Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Energized For Excellence Academy E

Charter | K-5 | 1623 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2013

THIS SCHOOL IS A JOKE, NO COMPUTERS FOR KIDS OR TEACHERS, THEY ARE NOT ABLE TO KIND YOUR CHILD DURING THE MIDDLE OF THE DAY. GETTING RECORDS WILL BECOME YOUR FULL TIME JOB, THE FOOD OPTIONS FOR THE KIDS IS SOMETHING THAT SHOULD BE GIVEN TO IMATES IN JAIL. I'M NOT SURE WHY HISD IS STILL GIVING THIS SCHOOL MONEY TO WASTE. I WOULD NOT SEND MY DOG FOR TRAINING HERE... PARENTS PLEASE DONT DO IT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

Very test oriented. I also was on the receiving end of racial slurs from students (with no repercussions) and racist comments from staff. Not a pleasant place to work.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 29, 2013

I was reading some of the reviews on here and I was surprised to see how many Satisfied Parents there is. One Parent wrote "Form your own opinions based on facts not Reviews" . Well I tell you if you do, you will regret it. Let's forget about what everyone else is saying about having to pay for supplies. You have to purchase them regardless. Who ever said a Field trip is free? Now if you have to pay to get transportation from and to a school event that is different. My child had to pay to ride a bus from school to a soccer game. He was on the team. Getting back to the school issues. They change Teacher's and Staff like you would change from one course to the other. Teacher's are very disrespectful!!!! Just this year (2013) the E-Stem high school has had like 3 different Principal's. It is very true that they do focus on passing the required Test's. I do not see my child learning other than that. He can not even remember what he learned the previous year for the same subject because of the teacher' s being replaced so often. They teach differently. I will tell you the Active Principal now(Mr. Perez) is doing a GREAT job. He takes no Bull!!!!! THIS SCHOOL IS VERY UNORGANIZED!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2012

I will admit the school is not very unorganized during the period of drop-offs and parents attempting to get their children to and from school especially with all the schools beginning and letting out at the same time. Yes it is a nightmare! BUT...when school is in session and all the traffic and parents go away...this school is awesome!. My child has attended this school from middle school into high school and has truly excelled. Principal Bullock for the past two years has literally paid out of her pockets for the all her high school students to attend Texas universities college/business readiness programs for two weeks at the end of each school year. I know they may not have all the glitz and glamour like more established high school may have but I beg to differ on the teaching-to-test theory. I love this school and so does my child. As far as the teachers leaving and bringing in new ones, if the teachers are not a fit for the school and their program, then I can understand. But then most established public and private schools have this same problem these days too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2012

I love this school! I couldn't be happier with the results I have seen in my child's education. I have read some of these other reviews and I don't know whether to laugh or cry. These reviews seem like they were done by people who want the school to provide everything AND do the parenting for them. Yes, the school asks you to buy supplies for your child but so does every other school in Houston. I have a friend who teaches at Thompson and she said the supplies for her students cost $80. I've NEVER paid that much. Yes, they teach the children how to pass TAKS but so does every other school in Texas. The difference between Energized and other schools is that this school sets high expectations for their students & gives them the skills to meet those expectations. My son loves going to school and his teacher is doing an excellent job. No school is perfect but Energized is one of the best in the city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2012

Reading these comments leaves me scratching my head. I sent my son Joshua here after rave reviews from ACTUAL PARENTS who send their child with no complaints. My son received an education unimaginable for our district and is now about to go to University of Texas for college. I may have made mistakes as a parent along the way but sending him to Energized, under the care of Ms Bullock, is not one of them. Form your own opinions based on facts not reviews.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

Be prepared to spend lots of your money on school supplies. Text books need to be purchased out of pocket. Fields trips are out of pocket, including the school bus. Their events are held at a theater and tickets are just so expensive.How about the cafeteria? The school appears to be very old. Sometimes their bathrooms don't have toilet paper. Bathrooms inside the classrooms are always dirty and smelly. The kids don't have P.E. class. The dumpsters are located near the bus stop area where kids are dropped off and picked up. For the past two years my son had teachers who were always mad. I believe the teachers bring their personal problems to work. Definitely placing my son in another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2011

I'm new in texas and when I called to find out enrollment information about this school the lady who answered the phone was very rude and short with me. she did not even give me time to ask where they were located. she cut me short and said she had another phone call and if I wanted more info I had to go in to the school and she hung up on me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2011

school is a joke they are very unorganized they ask for so much money and allot of supplies which you are buying for the entire school .there staff are rude including ms bullock and ms cooper walks around cluesless asking parents what to do.. parents or anyone can walk in and no permission is asked .parking is a nightmare ,parents fight for parking or to even the leave the parking lot. teachers are great but they system there is horrible , dont leave your kid there they are taking advantage of all the undocumented kids , parents and teachers. RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

A factory school that just packs them in. They have a huge factory garage door in there cafeteria that is open in all weather and the kids have to sit there and wait for classes. Parking is terrible and traffic is nuts. Its like they didn't even plan for drop offs and pick ups when they created the school. The teachers do the best they can but the administration is obviously worried about other things. This school is not much of an improvement over the terrible HISD schools in the Sharpstown area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2010

RUN, do not walk, away from this school! First, there is no semblance of organization here. There are multiple "campuses" scattered around town, but they consist of portables or ancient, mold-infested storage and office buildings. Students aren't taught real skills, just how to take the standardized tests for their particular grade. Yes, the scores are high, but your child isn't learning enough to carry from one year to the next. They accept serious behavior problems, and there are no consequences for those who disobey, which distracts the kids who WANT to learn. No P.E., no extracurriculars or Fine Arts (if you're not in band or cheerleading, there's nothing for you, and even those are awfully excecuted). This school is a terrible excuse for an organization, and my child is much better off at Pershing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2010

Experience with school not very pleasant. Principal was not professional and focus was more on testing that actual comprehension of subject.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 7, 2010

i have two kids in that school(1st yr for both) and both teachers quit at the last minute so now we have new ones.. they are very nice and teach well but the problem is the school is not organized at atll i had to buy school supplies that i dont think no other school asks for like toilet paper.. and there was a list in the begginning and middle of the year ...i know the state has to give them money for that also the staff is some what rude ...is a mess you dont know where the office is at also the traffic many parents get in to fight s for parking ..stupid things you should not do in front of the children any one can walk in the school it will be my kids last yr there i found a better school that do care about their students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2009

Lack of organization, some classes don't have boards for teachers to write, as a parent I have to pay for any field trips and at the bus with 2 and that is ilegal. The teacher is doing her best, but the classroom is very small.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2009

My child started here two years ago in the pre-k3 program. He will be starting kindergarten this August and is already reading and loves homework. Ms. Carter was his teacher for pre-k4 and she is truly a gifted educator. Principal Bullock has stocked this school with extremely capable educators who love their job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2009

I withdrew my child due to inability of the school to offer concrete support, without the exclusive focus on TAKs, Principal refused to return calls. I found the the entire program being more on funding that the actual progress of my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2009

This is my daughter's second year. She has been learning really good. I rate it as average because the school is very unorganized and tell the parents about activities at the last minute. I know if they are out of school before the teacher knows due to me asking other parents and going online at the hisd website. It is an excellent school for learning but that is it. Communication, diversity, activities, traffic is the major problems this school has. I would not recommend this school to anyone. This will be my daughters last year there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

Mrs.Bullock is a very strong leader I really veliebe that this is one of the bests schools in Houston, I'm super involved parent and love that woman.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2008

This is a wonderful school. I was a teacher there, and working at this school I know what the school is about. The teacher's there work hard to make sure the students learn everything they need to know. Someone said the school is not diverse. Yes the school is diverse. I have a child that is 2 now and when she becomes 3 or 4 I will be enrolling her in the prek program. This school offers alot. This school follows the states curriculum. The people who posted about the TAKS test. This is Texas. All schools teach the test. No matter what school your child attend your child will be reviewing the TAKS test all year. Your child have to pass the TAKS test to be promoted to the next grade. I can't wait to enroll my daughter in Energized for Excellence. This school is Energized for Excellence.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 2, 2008

I agree wholeheartedly with what the Parent who posted on May 21, 2008 said. This school is nothing but TAKS, TAKS, TAKS. They start preparing for TAKS on the VERY FIRST DAY of school. The teachers even have them write out the ENTIRE TAKS booklet (from previous years) in an effort to get them to retain the information. And on TAKS testing day the students are required to work on the test for the ENTIRE eight hours. No test is to be turned in before 4:00. My son mentioned how bored he was, going over the material over and over again and then he began to second guess his answers. Being a charter school I understand that TAKS scores are how they receive their funding but this is beyond ridiculous.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

225 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

225 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

202 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

202 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

202 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

162 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

162 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

162 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Female77%
Male73%
Black or African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)74%
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant75%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students66%
Female60%
Male72%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special educationn/a
Not special education66%
Limited English proficient (LEP)66%
Proficient in English63%
Not migrant66%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Female72%
Male76%
Black or African American87%
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special educationn/a
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)72%
Proficient in English77%
Not migrant74%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students76%
Female77%
Male74%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant76%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students87%
Female87%
Male86%
Black or African American87%
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special educationn/a
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant87%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female88%
Male86%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)79%
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant87%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students90%
Female91%
Male89%
Black or African American95%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)81%
Proficient in English93%
Not migrant90%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Science

All Students77%
Female72%
Male82%
Black or African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special educationn/a
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English77%
Not migrant77%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Female68%
Male68%
Black or African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Special educationn/a
Not special education68%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant68%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted67%
Bilingual76%

Math

All Students64%
Female61%
Male67%
Black or African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Special educationn/a
Not special education64%
Limited English proficient (LEP)64%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant64%
Gifted/talented83%
Not Gifted63%
Bilingual66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Female59%
Male60%
Black or African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special educationn/a
Not special education60%
Limited English proficient (LEP)58%
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant60%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted59%
Bilingual70%

Math

All Students67%
Female67%
Male67%
Black or African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special educationn/a
Not special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)65%
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant67%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted67%
Bilingual76%

Writing

All Students64%
Female66%
Male62%
Black or African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special educationn/a
Not special education64%
Limited English proficient (LEP)62%
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant64%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted64%
Bilingual76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students67%
Female69%
Male65%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education0%
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)64%
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant67%
Gifted/talented83%
Not Gifted67%
Bilingual60%

Math

All Students75%
Female79%
Male71%
Black or African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special education20%
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted75%
Bilingual70%

Science

All Students75%
Female69%
Male80%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education20%
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)72%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted75%
Bilingual90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 90% 52%
Black 9% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 2%
White 0% 29%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 78%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 87%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • LOIS BULLOCK
Fax number
  • (713) 773-3630

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6201 Bissonnet Street
Houston, TX 77081
Website: Click here
Phone: (713) 773-3600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Sutton Elementary
Houston, TX


Las Americas
Houston, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT