Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Whidby Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
Whidby Elementary school is a great school. The Teachers and Principle are very good and responsive. They take care of kids in a very good manner and teaching is excellent. My daughter love this school.

Whidby Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
My school is great in every way. It offers many things to change the student to do and be better.


Whidby Elementary School 5

Posted January 17, 2013
- a parent
The function of education is to teach one to think intensively and to think critically. Intelligence plus character - that is the goal of true education. Martin Luther King, Jr. When I reflect on the above quote, Whidby Elementary School comes to mind. Whidby Elementary Magnet School for Leadership in Health Sciences serves as an excellent catalyst for many future, student to adult, success stories. One must understand that an institute of learning, whether on the elementary or post graduate level, must work as a whole. Whidby operates as a whole; starting with leadership. The principal is very caring and is engulfed with making sure that all students are safe, receiving an excellent education in a nurturing and thriving setting AND IS ALWAYS seeking out the latest innovations in education. The administration, teachers, ancillary staff and PTO have the same focus. The office support shares an equal love for the students as well as the parents. I cannot leave out the the cafeteria and custodial staff...THEY ARE AMAZING! My son is a second grader at Whidby and LOVES IT...HE IS EAGER TO GET TO SCHOOL EVERYDAY and has PERFECT ATTENDANCE. I recommend Whidby to EVERY PARENT!

Whidby Elementary School 5

Posted December 31, 2012
- a parent
I am so happy that my daughter attends Whidby Elementary school for leadership in health science. The teachers, the front office staff, and most importantly the leadership team are an amazing group of individuals. The school has changed tremendously from last year. The school has a great health science emphasis, the PTO is always scheduling fun events, and the teachers are so dedicated. Whidby offers an after school program and tutorials, the Houston Children's Museum visits the school once a month, and academic events for parents are held once a month. The leadership team has monthly meetings with parents so that they can keep us updated on upcoming events, testing, and curriculum. Ms. Griffin and her team make everyone feel welcomed. Children's safety is Ms. Griffin's priority. I am pleased that my daughter attends Whidby!

Whidby Elementary School 1

Posted April 12, 2012
- a parent
This is the first time i have ever wanted to be a volunteer at a school and to be told by the principle that volunteers are not needed at this school. If the Office team would put on educated caps and not Power struggle caps they would see that volunteers would help with the security of the halls, cafeteria, class rooms. Volunteers are needed because that DUMMY is Parent Support, but to not want parent involvement is crazy. The District supports this behavior and they say its the Principles call. If the parents talk to their kids they would hear that classes are over crowded, why move classes into other classes for a book fair and why put the 4th and 5th special ed. kids in classes with the pre-k and k students they are to old to be around these little ones. the cafeteria is out of controll food fights, just fights period. Parents start talking to your kids, start calling the district on this behavior at Whidby kids are disruptive and it hampers the learning of kids that really are their to learn. Whidby was at one time a great school due to the Office Team but when they the Office staff stands in the cafeteria yelling SHUT UP! Whidby needs LEADERSHIP not only PAYCHECK SEEKERS.


Whidby Elementary School 2

Posted April 05, 2012
- a parent
Has common courtesy from leadership been this low allowing disruptive children to corupt the classroom, standing behing the staff is not at this school the children are disruptive in and out of the classes but are not removed from the school. notices do not go out to parents informing them of the serious offenses. 2 of my children have been mistreated by bullies,neithert i or my husband was notified of the offenses and the principle just basically embrassed the offender and shunned us offf as if it was nothing, she does not know how to communicate with parents not even speak...their educational learning has dropped at whidby.....Teachers need to treated as educators for our children, not as children themselves...you dont reprimend a teacher in front of students that just encourages them to be worse than they already are...not having the leadership team supporting the staff or standing behind them is pitiful....We will not return to this school.....leadership needs to go back to courtesy training because it is lacking...they collected our money for a non existing P.T.O

Whidby Elementary School 1

Posted March 29, 2012
- a parent
BY FAR the worst school on the planet!! The most ghetto administration I have ever witnessed all inside a school building. The principle is very snide and passive she is new to the school and she is a terrible leader the school should be shut down do not send you child here the standard of learning is extremely low. The secretary has the worst grammar ever and she is the principals right hand woman. The school can only be as great as its leaders and they are all failures! NO PTO either all the cash was stolen last year SAD!

Whidby Elementary School 4

Posted February 21, 2010
- a parent
Whidby's atmosphere has improved so much under the new principal, Ms. Taylor. She is a great supporter of the Montessori program and is the 'breath of fresh air' that the school has needed for a long time.


Whidby Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 24, 2009
- a parent
My son studied in montessori section of whidby elementary school. There was phenomonal incerease in his intellectual and practical life abilitites. Thanks for the teachers, especially to my son's teacher Mrs Schultz. Thank you madam. She has tons of patience in dealing with students.

Whidby Elementary School 4

Posted March 19, 2009
- a parent
The Montessori program at Whidby is excellent because of the individual time spent with each child. The teachers are the best and each teacher in the Montessori program has an assistant which allows individual identity in order to acknowledge their strenghts and weaknesses. I appreciate the program because it covers all subjects and it allows the children to learn and grow at their own pace. The principal has a hugh responsibility between the Traditional & Montessori Programs for which both require parental involvement. Keep in mind that any time one program lacks parental involvement it will affect both programs. I urge all parents in both programs to participate and always stay involved in your childrens education. Because it does not matter which school your child attends their progress and success is determined by their parent and family involvement and encouragement.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Whidby Elementary School
7625 Springhill Street, Houston, TX  77021
(713) 746-8170
Last modified Whidby Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Whidby Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top