Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westfield High School

Public | 9-12 | 3218 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

44 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 2, 2007

I have a foster daughter that attends Westfield. I have to say that I am disappointed in the quality of education she recieves. I think it has a lot to do with discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2007

As a parent of a 05 grad and a current junior who came from a small private christian school, this has been a great real world experience. Both of them have exceeded my expectations. It has been wonderful. The teachers are well prepared and caring. Band program is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2007

I am a student at WHSNGC. The academics could be better, especially if most teachers actually cared. I think out of all my classes, only two or three of them were good. The only good things about WHS is the Band, and the Football team. The closer it gets to the end of the school year, the more violent they get.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2007

I am a teacher at Westfield, but there is no category for that on this website. I wanted to share my opinion: a school is only as good as its leader. The principal is the head of the school...she or he sets the tone, mood, attitude, and overall faculty 'spirit' each school year. How I teach doesn't change according to the principal, but how we all work together to achieve an overall positive learning environment does change according to the principal. I think that is what makes the difference in the hallways, cafeteria, and other common areas where fights take place. We have to work together and the kids have to feel we are all for one and one for all...not everyone for themselves. If they are not careful, soon even the teachers who love to teach (like me) will soon leave. I love WHS.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 1, 2007

I have a 2004 graduate and a future 2008 graduate coming out of Westfield. The school is there for a purpose, that is to teach..not to babysit students whose parents on not on the ball monitoring their children. Teachers can only be as good as allowed when they don't have to policing the students. I've never had problems there, have always been able to receive immediate assistance with any situation big or small and I definitely keep up with my current child's progress because I call and I registered to receive the info online. I email the teachers and they respond immediately.I definitely believe there should be more control in keeping students in the classroom but again that goes back to the parents - know what your child is doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2006

I am a student at Westfield and I feel safe everyday.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2006

There is nothing wrong with Westfield High School it just depends on the crownd your child hangs out with. There is alot of diffrent extra curriculr activites the we can do. The principals are doing all they can. Now and days the there are teachers in the hallways everyclass period and I know I am safe.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2006

I am currently trying to do everything possible to get my son out of Westfield. This school has been on a landslide decline over the past few years. There are several different gangs at the school and the faculty seems to be afraid of them. There is no discipline and the traffic in the hallways during classes is comparable to a busy mall and is full of students skipping classes. The principal's office must have a revolving door since they can't seem to keep one there. Would not recommend this school to anyone who has any concern for their child's safety. What has happened to the faculty/parents running the schools rather than the gangs?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2006

There is no leadership or feed back to parents/ whenever I try to speak with someone about my child it takes forever if and when I do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

I have a daughter and niece that goes to Westfield and I like the fact that I can log on and see their progress, and if I have any questions, I can email the counselor, teacher, or principal, and get a reply the same day. Their is a lot to keep the students involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2005

Westield High School is a great school with many programs for students to involve themselves in. It is a majority minority school, but the district has maintained it abd provides all students equal access to technology and programs. The surrounding community of Westfield has undergone many changes over the last several years, as a result the school must constantly keep up with change. The administration and faculty of Westfield work tirelessly to ensure student needs are met.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

Over all its a good school, nothing too fancy but your child(ren) will have fun, it just depends if you like a varity of people.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2005

My child atteded the 9th Grade Center at Westfield HS last year. I could not be happier with his experience. The teachers there were very consistant in their helping the students follow all the campus rules. They seemed to be not only supportive of the students but worked very well as a team. My son learned a great deal not only what was in the books but a lot about how to be a good productive citizen. I hope the center stays. It is a great assest to the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2005

I feel that Westfield High School strives to do the very best for students. Given the fact that they are over populated and students often come and go as they do, it is quite amazing how sucessful thye are.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted July 26, 2005

Westfield is a good school, with a great football, basketball, volleyball, and band programs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 19, 2005

Academics good if in advanced classes. Mediocre otherwise. Band program superior. Parent involvement mediocre unless in band, then high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2005

Large classes with many trouble makers. High level drug use(even during school hours in school). Students will pass if they show up to class. Usually teachers hand out free grades in on level classes. Students here have no future.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 11, 2004

I got my degree and then I graduated at Westfield. They helped me and my baby. Westfield has very good day care for student's babys and it is free. And the food is good to. The teachers are very good and do the best they can about crime. I would recommend to go to Westfield to all my friends.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 15, 2004

Westfield High School is great! The parent involvement is great, the extracurricular activities are all award winning, and this school is very diversed and has dedicated teachers who want to teach your child everything they need to know! So if you are thinking about moving out here to the Spring Independent School District and sending your child to Westfield, than I highly recommend it! This school is truly a place to learn and to achieve your childs goals whatever they may be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2004

Westfield High School is a great school! I know that becausse I attentd Westfield High School. The principals and teachers are awesome!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

928 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

912 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

796 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

769 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

771 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

773 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

651 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

650 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

647 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

646 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female94%
Male90%
Black or African American93%
Asian92%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Special education60%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students83%
Female86%
Male80%
Black or African American81%
Asian92%
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Special education38%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students92%
Female93%
Male92%
Black or African American89%
Asian96%
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Special education54%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female99%
Male98%
Black or African American97%
Asian98%
Hispanic99%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged98%
Special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Unacceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

680 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

840 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

613 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

785 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
43%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

831 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
24%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

732 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
94%
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

753 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
77%
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

414 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
40%
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
27%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

634 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
87%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

794 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

809 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students68%
Female67%
Male68%
Black or African American66%
Asian87%
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special education22%
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%
Gifted/talented79%
Non-Gifted67%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students96%
Female96%
Male96%
Black or African American99%
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented96%
Non-Gifted96%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students78%
Female79%
Male78%
Black or African American76%
Asian97%
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education34%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)52%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Gifted/talented98%
Non-Gifted74%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students78%
Female85%
Male71%
Black or African American73%
Asian91%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education10%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)64%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Gifted/talented96%
Non-Gifted74%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students48%
Female53%
Male44%
Black or African American44%
Asian59%
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Special education15%
Not special education50%
Limited English proficient (LEP)13%
Proficient in English52%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant48%
Gifted/talented85%
Non-Gifted47%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students24%
Female28%
Male21%
Black or African American21%
Asian32%
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White28%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged26%
Special education0%
Not special education26%
Limited English proficient (LEP)8%
Proficient in English26%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant24%
Gifted/talented50%
Non-Gifted23%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students65%
Female71%
Male59%
Black or African American65%
Asian77%
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Special education11%
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)27%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant65%
Gifted/talented91%
Non-Gifted62%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students30%
Female36%
Male25%
Black or African American26%
Asian62%
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged36%
Special education0%
Not special education33%
Limited English proficient (LEP)5%
Proficient in English32%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%
Gifted/talented57%
Non-Gifted27%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Students70%
Female76%
Male62%
Black or African American62%
Asian93%
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Special educationn/a
Not special education70%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Gifted/talented96%
Non-Gifted53%

English III Writing

All Students84%
Female89%
Male77%
Black or African American82%
Asian91%
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented88%
Non-Gifted75%

Geometry

All Students79%
Female81%
Male77%
Black or African American74%
Asian95%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education24%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)72%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Gifted/talented94%
Non-Gifted77%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students71%
Female68%
Male74%
Black or African American67%
Asian95%
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special education30%
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)32%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Gifted/talented96%
Non-Gifted66%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students56%
Female60%
Male54%
Black or African American50%
Asian88%
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Special education13%
Not special education60%
Limited English proficient (LEP)34%
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant57%
Gifted/talented90%
Non-Gifted51%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 47% 13%
Hispanic 41% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 6% 4%
White 5% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 7%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 5%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • STEVE KINNEY
Fax number
  • (281) 891-7131

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16713 Ella Boulevard
Houston, TX 77090
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 891-7132

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT