Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Agnes Academy School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Houston

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $93,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2013

The quality of teaching seems inconsistent. Perhaps what is needed is more Interactive teaching and active learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2013

St agnes is a great school and prepares you for your future by making you a well-rounded student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2012

Unfortunately, I was only a student at St. Agnes for one year before my family was relocated to another city. However, I can honestly tell you that that one year at St. Agnes was the most incredible year of my life. The teachers are outstanding, and they make you look forward to their classes each and every day. Even though, yes, the majority of my time at SAA was spent stressing non-stop over my classes, I wouldn't trade my time there for anything, especially after leaving and being forced to realize that there truly is no place like St. Agnes anywhere else in the world. I'm at a great school, and I love the people here, but St. Agnes is completely on another level in the way the faculty interact with the students, the amount of school pride and spirit every girl has, and the intellectually stimulating environment that is provided. Every day there I was in awe of the girls around me in my classes, and we all came to know and love one another in a way that was truly like we were sisters. This is without a doubt the most amazing place you could ever go for high school, and I fully recommend it to anyone who is willing to do the work.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2011

I am a senior at SAA this year. I actually do love my school. I have some complaints, but the school itself, I love. I think anyone can flourish here. I love the environment of school spirit and sisterhood. I also cannot talk about how amazing the teachers are, they are all extremely intelligent and devoted to teaching us (I mean, you kinda have to be to be willing to teach for less money than public school teachers get- although they say its cuz they love us). The administration knows what they're doing, and the college counselors are a big help- especially now- Senior year! The only complaints I have is the math placement system: there are 4 different levels so by senior year the highest placing students are in calc bc, the next in h pre-cal, then calc ab, then all the regular classes, so some people can't even take calc their senior year, even though they placed higher. Also sometimes the stress is too overwhelming- but you get over it- I'm really good at time management now
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2010

I went to this school for 4 years and I loved! The only thing I didn't like was that we were limited if we wanted to pursue more advanced classes than our peers. Sr. Jane Meyer though is the perfect example for young women and this school deserves a 10 out of 10 for turning out confident thoughtful women.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 11, 2009

I am currently a senior at St. Agnes Academy. This school has changed my life. When I came in as a freshman, I was a typical 14 year old girl; I was terribly self conscious and a bit shy. St. Agnes has provided an environment that encourages me to develop educated opinions and voice them confidently. I am inspired everyday not only by the faculty and staff (who are phenomenal), but also by the amazing students. I've heard people outside of St. Agnes criticize the all-gil thing, but I think it's actually really helpful. Everyone feels less-self conscious about speaking in class, and the boys from Strake Jesuit share some classes and are allowed on campus at lunch. I would recommend St. Agnes in a heartbeat to anyone. I know I'll be graduating not only very well prepared for college, but also a confident, well rounded individual.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2009

I am a student at SAA and I have to say St. Agnes is definetley not what they appear to be. I was expecting a school that would truly prepare me for the future and make me a better more well rounded person but St. agnes hasnt done that. They misplace students into the wrong classes based on 'placement tests ' and theirdecisions are final. Creating an academic curriculum for a student based on only one test makes no sense. They are almost inactive when it comes to extracurricular activities. No one placed in the science fair at city, your forced to do orchestra/band afterschool not as a class which means your ability to particiate in other activities is completley cut off, theyre clubs are unorganized and you dont really have time to do much other than memorize facts and cram. Thats all SAA is, a long cram session. completley usesless.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2008

St. Agnes is an amazing college prep school. An alum myself, I cannot begin to express to you the enormous effect the school has had on my life. I watched many of my peers in college struggle, some of whom went to the best public schools in the city. It was a breeze for me (and I had an average GPA at SAA). I now have a wonderful business career, a small side venture of my own and a beautiful family. St. Agnes gives you the confidence to go and make a name for yourself in a competative world. I am eternally grateful to my parents for the sacrifices they made to send me there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

St. Agnes has excellent teachers, curriculum, hard-working students and a great technology program. In addition almost the entire school will be remodeled by the beginning of the 08-09 school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2007

Great school! All the girls are highperforming and competative. My daughter has learned so much in so little time. I wish my older daughter had attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

My daughter attended St. Agnes, because her brother attended Strake Jesuit. She wanted to go to Katy HS with her friends, but we asked her to attend St. Agnes for one year. Having graduated from St. Agnes and UT at Austin, she is well-educated, confident, independent, and cares about others. I know and appreciate that my daughter graduated from an oustanding high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

Great school! Our daughter absolutely loves it. The honors and AP classes are college level from the beginning. They demand alot from the girls, but prepare them to be independent and successful. Never thought our daughter would be able to handle it being all girls, but the boys from Strake Jesuit are right next door and come over for lunch and they share some classes. Can't say enough about the administration and teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2007

I had to give the questions asked the highest marks - the honors are classes are college level curriculum . They are very careful about who they place in those classes though. College will be easy after this!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2006

Excellent school if you want your daughter to go to college. Rigorous curriculum demands a lot from each girl.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2004

My daughter is a freshman at St. Agnes and we have been very pleased with the experience thus far. They work really hard to help the freshman girls fit in. I have to say, what sold me on St. Agnes to begin with was that every girl I met over the past few years who was a student at St. Agnes really impressed me with her intelligence, confidence and poise. It's a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I am a senior at st. agnes, I attended it all four years of highschool. it is a wonderful learning envirnment with an extremely challenging curriculum. it promotes community among the students as well as the faculty. the teachers are always willing to help or give advice on anything, whether school related or not. I'm really fortunate that st. agnes is where I chose to get my highschool education, I believe that it will prepare me tremendously for college.


Posted September 9, 2003

st. agnes provides a college prep curriculum. and has wonderful, award winning teachers. Having all girls lets the girls have a very comfortable environment, but not isolated from boys(there is the all boys school strake jesuit next door and they share some classes with st. agnes)


Posted August 19, 2003

I am a student at SAA, a senior to be exact. I absolutely love it! I can't see myself anywhere else.


Posted August 11, 2003

My daughter transferred in from another private out of state private school in her Junior year. I wish she had been able to be there 4 years! Great faculty, participating parents, high expectations for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 31%
Hispanic 19% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 10% 4%
Black 6% 13%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Galveston-Houston
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9000 Bellaire Boulevard
Houston, TX 77036
Phone: (713) 219-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Yes Prep - West
Houston, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT