Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Houston, TX
Students enrolled: 2,567
 

4 stars
Based on 42 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

29 reviews of this school


Memorial High School 1

Posted May 09, 2015
- a student
No diversity. The social aspect of this school is very limited - i.e. do not go here unless you fit the cookie cutter mold of wealthy and/or white. Many students are cliquey and parents seem to encourage this snobbish behavior. Of course, this can be found in every high school, but Memorial High seems to have an extraordinary amount. This characteristic of the school is known as the, "memorial bubble." Parents practically run this school due to the vast affluence found in the community. For example, the average home price in the area is around $1 million. Students and faculty are close-minded and do not appreciate any deviancy from the normal standards. There are also not enough sports teams to accommodate every student that wants to play. It seems they prioritize winning over giving every student a chance. However, the academics are excellent, and the teachers are very qualified. But again, the social atmosphere is atrocious.

Memorial High School 5

Posted March 07, 2015
- a parent
We love MHS!!! Teachers go above and beyond for their students. School has strong PTA involvement.


Memorial High School 5

Posted December 16, 2014
- a student
Awesome School. Both students and faculty/ staff are good. I had no problems in MHS. Go Stangs!! -MHS graduate

Memorial High School 1

Posted December 11, 2014
- a student
What is up with the amount of former students who have recently passed away or committed suicide. Is it normal for me at 22, to not to be able to count on both hands the number of peers who have died? The Memorial Pressure Cooker is very real.

Memorial High School 4

Posted June 19, 2014
- a student
Demographics have a lot of explanatory power when it comes to what goes on at Memorial. Rich, primarily white neighborhood + some African-American and Hispanics + decent Asian population = the social stratification at Memorial. I took the most rigorous course-load available at Memorial and actually never knew about the drugs/partying/sex going on, although the bubble isn't as much an "AP bubble" as it is a "people who don't want to get involved in stuff bubble." Teachers and facilities are great (thanks to $$$). Admin likes to spend a good portion of it on football (white people). Academics are great (Asians + whites; not much URM representation in high-level classes; low-level classes = rich white kids + poor white kids + whitewashed Asians + URMs). Administration is kind of spotty and the counselors didn't turn out to be useful. Overall, Memorial's the perfect feeder for UT and A&M. In 2014, we sent 81 graduates to UT (around 1.1% of their incoming freshmen) and 59 to Texas A&M (0.6%). There is some decent HYPMS/Ivy+/top private representation in results and the UCs and other really good public schools are also in there. HOWEVER the opportunity structure is geared toward UT.


Memorial High School 1

Posted May 17, 2014
- a community member
Honestly a terrible school to send you kid to academically good but I went to memorial high school and left junior year due to drug addiction and I am saying everyone I know that goes there or has went there has became addicted to drugs or ancohol and it might seem great while you are a mustang but everyone is about getting messed up and partying all the time like how I was before treatment for 6 months and the kids build problems that sink the In a even deeper hole they cannot get out of take it from someone who had the school spirit and went through all the stuff allot quicker than most kids but can still see 99% of all the students are going through the same addictive and destructive path that will just be worse in the long run

Memorial High School 2

Posted April 03, 2014
- a student
I just graduated from MHS (2013) and I am GLAD TO BE OUT OF THERE. Academically speaking, the school was great and I feel like it did a wonderful job in preparing me for college. Most of the faculty are great and past teachers have become friends. My GPA was an A average, but because it is so competitive, I was at the bottom of the 25% (competitiveness isn't a bad thing depending on the situation). However as a social environment, it was THE WORST. The lack of diversity made me feel very out of place and there were many thinly-veiled discriminatory remarks being made. Never before have I seen such a blatant sense of entitlement and lack of understanding/empathy for others who are not as well-off. Everyone just automatically assumes that the rest of the world is like them and therefor there's no excuse to complain about inequality. Being frank, if your child is a person of color, I would seriously rethink going to Memorial - there are other good high schools out there. I don't know if enduring 4 years of such a social environment (aka the 'Memorial Bubble' ) was worth it. PS The new principal seems to always be off campus. They should find someone else.

Memorial High School 1

Posted October 25, 2013
- a community member
This school while being in metropolitan Houston, has NO person of color in faculty, support staff, nursing, administration, PTA, etc. The school likes to keep it that way and that attitude spills over into academics. If you are not white, your child will be systematically put at a disadvantage in every way possible. Stay as far away from this school as possible for the academic and emotional health of your child.


Memorial High School 5

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
My high school was so wonderful because, I learning always new things and new work.

Memorial High School 2

Posted October 05, 2013
- a student
Everyone at Memorial is so genuine and down to earth! -Said no one ever. If you want your child to go through an exorbitant amount of social and academic pressure, then by all means send them to memorial!! The majority of the honors classes teachers are phenomenal and truly want the best for the kids. The ADVANCED classes are intellectually stimulating, unfortunately the same cannot be said for the grade level ones. The stereotypes of this school are in place for a reason. The social hierarchy determines how you are treated by fellow students. Good luck getting an ounce of respect if you're not at the top. The administration caters to the wealthy students, there is no doubt about that. Just recently a cheating incident on a final involving 50+ students resulted in a total of 0 repercussions because said students parents' social standing and connections. As a senior, I am thankful for my years here because it has taught me a lot about myself, but I would not send my children here for the world. If you're kid isn't one of the "beautiful people" I suggest you reevaluate your high school options.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Memorial High School
935 Echo Lane, Houston, TX  77024
(713) 251-2500
Last modified Memorial High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Memorial High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top