Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Houston, TX
Students enrolled: 586
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Foster Elementary School 5

Posted January 30, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is now in 2nd grade and has attended Foster since Kindergarten. The teachers and support staff are wonderful, caring, and have the best interests of the kids at heart. When she started my daughter had speech problems, which also put her behind in reading--and the administration got her enrolled in speech therapy and extra reading help. Since then she has improved by leaps and bounds! She is actually ahead of her reading level now. Foster also has a very active and involved PTO that does a lot for both teachers and students. My daughter LOVES her school.

Foster Elementary School 1

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
Avoid moving to this area if you can. Foster Elementary School employs teachers and management staff who appear friendly in the beginning of the school year, but gradually through brief glimpses throughout the year, you'll realize they are rude to the children. If you have any concerns, especially if your child is harmed or hurt on campus, they are belligerent and defensive. This is a reprehensible school that turns a blind eye to bullying! Stay away!! For the safety of your children, especially if Mrs. Zelezinski is still the principal! She does NOT care about your kids!


Foster Elementary School 5

Posted September 13, 2010
- a parent
Challenging curriculum; I see that Foster received an Exemplary rating from the T.E.A., that's the highest rating a school can receive, I believe. My special needs daughter has just blossomed and is excelling in the 5th grade. My husband transferred here from Kentucky- trust me, Kingwood schools are a HUGE improvement of what is offered in Kentucky, sorry Kentucky.
2 people found this helpful

Foster Elementary School 5

Posted January 17, 2010
- a parent
I think Foster is a great school. Im impressed by the teacher's sensitivity to her special needs. She is excelling now, largely due to the curriculum, excellent staff. Thanks
1 person found this helpful

Foster Elementary School 5

Posted December 19, 2008
- a parent
I absolutely love Foster! My daughter is in her 3rd year there and she's excelling in every subject because every teacher she's had so far makes learning fun. They interact with each child so well and really seem to do their best. They've even gone to see my child's singing performances and to watch her cheer. These teachers really play an active role in these kids' lives.
1 person found this helpful


Foster Elementary School 1

Posted March 26, 2008
- a parent
The Principles leadership is lacking. Had a wonderful K year, after that went down hill quickly. Ended up pulling him in out in 2nd grade and put him in private school. He has blossomed since then.

Foster Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 28, 2008
- a parent
This is a great school with great teachers!

Foster Elementary School 1

Posted October 26, 2007
- a parent
Out of state transfer. Unhappy w/ spelling-reading program. Strangest program ever seen. Not impressed with principal, rude & unfriendly. Best part of school, pe and music teachers.


Foster Elementary School 3

Posted October 29, 2006
- a parent
I think this school is pretty good. My child has been there for 6 years and loved it but there is some teachers that do not teach very well. 5th grade is the hardest. From about 3 tests a week to 3 project a week and more.

Foster Elementary School 4

Posted October 19, 2005
- a parent
This school is all about involvement. They are constantly searching for new ways to help the children excell, and are willing to try differnet aproaches to get them there. My daughter has just started Kindergarten we all love it. Teachers work together so the children have a chance to interact with each other besides the ones in their class. PTA and parent involvement are also encouraged in the school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Foster Elementary School
1800 Trailwood Village Drive, Houston, TX  77339
(281) 641-1400
Last modified Foster Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Foster Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top