Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Houston, TX
Students enrolled: 3,847
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dobie High School 1

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
This school is HORRIBLE!!!! The school staff and administrators have no respect for students or parents. The teachers have bad attitudes and often tell the students they hate kids and hate teaching. The teachers do not post grades as required and the administrators do not enforce rules the teachers are to follow. They act as though they don't want parents involved as we are too much trouble and want them to do their jobs. Get your children out of the school ASAP.
1 person found this helpful

Dobie High School 5

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
Dobie is an awesome school. It has many activities and clubs to get into, the teachers are excellent and offer lots of tutorials. The principal is great with the students. He's always involved with everything and always notifies the students about issues and consequences.


Dobie High School 3

Posted January 30, 2013
- a parent
Why does Dobie have a dress code as it is on paper only. The percentage of students and parents enforcement of the dress code is basically non-existent. It is apparent the staff ignores it.

Dobie High School 3

Posted March 25, 2012
- a community member
I am parent interested in moving to texas. i am looking for good school to send my daughter too.

Dobie High School 1

Posted August 23, 2011
- a parent
This school is so disappointing. It is new and beautiful and makes big loud promises, but ends up at nothing. As a parent to a freshman now starting his second year in high school, there's absolutely no discipline, no control, and teachers seem to care very little, if at all, for the kids. The kids are out of control, rude, dressed like whatever and behave like whatever. I am looking into getting my son out of this school as soon as possible.


Dobie High School 2

Posted January 22, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Dobie High School 0
no rating

Posted May 29, 2009
- a teacher
As an experience substitute teacher, with two terms as a Long Term sub, this school is adequate. The school's focus is control of the students, since many are from blue collar backgrounds with families that do not speak English at home. The facilities are excellent. The teachers tend towards having a 'Teachers vs Students' mentality, and subs normally are expected to show movies. I wish I could have a better report, but this is reality.

Dobie High School 5

Posted October 30, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Dobie High School 3

Posted May 30, 2008
- a parent
I have a sophmore at this school and will have an incoming freshman. The advanced classes are teriffic if your student is willing to accept the challenge and do the work. If not the regular classes are what they are. They need to have more social programs or better promotion of the ones they have. I would encourage all students to find a group and participate. I have had the opportunity to participate on several scholarship committees and this has enabled me to interview the students. ALL the students commented that there needs to be more promotion of the clubs and every student needs to find one to belong to.

Dobie High School 4

Posted March 03, 2008
- a student
This school isn't so bad. There are some excellent extracurricular activities such as our drill team (the Lariaettes), the marching band, debate, and the Longhorn Leaders mentoring program. Several programs need work or more exposure, such as the Color Guard/Winterguard, the webmastering classes, the swim team (they don't even have a swimming pool of their own) and the various foreign language clubs. Academics overall are excellent, and the Academic Decathlon has won nationals twice and got third place once. Overall, it's a great place to learn, although I would appreciate it if something was done about the swim team and the golf team (they need a place to practice). Traffic is also a mess in the morning, since you can't circle around the building (there are wetlands behind Dobie). Moore Elementary is located in front of Dobie, so it gets congested.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dobie High School
10220 Blackhawk Boulevard, Houston, TX  77089
(713) 481-3000
Last modified Dobie High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dobie High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top