Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Christopher Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Houston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $77,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, October 23, 2014

Tuition is not transparent, booker gives different rates to different families (with/out PSAS)- every year "tuition raises". To pay higher tuition,the quality of education should be of the same or higher than HISD. Mexico degrees/education should be Mexico tuition rate. Besides tuition due every month there is raffle tickets and other tickets due almost every month-School is all about MONEY. Please research and ask for staff and teacher qualifications, continuing education and degree education;when I did it was to late & I was extremely disappointed. Some teachers are used to the same routine of previous years; therefore they refuse to change ways of teaching.~ Every child is different in learning and understanding, teacher playing fish games on computer will not teach a child. Projects are due the next day without consideration of parents work schedule.-personal experience~ Principal shows more interest in uniforms than quality of education. Parents were not notified of teacher being out sick for days; leaving a parent babysitting the class when they should be learning. School needs new staff, teachers and principal. There is other catholic school in the same area explorer them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2014

We been involved with this school for many years, I would not waste my child(s) precious time... Even staff knows the truth, very sad. Zero stars if I could..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2014

My son has attended this school for 5 years. Now my daughter is attending...We've had ups and downs but everything has always been communicated. We love the school and the staff. My son has loving classmates and has never experienced any type of bullying...we're keeping both of our kids there until they graduate. . If parents complain, then it s just plain and simple participate more with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2012

I love this school! My three children have been attending St. Christopher. My oldest child will be graduating from 8th grade this May. She will truly miss this school. We love the rigorous academic program here and most of all, the religion classes. The principal, staff, and teachers are very caring. They know every single child by name and everyone is part of this great family. St. Chistopher has provided my children with a quality religious education and has instilled in them high moral values. I would definetely recommend this school to other families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

I had a very dissapointing experience in this school. Other than it being very cheap and making you sell raffle tickets, the teachers only cared about themselves and, if you were behind on something, you are in trouble, because the teachers never tutored. You are expected to understand everything, which is no big deal. The really troubling thing was that you were to attend church on Wednesday, and if you're in, you're not going out. I vomited in the restroom and had to wait a half hour until church was finished. If you want your child to be in this school because its "great" but aren't into religion, do yourself a big favor and go to the school further down park place.


Posted November 23, 2010

This is my son's 2nd yr, he is in 1st grade. We love the higher curriculum standards & early theology lessons. Being an only child we love the difference we have seen in his self esteem & building sound Christian relationships with his classmates. Staff is very caring and conscious about every child. We will do everything in our power to keep him there until 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2009

My 2 daughter's attend this school and it is wonderful. We are all like a family. Teachers are great and so are the children. I love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

I am so glad that i found this school....it's only five minutes from my job and the staff is wonderful. They participate in great fundraising activities that keep the chidren and most importantly the parents involved. My only bad feeling about the school is the mandatory collection of box tops and selling of raffel tickets. Aside from that the uniforms are highly priced but okay quality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2004

My son just started Pre-K3 in the fall of 2003. The teachers and staff made me feel very comfortable leaving my son for the first time. The staff knows each student's and parent's name. Everyone is very friendly. Most of the parents are very involved in the fundraisers and with any activity being held. My child has gone on 2 field trips so far to see plays which he absolutely loved. I had no idea a 3 year old would like going to plays. I would recommend this school 100%.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 79% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 13% 4%
White 4% 31%
Black 3% 13%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (713) 649-1104

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Galveston-Houston
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8134 Park Place Boulevard
Houston, TX 77017
Phone: (713) 649-0009

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT