Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Meadow Wood Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
The school is great. It is small enough so you feel your child is receiving the attention they should receive and you know all the parents. The PTA is also very involved which is critical for a schools success. This school truly is a gem. I feel that since it is one of the smaller elementary schools it is overlooked. It may not be as well known as some of the other elementary schools but it provides superb learning environment.

Meadow Wood Elementary School 5

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
My daughter just started kindergarten here at this beautiful campus. The classrooms are large and clean, and give the children plenty of room for learning. The learning techniques are thoughtful and fun, rather than boring worksheets. Teachers respond promptly to email, and do a great job keeping parents involved. The teachers at this school are SO amazing. They are helpful, and they LOVE these children. We moved to this area for the great public schools, and we couldn't be happier. There is a new principal at this school, and I see her everywhere. She's in the carpool line some mornings and comes to the classrooms to read to the kids in her spare time. They adore her. I've seen her speak, and she commands the room in the most likable, humble way possible. I love that MWE is the smallest school in Spring Branch. It really does feel like a small-town school that's located just outside central Houston. We feel so proud to call it "ours".


Meadow Wood Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2013
- a teacher
Meadow Wood Elementary is very much about making school a child-centered, family and community affair. The facility itself is brand new. There is a science lab, art and music rooms, as well as a well-equipped gymnasium. The classrooms are equipped with technology that allows them to compete in a quickly advancing technological world. There are programs available to families after school that help promote student success. iKids is an after school program that gives students a variety of activities to peak their interests. A community center nearby offers computers and printers for use by the children. The teachers are passionate about teaching their students, and they spend time learning what is important to each student and what motivates them. The belief that going "slow" allows students to go "fast" is central. Even though state testing takes the spotlight in the media, the educators are of the mind set that good teaching prepares students for effective results on tests. I would send my child to this campus without blinking an eye!

Meadow Wood Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2011
- a parent
Meadow Wood is a wonderful, loving place! The fabulous teachers and principal are nurturing and devoted to the students. The academics are challenging without overwhelming the kids. The parental involvement is incredible, as evidenced by all the awards the PTA has won. It is much smaller than a lot of the neighboring schools, which means the kids all know one another and the teachers know the kids. The students love going to school, which says everything about how special it is. Meadow Wood is truly a community school, and we are so fortunate to be part of the MWE family!

Meadow Wood Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2011
- a parent
Absolutely one of Houston's best kept secrets. This small school has a strong sense of community, strong academics and an extremely nurturing staff. From the moment you walk in the front door, both you and your child are greeted by name and there is no sense of just being a number as is true in most larger public schools. The school leadership maintains very high standards for its staff and seems to genuinely care about doing what is best for kids. Truly the best school nurse, librarian and principal anywhere. This will be my fourth year with children at MWE and we have hit the teacher jackpot every year! Staff turnover is very low as the teachers love the school as much as the kids and parents do. We started at Meadow Wood as a transfer family, but ended up moving to the neighborhood just for the school and we are very thankful we did.


Meadow Wood Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2011
- a parent
The school provides an incredible learning environment. The parents are extremely involved. Meadow Wood has the highest rate of parent volunteerism in the district. The principal is fully committed to high educational standards and maintains a high level of interaction with the parents.

Meadow Wood Elementary School 1

Posted May 28, 2010
- a parent
As a prospective family I found the principal disinterested at best. It appears unless you are an established family you will get the brush off.

Meadow Wood Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2010
- a parent
I have three children currently at MWE and it has been a great experience for all of them. We love the teachers and have never had a bad experience with any one of them. In fact, they consistently go above & beyond what any parent would expect! They make an effort outside of school, too. We have a diverse student population which is a big plus, and the parent involvement consistently wins awards each year for PTA. Lots of stay at home moms volunteer, This school is truly the hub of our community, which is an extremely involved neighborhood of families with similar values and goals for ourselves & our kids. The curriculum is challenging for my overachieving kid, and for the one that struggles, extra help is available. I recommend this school & community to anyone who is interested in & likes to be involved with their kids'


Meadow Wood Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 25, 2009
- a parent
Meadow Wood is one of the very best schools in Texas. The Principal, Robye Snyder amazing with teachers and parents and every child that attends Meadow Wood. I worked there and my children have loved their teachers and enjoy both academic and school activities offered or set up by the school or PTA. My children are outstanding because of the teachers who go out of there way to make every child count. Amazing school!

Meadow Wood Elementary School 5

Posted February 21, 2007
- a parent
As a former teacher myself, I can say that Meadow Wood elementary is one of the best schools I have seen. The kindergarten team is particularly outstanding. The teachers are able to meet each child where they are developmentally, while making learning fun and creative.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Meadow Wood Elementary School
14230 Memorial Drive, Houston, TX  77079
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (713) 251-6200
Last modified Meadow Wood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top