhood, it is shocking to find out WUES does not have music and art classes! It is ironic and pathetic to see that those "affluent" parents did not realize the importance of music and arts from the early children even though the PTO has around $400K retained earnings!! Shocking, shocking, shocking! Most administrators in the school are rigid, bureaucratic, ignorant and absurd arrogant without knowing their limitations and how behind this school is comparing to other really good schools. The teachers' email address cannot be found on the school website. Parents have to send in the notes to the teachers and wait for the teachers' call. Playing phone tags are quite often which is extremely inefficient. For any new students, there are no evaluation of the students' level so that proper placement is to be done. Even if the students have totally mastered the knowledge from the prior study, the student will still be placed in the regular class. The school refuses to at least evaluate the student to ensure him/her is properly challenged. Horrible!!! The sad truth again illustrates that the economic affluence does not necessarily translate to the cultural enrichment. A significant portion of the homework are non value added. Students spend a lot of time decorating the pages of the homework rather than spending time learning the knowledge itself. No school bus is provided. The school starts at 7:45 am and the kids will not have lunch until after 1:25 pm!!! The kids will be sent out for recess even when the temperature is over 110 and the humidity is over 85%!

West University Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 02, 2015
- a parent
The school is operated at its own convenience instead of the students' need and welfare.

West University Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 15, 2015
- a parent
A kindergartner is given 45 minutes of homework per night. The best part was getting the letter instructing the parents to spend an additional 30 minutes per night (one hour and fifteen minutes total) working on spelling bee quizzes. This is for a kindergartner. NEA and the National PTA recommend no homework be given for this age group and even state that there is data to support the notion that homework this early is detrimental to development.


West University Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted October 15, 2015
- a parent
Yes, only because the kids are so terrified of their teacher they have to rally together to find compassion.

West University Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 15, 2015
- a parent
No, because the students that ask questions are punished in front of the entire class. They're being taught to follow orders not be inquisitive.

West University Elementary School 2

Posted October 15, 2015
- a parent
Mix of the films Stepford Wives and Disturbing Behavior. If you're not in page 6 of the Chronicle or going to the Soirees then you're ignored or treated poorly. The neighborhood screams nouveau riche and treats the school kids like they are there to only follow instructions. No critical or creative thinking. Only worksheets and not age appropriate homework. This school is bizarre.


West University Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2015
- a community member
The school is a reflection of the community it serves, and I'm very pleased so far with the education my child is getting at WUE. The teachers do an excellent job, and my child is influenced to want to learn from her respect for teachers in kinder and 1st grade. She has looked forward to her days at school, which makes my life easy in getting her motivated...she loves it.

West University Elementary School 5

Posted March 30, 2015
- a parent
I'm a working mom who travels often and recently moved to this area. I don't know anyone at the school prior to my son attending and I still do not know that many people and am not associated with the PTO. I read several reviews and almost enrolled my son in a private school. Curriculum- curriculum is more difficult- that's true and I wish there was more time for the kids to adjust out of pre-k into kindergarten or the school. My son was in a pre-k program that although it was private it still did not prepare him for week2 of kindergarten... Teacher - I've been very luck that my son is in a class with a wonderful and patient teacher. I really couldn't ask for more. Staff- I have had to communicate with staff outside of teachers. inst. Coordinator Daphne Rawlinson, Tracey Wyatt, They have really been phenomenal. PTO- my person opinion is that the PTO is a bit enclosed to those who know each other. i don't have the time to volunteer in the PTO but for those who do, might take a little effort. PTO does do a lot of things that elevate our kids opportunities, for that I'm thankful. Overall great school, you will not find one that meets 100% of your desires.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West University Elementary School
3756 University Boulevard, Houston, TX  77005
(713) 295-5215
Last modified West University Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West University Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 69 reviews. Top