Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Houston, TX
Students enrolled: 820

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Spring Oaks Middle School 1

Posted December 28, 2014
- a community member
I am a student that attends at SOMS and I must say that this school is unsatisfactory. The students here are disobedient towards teachers, we get about 30% out of 100% of the assignments that were planned for the school day done, and honestly the teachers are lacking in their teaching abilities and dominance over the class. In this school I'd be considered an exceedingly well rounded student, but up North in New York my skills are considered average. To anyone who is reading this review and thinking of sending your kids to this school, I'd highly reconsider your decision.

Spring Oaks Middle School 5

Posted August 26, 2011
- a parent
I was an advocate of private shools until my children attended the SBISD public school system. Spring Oaks Middles School is a pleasant gift to this community. Dr. Sablatura(principal) is amazing for the students and staff. They keep a keen eye on how each students' progress and are college oriented in motivating students form an early age. I am pleasantly surprised and love how the school maintains a strict grip on the students. Keeps everyone on their toes.


Spring Oaks Middle School 1

Posted March 09, 2011
- a community member
the school looks good, but is that what they all do? i now someone who go's their and she said they just want them to look good for the other schools. The teachers are will but they don't really give them any freedom.

Spring Oaks Middle School 1

Posted March 08, 2011
- a community member
i am a student there and i don't think of it really good of the school. the teachers are OK but they all they care about is to look good for the school bored. they barley care what we think.

Spring Oaks Middle School 5

Posted April 23, 2009
- a student
i love soms. ihave had a lot of elestives and all of them are just great!!!my favorite is choir because the teacher there is raelly nice and funny. i hope i have choir next yeart again!!!!


Spring Oaks Middle School 1

Posted September 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Spring Oaks Middle School 4

Posted January 03, 2007
- a parent
The choir director is exceptional at SOMS. My daughter attends this school because of the high quality of the music program. Theater is another great addition. They have excellent plays.

Spring Oaks Middle School 5

Posted August 05, 2006
- a parent
I am a parent of SOMS and my son is a very sensitive person, but this school has help him to become more independent and more mature. His personality is changing to a responsible and a leader for the future of this country. He loves his school and he is very happy. As a parent I feel he is safe and learning to his highest abilities. I just wanted to thank all the teachers and staff to make SOMS one of the best school in springbranchisd. God bless all of you in SOMS. Keep up the good work. Sincerely, one of your parents.


Spring Oaks Middle School 5

Posted November 28, 2005
- a parent
SOMS has consistently shown they are an effective school....teachers are professional,caring, and prepared, administrators are realistic, and principal is visible and involved

Spring Oaks Middle School 2

Posted April 28, 2005
- a administrator
SOMS has seen both good and bad years. Most recently, the focus on academic success has improved the campus overall. The love, pride, and committment from the staff has been noteworthy and is something in which they should be proud.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Spring Oaks Middle School
2150 Shadowdale Drive, Houston, TX  77043
(713) 251-4800
Last modified Spring Oaks Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Spring Oaks Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top