Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Thornwood Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted December 08, 2015
- a community member
Her science teacher keeps her interested and she really likes that class a lot. The other classes, she likes too but the reading class is slow because the other students don't read as well and she gets bored because she is ahead of them.

Thornwood Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 08, 2015
- a community member
No issues with this, although, her homework seems easy and she does not feel challenged. She breezes through it, which I guess is a good thing, because she is smart.


Thornwood Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted December 08, 2015
- a community member
Maybe developing a determination as far as to trying to ignore mean bullies and feeling terrible about yourself all while maintaining good grades.

Thornwood Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted December 08, 2015
- a community member
This school has absolutely not developed any respect amongst the students from what we have experienced.

Thornwood Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted December 08, 2015
- a community member
EMPATHY? Compassion? caring?? absolutely not in this case with my child. I've already explained it so here it is again. My daughter feels so bad about going to school everyday and she is a mostly all A student. No one cares about her, she has not one friend, the counselor does not make anyone apologize for how they treat her and she is way out numbered by these mean girls who just beat down her self esteem. So, no. This has gone on since September and now it is December and its only gotten worse. If anyone really cared, they would have put a stop to it in the beginning of the school year when I first brought it to their attention the second week of school.


Thornwood Elementary School 5

Posted January 15, 2015
- a parent
We recently moved in this area and my daughter is attending 2nd grade in this school. First of all thanks a lot to Jessica and school front desk for their flexibility to make the whole admission process as smooth as possible. The very first day of the school School Principal Mrs. Austin also personally introduced herself to us. The same day evening , we met with my daughter school teacher and she explained us everything very precisely. My daughter is bringing a lot of homework and her school teacher is highly involved with her. My daughter is also very happy with school music teacher, cafeteria and other students interaction. Overall we had a good head start and can not wait to accomplish this school year in Thornwood elementary.

Thornwood Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2011
- a parent
Both of my kids attended Thronwood, it is good to know that some of the same teachers are still there. It says alot about those teachers and the school. My kids are in their mid 20's and is doing very well for themselves. They got their early education there I love all the teachers. I truly miss those concerts and fund raisers. Teachers played a very important part in the kids formative years. So, I want to say kudos to Thornwood, You gave my kids a GREAT start.

Thornwood Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2011
- a parent
I can't say enough good things about Thornwood and its faculty. The curriculum the teachers offer has our children discussing these topics at the dinner table. Our children are encouraged to read everyday which I feel has led to their excellent grades. When it comes to safety, Thornwood has established a no bully policy and also screens individuals who come into the school as visitors. Staff cooperates with each other to ensure the safety of our children. They have also trained students to react to different emergency situations in any case if one should arise. Teachers have contstant communication with the parents on their students progress and have the option to either call or email the teacher when there are concerns. The technology that is used in the classrooms creates a fun learning atmospere which also prepares our children in this computer age. Family movie night encourages the community to have fun which proceeds are used to fund Thornwood school supplies. Lastly I was able to participate and chaperone my daughters field trip which was great fun and a wonderful learning experience. Keep up the great work Thornwood.


Thornwood Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2011
- a parent
The teachers and staff are very friendly, curtoeus and knowledgeable. My son is in the second grade and every teacher he has had has been able to communicate with me via email or a scheduled meeting. It has been helpful to communicate on a daily basis via email.

Thornwood Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2011
- a parent
My Kids transfer from an Alief school to SBISD, Thornwood Elementary School. My kids love the school and are very happy with their Teachers. Mrs. Aguilar is my daugter's second grade teacher and she is GREAT! Today we went on a fieldtrip and It was a lot of fun. Will definately recomend this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thornwood Elementary School
14400 Fern Drive, Houston, TX  77079
(713) 251-7300
Last modified Thornwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thornwood Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top