Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K, 8
Public
Houston, TX
Students enrolled: 445
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wharton Dual Language Academy 5

Posted January 29, 2014
- a parent
The school staff, Ms. Jennifer Day the Principal, Ms. Katy Perez, Ms. Pat Selin are all simply wonderful. Our son was in 2013 - 14 kindergarten class at this school and then we had to move to Wisconsin unexpectedly. During the time he was in school and even when he left we were guided and taken care of nicely! Lots ofgood advice was given by the principal and his class teacher Ms. Katy. Thanks to all of that. And I really appreciate Ms. Katy's never ending optimism with the kids. I also liked their teaching methods. It is a great school!! Thanks to one and all Abhi

Wharton Dual Language Academy 2

Posted September 18, 2013
- a community member
I'm a former student and... I went there for 10 years previously and... it went down drastically in me and most of my friends opinion


Wharton Dual Language Academy 2

Posted August 23, 2013
- a community member
Wharton is below average by not having a nurse on campus.If you get sick they call your parents as you lay on a portable bed all the previous sick people have laid on.You are going to expect eating "food" that is almost as good as toy food.When you get to middle school you must do 20 or so community service hours"free labor".But at least you wont have problems with classmates, and as for the teachers about 1/5 are good. The teaching is "ok" you have advanced placement classes in middle school.Spanish: you memorize more than you learn even though you were supposed to learn most in 4th grade where it was almost completely skipped as was the case for our cursive learning in 3rd.

Wharton Dual Language Academy 3

Posted January 09, 2013
- a community member
Good school for elementary but not great 4 middle school. It has no sports except for cross country which is only 3 months and no electives what sievert no gym all middle schoo, is forced outside in shacks with no lockers carrying around a humongous backpack.

Wharton Dual Language Academy 5

Posted December 06, 2012
- a parent
Best school for Spanish-English dual-language education in Houston! We are so fortunate to have found this school. We looked long and hard for a school that taught proper Spanish in Houston and were surprised to find little to no choices amongst both the public and private academies. We began in a private school but after a year, we heard about Wharton and decided to give it a go. We have been extremely happy with the academics of the school. Teachers are well invested in the children and the school is currently an IB Candidate. Also a plus, is that that school is a Pre-K to 8th grade academy which is a huge plus in continuing the dual language program without having to search for another school once middle school years come around. The facilities of the school need to be improved but that said, the HISD bond that recently pass will have a great impact on Wharton since it was one of the few schools selected for major renovations.


Wharton Dual Language Academy 5

Posted August 19, 2012
- a parent
Excellent choice. Small school setting from elementary to 8th grade. My children were English speakers when they began in Kindergrten. By the end of K, they could read perfectly in English & Spanish. They are in 4th & 5th grade now, and they excel in test scores in both languages. Everyone knows their names, it is a small, tight knit school. I highly recommend.
1 person found this helpful

Wharton Dual Language Academy 5

Posted August 31, 2011
- a parent
Wharton has recently gone through various changes, improving it beyond the great school it already was. The parents are very involved and motivated to get its International Baccalaureate (IB) Primary Years Program (PYP) certification. There is only one other IB PYP dual language school in the city.
1 person found this helpful

Wharton Dual Language Academy 1

Posted April 23, 2011
- a community member
Wharton is not a wonderful school, everything has a dual meaning, literally. The parents are told one thing and another thing is done, beginning with the principal, she absolutely hates to spend money (budgeted) on the kids for improving materials, her ethics and professionalism towards insubordinates is poor, and discriminates towards people with less education.


Wharton Dual Language Academy 4

Posted April 06, 2011
- a parent
What a wonderful school. We have two children that attend. Both have different academic styles, yet their needs are met. The principal is incredible, she really appears to believe in the schools mission. Her daughter attends the school.

Wharton Dual Language Academy 0
no rating

Posted September 20, 2009
- a parent
Rare and excellent duel language program! Native English speaking children should start out in K or 1st in order to learn & function in both languages throughout their elementary years.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wharton Dual Language Academy
900 W. Gray Street, Houston, TX  77019
(713) 535-3771
Last modified Wharton Dual Language Academy is a Public school that serves grades K, 8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wharton Dual Language Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top