Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Thompson Intermediate School 4

Posted June 30, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Thompson Intermediate School 1

Posted May 23, 2008
- a parent
If your child will not be enrolled in Pre-AP classes then they won't survive. Students who have all the potential in the world are stuck in general population and teachers treat them with very little respect. The athletic department is horrible. The experianced coaches are ready to retire and others are teachers that were chosen by the staff that does not have to know how to coach any type of sporting game. Way too much emphasis is put on dress code. Also some of the teachers don't believe in the No Child Left Behind act. When a student is absent some teacher refuses to allow the student to make up there work. But they are able in there own way to justify why the student is failing. All the while parent is never contacted and it ends up to late to correct problems. There is constant racial tention on this campus


Thompson Intermediate School 5

Posted April 18, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Thompson Intermediate School 3

Posted April 08, 2008
- a parent
Overall I am pleased with the education my students have received from this school. I still have more to go through soon. Most of the teachers are great. Dress code and discipline are still a problem even with the new principal. The pants and shirts are oversized and could be a problem. There are more detentions handed out, but I feel that has little impact on the students. Parent involvement programs have increased and have a decent turnout. Extra curricular activities are plentiful and seem to be good programs. There are many social activities to participate in and gives the students a safe place to go. The principal seems nice enough but you have to have an appointment to see her.

Thompson Intermediate School 5

Posted February 12, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Thompson Intermediate School 5

Posted August 10, 2007
- a parent
My daughter was in that school the teachers are great especially Mirs Pettit

Thompson Intermediate School 3

Posted July 18, 2007
- a parent
I have been disappointed with my child's experience so far. There is inconsistency with dress code and what is acceptable behavior from teachers and students. Discipline does not seem to get any attention. I am hoping with the new principal, Dr. Stallings that things will turn around. This is our zoned school and we have two other children that will attend Thompson soon. Thompson does try to provide activities for parent involvement, but activities are disorganized and just leave me frustrated by the entire experience. I will add that Mrs. Poche, Mrs. Haas and Mrs. Lindsley are EXCEPTIONAL teachers and I hope my other children will be so fortunate as to have them.

Thompson Intermediate School 5

Posted June 09, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


Thompson Intermediate School 2

Posted May 09, 2006
- a teacher
The discipline is a constant problem. There is no consistency. Some of the teachers are very good, but the the Principal Dr. Jones, does not support them much. It used to be a great school many years ago. Those days are long gone. The A.P.s work very hard with what they are given, but it seems to be a losing battle. That school needs your prayers more than anything else.

Thompson Intermediate School 5

Posted May 04, 2004
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thompson Intermediate School
11309 Sagedowne Lane, Houston, TX  77089
(713) 929-3850
Last modified Thompson Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thompson Intermediate School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top