Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Houston, TX
Students enrolled: 240
 

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Assumption Catholic School 2

Posted May 31, 2015
- a teacher
the years 2013-2015 were the worst I has since. And it was hard to watch it go downhill.

Assumption Catholic School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted May 31, 2015
- a teacher
First of all,they had no college degrees nor were they certified.For those particular individuals it was their 1st time in the classroom.


Assumption Catholic School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a teacher
As stated before,students were not encouraged to strive . The school set low expectations.Unbelieveable as it is,it is true.

Assumption Catholic School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a teacher
How can it when they don't encourage the student to excel. Moral is low.the students even sense it. Actually they look depressed.

Assumption Catholic School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a teacher
The principal frequently yells at the kids.I witnessed this. She never called them by their name.


Assumption Catholic School 5

Posted May 18, 2015
- a teacher
This is has been the best school I have worked at. The Principal is a great Principal. The teacher show great leadership and they care about the kids. Its better than ST. Rose. The teachers really teach these kids. The test scores are at a good place but could be higher. Only if the kids would study at home. I would recommend this school to any parent. The atmosphere is very great. The students here are awesome.

Assumption Catholic School 1

Posted April 27, 2015
- a parent
Not all Catholic schools are created equal...turns out that St. Rose's benchmarks are a lot higher than Assumptions' benchmarks (for the same grade levels) or maybe Assumption benchmarks are not being met, either way students from Assumption are not being educated with the same care than those student who attend St. Rose...Trapped because Assumption is better than HISD but worse than St. Rose...and kids cant test in to St. Rose due to Assumptions lower bench marks....... as a parent its a difficult situation to be in...
1 person found this helpful

Assumption Catholic School 4

Posted January 18, 2015
- a parent
There are a lot of changes going on at the school, I'd say for the better. I think enrollment is going to go up once more people hear about the school. A lot of new teachers came in, especially in the junior high. Some parents are angry because suddenly their kids aren't doing well, but I'm glad our kids are actually getting prepared for high school for a change, even if it means they actually have to work.


Assumption Catholic School 1

Posted October 18, 2014
- a community member
New principal came in, 9 out of 18 teachers quit the same year. Enrollment is down to 200 over the 9 grade levels. Sports teams are failing, test scores below average, massive debt to the archdiocese. The new junior-high religion teacher has zero qualifications or experience.
3 people found this helpful

Assumption Catholic School 4

Posted July 14, 2009
- a parent
If some parents are not happy because their kids are behind their academics after Seton...I think you parents need to teach your children diligence. Seton is a great school...Administration...can't complain, I have two children currently attending Seton, and and my eldest is an alumni of Seton now attending a very prestigious Catholic High School and so far excelling in his academics.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Assumption Catholic School
801 Roselane Street, Houston, TX  77037
(281) 447-2132
Last modified Assumption Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Assumption Catholic School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top