Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wharton Dual Language Academy 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
I'm so thankful with the school and with Ms Arocha because Of her fabulous work with our daughter! Valentina loves her! She said she is her favorite teacher ever and she is always talking about how much she is going to miss her! Thank you Whorton and many special thanks to Ms Arocha! We love you so much!

Wharton Dual Language Academy 5

Posted February 11, 2015
- a parent
The IB/Dual Language Magnet alone is impressive. My daughter is in kinder. She already reads in Spanish at the 1st grade level and it is only the middle of the year. She participates in the afterschool program, which in kinder means cooking, recess, photography, music and always homework assistance. The school holds concerts and has a soccer team (Go COLTS!). The PTO and APTT meetings are always in both English and Spanish and very useful. Teachers teach core values and this creates a respectful and positive environment. The teachers there are so hard working. Also, we live very far away from Wharton, but because it is a magnet, my girl gets bussing for free. The bus situation is very safe - there are only two other kids on her stop. I'm on a cellphone basis with her bus driver, which eases my helicopter parenting tendencies!


Wharton Dual Language Academy 5

Posted January 29, 2014
- a parent
The school staff, Ms. Jennifer Day the Principal, Ms. Katy Perez, Ms. Pat Selin are all simply wonderful. Our son was in 2013 - 14 kindergarten class at this school and then we had to move to Wisconsin unexpectedly. During the time he was in school and even when he left we were guided and taken care of nicely! Lots ofgood advice was given by the principal and his class teacher Ms. Katy. Thanks to all of that. And I really appreciate Ms. Katy's never ending optimism with the kids. I also liked their teaching methods. It is a great school!! Thanks to one and all Abhi

Wharton Dual Language Academy 2

Posted September 18, 2013
- a community member
I'm a former student and... I went there for 10 years previously and... it went down drastically in me and most of my friends opinion

Wharton Dual Language Academy 2

Posted August 23, 2013
- a community member
Wharton is below average by not having a nurse on campus.If you get sick they call your parents as you lay on a portable bed all the previous sick people have laid on.You are going to expect eating "food" that is almost as good as toy food.When you get to middle school you must do 20 or so community service hours"free labor".But at least you wont have problems with classmates, and as for the teachers about 1/5 are good. The teaching is "ok" you have advanced placement classes in middle school.Spanish: you memorize more than you learn even though you were supposed to learn most in 4th grade where it was almost completely skipped as was the case for our cursive learning in 3rd.


Wharton Dual Language Academy 3

Posted January 09, 2013
- a community member
Good school for elementary but not great 4 middle school. It has no sports except for cross country which is only 3 months and no electives what sievert no gym all middle schoo, is forced outside in shacks with no lockers carrying around a humongous backpack.

Wharton Dual Language Academy 5

Posted December 06, 2012
- a parent
Best school for Spanish-English dual-language education in Houston! We are so fortunate to have found this school. We looked long and hard for a school that taught proper Spanish in Houston and were surprised to find little to no choices amongst both the public and private academies. We began in a private school but after a year, we heard about Wharton and decided to give it a go. We have been extremely happy with the academics of the school. Teachers are well invested in the children and the school is currently an IB Candidate. Also a plus, is that that school is a Pre-K to 8th grade academy which is a huge plus in continuing the dual language program without having to search for another school once middle school years come around. The facilities of the school need to be improved but that said, the HISD bond that recently pass will have a great impact on Wharton since it was one of the few schools selected for major renovations.

Wharton Dual Language Academy 5

Posted August 19, 2012
- a parent
Excellent choice. Small school setting from elementary to 8th grade. My children were English speakers when they began in Kindergrten. By the end of K, they could read perfectly in English & Spanish. They are in 4th & 5th grade now, and they excel in test scores in both languages. Everyone knows their names, it is a small, tight knit school. I highly recommend.


Wharton Dual Language Academy 5

Posted August 31, 2011
- a parent
Wharton has recently gone through various changes, improving it beyond the great school it already was. The parents are very involved and motivated to get its International Baccalaureate (IB) Primary Years Program (PYP) certification. There is only one other IB PYP dual language school in the city.

Wharton Dual Language Academy 1

Posted April 23, 2011
- a community member
Wharton is not a wonderful school, everything has a dual meaning, literally. The parents are told one thing and another thing is done, beginning with the principal, she absolutely hates to spend money (budgeted) on the kids for improving materials, her ethics and professionalism towards insubordinates is poor, and discriminates towards people with less education.

Nearby schools

Wharton Dual Language Academy
900 West Gray Street, Houston, TX  77019
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (713) 535-3771
Last modified Wharton Dual Language Academy is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top