Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Parents, Thank you so much for the support your give to St. Augustine Catholic School!! Together we can continue to make St. Augustine Catholic School a great place for all students. Inspired Learning. Inspired Living.
March 18, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Augustine Catholic School - Houston 1

Posted June 01, 2015
- a teacher
The high turn over of educators speaks for itself. Any involved parent that knows anything about education should be able to recognize that the principal is no longer at HISD for a reason.

St. Augustine Catholic School - Houston
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 01, 2015
- a teacher
Effective but not valued. The school board is made up of parents of students. This is a violation of the boards bylaws. Some parents can be bullys and lack respect when it comes to the teachers. The teachers work as hard as public school teachers yet their salaries are inexcusable. The unfortunate fact is that not all of the teachers are paid the same. In a secular setting ALL of the teachers are paid the same salaries.


St. Augustine Catholic School - Houston
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 01, 2015
- a teacher
This is best developed in sports. SACS sports program and/or lack thereof is laughable. STH and many other prestigious Catholic schools came to SACS for games and there was no where to sit. That is unacceptable.

St. Augustine Catholic School - Houston
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
Favoritism is evident concerning students from certain families.. Honor Roll status has become a joke..

St. Augustine Catholic School - Houston 2

Posted October 20, 2014
- a parent
Why wasn't the kitchen ready when school started in Aug? We've waited two months and are running out of patience. The principal should have seen to it that the upgrades were completed over the summer. We're tired of the excuses.
2 people found this helpful


St. Augustine Catholic School - Houston 1

Posted March 28, 2014
- a parent
The school continues to go down hill with under the current administration. Lots of promises with no results. It is so sad to see this happening. Unfortunately the board and the priest are not doing anything to prevent the students from academic failure.
1 person found this helpful

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Parents, Thank you so much for the support your give to St. Augustine Catholic School!! Together we can continue to make St. Augustine Catholic School a great place for all students. Inspired Learning. Inspired Living.
Posted March 18, 2014

St. Augustine Catholic School - Houston 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
Awesome school! I am so pleased with the well rounded education my children are receiving at St. Augustine! I am one proud parent when my children come home and share their day, and lead prayer at dinner time or before bed. Not only are they growing academically and spiritually, the school offers a variety of extracurricular activities and anciallary classes that are a great way for them to grow socially and personally. As it says on the wall of the gym, Cougar Pride never dies! I would recommend St. Augustine to everyone!


St. Augustine Catholic School - Houston 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
I am so very pleased with the staff and the leadership at St. Augustine. When I visited the school recently it was awesome to see all of the art work and activities the students have worked on displayed outside the doors of the classrooms. The fall festival which recently took place was a wonderful experience, everyone from children to grandparents were enjoying the games, rides and food. The education my daughter is receiving is by far the most rewarding. She comes home with just enough homework and is excited to tell us what she learned. It s most gratifying to hear her sing songs she learned in her class. This school is a huge blessing to the students parents and the community. The teachers and staff are always so accommodating and always seem to have an answer for me, and if they don't they will find it and inform me as soon as they can. The principle is always so welcoming. I have dropped by unannounced and even though it is preferred that I make an appointment first, Mrs. Rios has never turned me away and is always so knowledgeable on whatever items I bring up. I was impressed on my first visit to the school and have not been let down since. Thank you St. Augustine :-)!

St. Augustine Catholic School - Houston 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
The new principal at St. Augustine has taken what has been a "broken" school system with complacent staff and faculty and turned into a very well organized institution with one common objective. There is no more division among the staff and teachers and there is a breath of fresh air with all the new ideas and innovation that is happening in the school. The school is close to full capacity which reflects the positive leadership at the school. This is a change that was very much needed. I'm excited and proud to be a part of St. Augustine Catholic School!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Augustine Catholic School - Houston
5500 Laurel Creek Way, Houston, TX  77017
(713) 946-9050
Last modified St. Augustine Catholic School - Houston is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Augustine Catholic School - Houston Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top