Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

C E King High School

Public | 9-12 | 1812 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 24, 2007

I am a current student of C.E.King High school and I don't agree with any of the rules they punish us for,they care more about the dress code than the education.They really don't want to understand your problem about getting to class,the real problem is the back hallway is always crowded because some students stand around and talk but the AP's don't care what the situation is they'll give you a D-hall even if it's not your fault,they don't care!I wouldn't recommend anyone go to this school,I wouldn't if I didn't have to,but we all have to do things we don't want to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2007

I recently graduated from King and i must say that i enjoyed my time there! I am attending a University now and feel prepared. I loved my high school and all the teachers there, it's a great place to learn and have fun. It isn't the schools fault if a few kids don't apply themselves, or attempt to follow the rules. I loved the principals, teachers, constables, and staff, they made me feel like I was at home!


Posted July 28, 2007

This school is a horrible school for children to attend because the education is behind and the administration is unprofessional
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

I am a recent graduate of C.E. King High School and King is only focused on getting the students to pass the TAKS test. King does NOT prepare you for college-I took AP as well-its basically a joke. The students/community is not motivated to strive beyond the 'Sheldon' life. The school district doesn't look for opportunities that could greatly benefit the talented students. They should invest in motivating students with other extracurricular/academic activities.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 13, 2007

My son attends CE King High School. I am very disappointed in this school. I understand the concept of the dress code but it should not be the main focus. The punishments for small things are taken to the extreme. There is little or no communication between the staff and parents. The safety of every child that walks or has to ride a bike to school is not taken seriously. If I had a choice my son would never again attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2007

I graduated at the top of my class from C.E. King High School a few years ago, & recently graduated from a university. Although I took all the AP courses offered at C.E. King, I later found that they were weak in material, and prepared me very little for college. I compared what fellow college class mates learned in their H.S. & found that while they were learning in college things that they had already seen in high school, I was introduced to the material for the first time, and therefore felt that my learning background had put me at an automatic disadvantage. This was in all subject areas. Ultimately, the goal at King was to get students to pass the TAKS & graduate, with no emphasis on taking the SAT & going to college. I would not recommend attending if you are serious about preparing for college, If I could-I-would-not-have-gone-there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 4, 2007

This school my son goes to is a great place the teachers are highly and proffesionaly experienced but I think the problem is not our childrens grades is the environment and the rules this school imposes on them for example my son tells me that they worry too much about the dress code and less about their grades another thing is that when my son is late that the principles or teachers dont care if they come all the way from another class they need more time other than that the school is alright
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

My daughter goes to C.E king High School the hole time last year she had nothing but problems about who her friends were or what she was wearing nothing did she ever get in trouble about her studys. I think the school system needs to worry about the kids studys not about thier clothen. I don't know about other parents but I send my kids to school to learn so they can get somewhere in life with thier eduction. Kids worry enough about what they look like they don't need the school on thier back . They need to put more attchen to the gang activity in the school and the kids that are always fighting about race and who is better than the other.They need to have more activities for the kids in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2004

I have had two children at King. One graduated in 2000 and has gone on to a great position with UT Medical Branch. He was well prepared for his position in the real world. My younger child has had health issues and will not attend King after this year, but from the time he was there, he had wonderful caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2003

I am a former student. I graduated May 31,1991. This was the best school I could have gone to. I have many lasting memories. The faculty here, in part, made me the person I am today(a registered nurse). I will look back on my high school days fondly for the rest of my life. Sincerely, Melissa {Jodi) Collins. Class of 1991
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

488 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

484 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

390 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

388 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

387 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

391 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

392 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

395 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

391 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female96%
Male93%
Black or African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)65%

Math

All Students84%
Female83%
Male84%
Black or African American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Special education56%
Limited English proficient (LEP)65%

Science

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Special education56%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female98%
Male97%
Black or African American96%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

346 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
79%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

476 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

377 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
68%
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

504 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
57%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

543 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
41%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

428 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

427 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

457 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
97%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
73%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

509 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

419 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students60%
Female61%
Male60%
Black or African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Special education35%
Not special education62%
Limited English proficient (LEP)48%
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%
Gifted/talented86%
Non-Gifted60%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students97%
Female99%
Male94%
Black or African American96%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented97%
Non-Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students84%
Female86%
Male82%
Black or African American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native80%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education38%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)58%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented97%
Non-Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students82%
Female85%
Male78%
Black or African American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracial60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education25%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)48%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented98%
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students52%
Female58%
Male47%
Black or African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracial40%
American Indian or Alaska Native67%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Special education20%
Not special education54%
Limited English proficient (LEP)19%
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant52%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted49%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students35%
Female40%
Male30%
Black or African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracial20%
American Indian or Alaska Native67%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Special education0%
Not special education36%
Limited English proficient (LEP)9%
Proficient in English40%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant35%
Gifted/talented92%
Non-Gifted31%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students72%
Female73%
Male70%
Black or African American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special education40%
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)35%
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Gifted/talented98%
Non-Gifted69%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students37%
Female41%
Male32%
Black or African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged37%
Special education10%
Not special education38%
Limited English proficient (LEP)9%
Proficient in English41%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant37%
Gifted/talented88%
Non-Gifted32%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students80%
Female82%
Male79%
Black or African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special education36%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)65%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented97%
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students71%
Female69%
Male72%
Black or African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Special education40%
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)49%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted69%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students64%
Female61%
Male68%
Black or African American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Special education0%
Not special education66%
Limited English proficient (LEP)23%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted60%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 63% 52%
Black 27% 13%
White 8% 29%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 10%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 12%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DEMETRIUS MCCALL
Fax number
  • (281) 459-7347

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8540 C E King Parkway
Houston, TX 77044
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 727-3501

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



High Point East
Houston, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT