Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sugar Grove Academy 1

Posted June 18, 2016
- a teacher
I was a former teacher at this school in the past year. The reviews for this school before 2012 are from when the school was an elementary school. If I were a parent, I would never enroll any student in this school. There are not enough teachers, the administration is forced to focus on the STAAR test. The students do not have the skills needed for the curriculum to be successful but teachers were told that they could not teach basics that the students could not grasp and they had to attend after school tutoring, which few students were able to do. Substitute teachers would not come to the school after the third week of school and classes had to be combined with as many as fifty students in a class. There were not enough resources to successfully engage students and we were unable to achieve high levels of parent involvement. It was a hopeless environment where most students were not engaged, teachers left the school in tears or in anger on most days, and administration and district officials did not seem to want to address this larger challenges in the school which would have resulted in an improved academic environment for everyone.

Sugar Grove Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 18, 2016
- a teacher
Other teachers worked together to support each other and attempt to develop ways to help students.


Sugar Grove Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted June 18, 2016
- a teacher
The teachers honestly cared about the students, but there is such a focus on the STAAR scores and the required improvement status, the teachers could not adapt the curriculum so that students could develop fundamental skills needed to work the curriculum. The school population had a large number of immigrants from diverse prior learning experiences. The school district and administration needed to recognize this and develop a better structure to address these known gaps in student learning.

Sugar Grove Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 18, 2016
- a teacher
The teachers were told that homework must be assigned every night. I rarely had students that turned in homework. If they did, I was able to understand their misunderstandings. However, no more than 10 students out of 80 turned in homework. I honestly believe it was because the students could not read and comprehend the problems so they could not demonstrate that they could work the problem or what is was asking. Also, a majority of students did not have help outside of school and could not or would not attend tutoring.

Sugar Grove Academy 2

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
this was the first year for my 6th grade daughter, and until 5/18/16 never thought that a teacher would discriminate against my daughter. I honestly think she did a really bad thing by not letting her perform when she the teacher herself asked her to... I will put a complaint against her TODAY!!


Sugar Grove Academy 1

Posted April 18, 2013
- a teacher
I went to the school for substituting but those kids are really bad. They don't behave well and very disrespectful. And they stole my cellphone before they left class. I was very shocked that they stole a teacher's cellphone. I saw some of them were handcuffed by a police officer. Don't ever go there and don't send your kids there either. It's very bad.

Sugar Grove Academy
no rating

Posted November 06, 2008
- a teacher
This is avery good school I had worked at different schols and I can see the difference the principal gets involved with the students. He is very respectful to personnel that's why a lot of people think it twice before moving to another place.Employes help each other and you can see the good vibe in there

Sugar Grove Academy 4

Posted September 20, 2007
- a teacher
The school was rated exemplary with special recognition from the State of Texas Governor's Grant program in 05-06, and recognized in 06-07. This happened while being an 'overflow school' which anyone knows makes it more difficult to secure parent involvement. The vast majority of teachers and staff here sincerely care about the success and welfare of our students. We are committed to the student's learning and personal growth. Thank you.


Sugar Grove Academy 1

Posted March 30, 2007
- a teacher
Teachers who work at this school do not send their students here because of the poor academia and discipline. The teachers, staff, and administrators spend more time arguing with one another than they do working for the betterment of the students. Tutorials don't start until it is close to the TAKS date.

Sugar Grove Academy 2

Posted April 12, 2006
- a parent
There are no additional help for students, have to go to outside sources, such as sylvan learning center in order to get additional help. I believe this school need additional resources

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sugar Grove Academy
8405 Bonhomme Road, Houston, TX  77074
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (713) 271-0214
Last modified Sugar Grove Academy is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top