Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Epps Island Elementary School 4

Posted May 19, 2016
- a community member
Working here has been a great experience! The faculty and staff are very supportive. Great things are happening at this school.

Epps Island Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2015
- a teacher
I have been a teacher at Epps island for over 5 years. It makes me sad that this school has such bad reviews. We went through a rough time and worked hard but that was only because our school had not met state standards. It took hard work and dedication to get out of that status and I am beyond proud to say that we were successful. We did lose many teachers, but the teachers that remained at Epps stayed there for the love of the kids and the school. Those of us that stayed through the storm did it because we wanted to not because no one else wanted us. We are dedicated to our students and each other. If you were to come to the school this year you would see a different atmosphere, teachers morale is way up and that is simply because we can walk around with our heads up knowing that our hard work paid off. At Epps you will find knowledgeable, resilient, hard working teachers and staff who would do ANYTHING for our kids! :)


Epps Island Elementary School 1

Posted June 20, 2014
- a teacher
The incompetence and ego of the current principal are astounding. The answer to every problem on the campus is more workload for the teachers. Not just a little bit of work, but to the degree that your family life, and in some cases, your health will suffer. The best you will get is lip-service during a "meeting", or perhaps a poorly written reminder of the Epps "affirmations", which frankly mean nothing. This year alone, she has managed to lose a record-breaking number of teachers. She'll likely blame her predecessor, but she had enough time to reassure the staff that positive changes were being made. She even managed to lose her only fair and competent Assistant Principal. She lost some of her best talent, which is extremely foolish considering there isn't a line of teachers begging to work at a Title I campus on the south end of Klein ISD. Central office is likely aware of her incompetence and hopefully will replace her soon. If you are considering a job here because you saw the plethora of openings available, that should speak for itself. If you are a parent with a student here... move.

Epps Island Elementary School 1

Posted June 19, 2014
- a teacher
If I could give no stars, I would. I came from HISD expecting something different, but got a crazy surprise. This school is all messed up, but especially the administration people. I think if this school had better leaders, problems would be fixed. We got new principal in January, and she is way worse than the one before. I tried to discipline my students, but the lady from the state and admin said I was too strong with them. I left after one year and would not hope this mess on my worst enemy.

Epps Island Elementary School 1

Posted June 18, 2014
- a teacher
Epps has gone downhill since the new principal took over. Parents are shunned, student discipline is left unattended and the staff morale is the lowest I've ever seen. Next year half the staff will be new because everyone wants off the "island". It is a sad sad place:(


Epps Island Elementary School 1

Posted June 16, 2014
- a teacher
This school is an awful place to work. The principal is a tyrant and expects so much out you, that your stress level will be intolerable. Mandatory tutoring, mandatory meetings, mandatory trainings.. Notice a patten? "Mandatory" gets thrown around daily. The only praise you get is a "Thanks a bunch" in an email. Save yourself the grief and work at a different school. This year (2014) they will be replacing moe than 20 teachers who have had enough!

Epps Island Elementary School 1

Posted June 03, 2014
- a teacher
It was no surprise when I looked at the recent reviews of Epps Island. I work in the maintenance department of Klein and I have never had a more difficult principal to work with. I can't go specifically into what I do at the school, at the risk of compromising my duties at the school, or that of others I work with. All I can really say is that this new principal is unrealistic in her wishes, and she has a horrible way of going about it. I talk to the teachers and they hate life under this new principal. All of the maintenance people I speak with, hate coming to this school. I can only imagine what it is like for the poor kids.

Epps Island Elementary School 1

Posted May 31, 2014
- a parent
I am very disappointed in the school during the Spring of 2014. My children are in 2nd and 3rd grade and I finding out that many of the good teachers are leaving. From what I have been told, at leasy half of the teachers are leaving. I do not want my children being taught by first year teachers or teachers that no one else wants. We are going to have to move. The new principal is not very good because she never wants to talk to parents. Many parents have complaints about the new principal as she is not good to parents, children and teachers. We are moving for another Klein school.


Epps Island Elementary School 1

Posted May 21, 2014
- a teacher
Check the Houston Chronicle rating for this campus, a solid "F". Discipline is out of control. Kids can fight and be disrespectful with no consequence.

Epps Island Elementary School 1

Posted May 11, 2014
- a parent
DO NOT send your kids here. The new principal is rude. the kids rin around like crazy and the teachers be mean and yelling all the time. worst school ever. we gonna move out of willowood for a new school.

Nearby schools

Epps Island Elementary School
7403 Smiling Woods Lane, Houston, TX  77086
(832) 484-5800
Last modified Epps Island Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top