Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Jerome School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Houston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $135,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

My son moved from CyFair schools to St. Jerome for many reasons. His grades have gone from C's and D's to A's and B's. He loves the new friends he has made, as well as the encouraging and loving teachers and staff. I couldn't have found a better school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

St. Jerome offers a wonderful family atmosphere. The teachers truly care for the children and work hard to keep their classes challenging and engaging. The students are respectful and happy. My sister moved my nephew and niece here from public school last fall and they have both flourished academically and socially at St. Jerome. I love the diversity of families in this school. It doesn't have the "upper crust" stigma that many private schools can have that can be intimidating to some families and students that just want a good education and Catholic teaching. St. Jerome welcomes everyone with open arms and the students are ALL loved, respected and taught the same. I have truly been blessed to have the opportunity to teach in this school and to work with such an outstanding administration. I look forward to having my own child join the school next year.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 4, 2014

St. Jerome Catholic School is a small family community, you feel right at home. The class sizes are small. Come get a tour and see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

St. Jerome is a Christian based, family oriented amazing school. We truly feel at home, loved and welcomed. The staff and other parents are so friendly and helpful. The curriculum, attention to our needs and extra curricular activities are just a few of the reasons we came here 4 years ago and have been overjoyed with our choice every single day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

Very please with this school my daughter is surround by amazing Teachers that truly care about the students!! Mrs. DelMoral is such a great kindergarten teacher and is si de octaves to her class!! Teachers and staff are top notch! The principal is beyond involved! Never have I heard of a principal that truly build relationship with the families and takes time to personal call or respond to emails. HIGHLY RECOMMEND! My daughter has attend since early childhood development and I wouldn't want to be anywhere else!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

After a very bad experience at another school St. Jerome has been really Heaven sent. My kids love the school, I love the school and my kids are flourishing here. The teachers have a lot of experience and treat the kids with kindness and respect while helping us, the parents, educate and form our kids academically and socially. I love that my kids receive the Spiritual- Religious base that I did not know how to give them in the most natural every day way. They really enjoy it! I can not be happier that my kids attend St. Jerome, and they will for several years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

Love the fact that this school is not afraid to listen to parents and their concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

At first I was hesitant about sending my children to a private school. I wanted my children to grow up in America with all it's colors and cultures. Aside from the feeling of family I have at this school my favorite thing is it's diversity. Highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2014

This is a remarkable gem of a school! We have been affiliated with St. Jerome for over 20 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

My child recently graduated 8th grade from St. Jerome Catholic School and had attended since 15 months old. From the ECC (Early Childhood Center) all the way through Junior High, my child had great experiences. Tons of learning opportunities, weekly mass, field trips, socials and lifelong friendships. Being an alumni myself, I would not have chosen any other school than SJS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

St. Jerome School is home. What a great place to work, live, and learn! The loving nature of everyone here is refreshing. When you are here, you feel like you belong.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 28, 2013

St Jerome is a great school. The teachers and staff are friendly and helpful - like family. Both of my daughters excelled in their classes and gained a strong work ethic which they took with them to high school. More importantly, the Catholic indoctrination they received is something they will carry with them always. I highly recommend St Jerome.


Posted October 2, 2013

St. Jerome Catholic School provides a safe environment with strong academics and nurturing teachers. The school truly is a community. My sons attend and I know they are well cared for by all, not just their current year teachers. Other parents, other staff, other faculty look out for each child. All have a sense of responsibility for promoting a culture of caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

The best school ever friendly Teachers & Staff, low students with teachers ratio. good community challenging academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

Another school year completed and another happy student (and parents). We love it here. Principal truly cares about each of her students and works one-on-one with each family as necessary to ensure a collaborative and enriching environment. Kiddo has the peanut allergy too and I truly feel safe sending him to school here. Every staff member is trained on the Epipen and each are diligent on snacks. I truly feel this is a family of families working together to educate our next generation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2012

I absolutely love this school for my kids. The teachers and parents are very much involved in the school and community. The curriculum for all ages is age appropriate and also challenges the students. When comparing the curriculum of public schools with St Jerome's I really see the difference and how advanced my children are. I am also a 2nd generation Bulldog and my children absolutely love the idea that some of the teachers have been there since I was a kid!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2012

We love St. Jerome and couldn't imagine our children going anywhere else. There is such a wonderful sense of community - we are so very blessed to be a part of this Church and school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2011

Outstanding school. Oustanding atmosphere. Your kids will enjoy being here, and you will be pleased with the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

the people are great. The teachers are amazing! If your going the 5th grade next year, you will love it! Especialy,Mr.More andMr.aguilara
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2007

My daughter has been at St. Jerome since Kindergarten and now she is in eighth grade her last year at the school. I would recommend this school to anyone who is looking for a good spiritual, catholic foundation to be with your child throughout their lifetime. I never had a problem since my daughter has been there and now we must move on to high school. St. Jerome is an excellent school and I would highly recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 31%
Hispanic 35% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 13% 4%
Black 2% 13%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (713) 464-0325

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Galveston-Houston
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8825 Kempwood Drive
Houston, TX 77080
Phone: (713) 468-7946

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT