Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Eastwood Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 09, 2015
- a student
We have really good teachers who are smart and teach well. They really care about all students

Eastwood Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 09, 2015
- a student
I am in AP classes and I have a lot of homework. I know it is good for me but I wish I had more time for fun.


Eastwood Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 09, 2015
- a student
Grit is one of our essential skills and we talk about it all the time in class and on announcements

Eastwood Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 09, 2015
- a student
Disrespect and bullying are not tolerated. It is a no place for hate school and all people are accepted.

Eastwood Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 09, 2015
- a student
The principal is always talking about the Eastwood family and is very nice to students. It makes you feel like a home.


Eastwood Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 09, 2015
- a student
The kids are nice to each other and when someone loses a cell phone someone usually finds it and turns it in.

Eastwood Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 09, 2015
- a student
Thank you Ms. Fendley for taking time to undestand me and support me. You helped me through a hard time.

Eastwood Academy 4

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
Great school! The teachers and staff are amazing. I wish I could give it 5 stars but the principal is horrible. She doesn't care for the students nor the teachers. If it wasn't for the enthusiasm of the clerks and teachers this school would have gone down.


Eastwood Academy 1

Posted May 30, 2013
- a community member
Eastwood has never been perfect, as no school ever is, but it is such a shame that the quality and standards of the school have diminished. There are still a number of great teachers, both old and new, but there are a number of teachers who don't even deserve the title. The current principal Ms. Fendley has been the WORST. She has failed to listen to parents, teachers, and students. When a parent brought an issue to her, she resorted to bullying their children, thus intimidating them. This year, funds were exhausted, being spent frivolously by the principal herself. It is a shame that so many students didn't even get into U of H this year. Overall SAT results were dreadful. So far, the majority of 9th and 10th graders failed STAAR. NO excuse from a charter/college prep. My sister's middle school prepared all their students well and results were phenomenal. The number of students keeps increasing. Are they trying to bring one of the better schools in the neighborhood down? Eastwood is no longer charter. It's like any other now. Ms. Fendley didn't present the portfolio to keep it as a charter because she was lazy and prefers to lower the standards required of charter schools.

Eastwood Academy
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a student
this is my last year at eastwood academy and it has been the toughest. When i first heard about this school, I thought it was going to be just like my senior year is turning out to be, very difficult. Since i was expecting it to be very hard and once i got here found out it wasn't, the first few couple of years for me here were extremely easy. It wasnt until my junior year that my grades started slipping and i started getting more relaxed, in a bad way. Because of that and the whole college process that comes with being a senior, this year has bee most difficult. Trevino is the sort of principal that i expected to have in my freshmen year coming to this college prep school. I think with him being here, this school is going to get better and better each year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eastwood Academy
1315 Dumble Street, Houston, TX  77023
(713) 924-1697
Last modified Eastwood Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Eastwood Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top