Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Pius X High School

Private | 9-12 | 670 students

Our school is best known for our Learning for Success Program.
 
 

 
 

Living in Houston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $111,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 19, 2013

Omg!!!! I completely agree with the person who just wrote that review I'm also a freshmen and almost no one from my old school went there too ya I agree some of the kids aren't nice and I thought about transferring for awhile but it's not that bad.


Posted November 10, 2013

I currently go here as a freshman. It's okay but I personally don't like it that much. The kids are mean occasionally some are nice. The school is half preppy and half ghetto, I don't fit in with either but I'm more preppy. (And I HATE when I meet people at other schools and they ask me where I go and I say "st.pius x" and they just say "ohh I heard that's ghetto" ugh) I came from a school that not many moved to pius from. So I'm defiantly thinking of transferring but I'm not sure yet. Let's see how it goes.


Posted August 26, 2009

I loved the teachers, the curriculum. Very focused on indviduals, teachers notice each student. Ranked in the middle of the class transfered to public school gpa translated to a 3.7 college was not much more challenging.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2008

I graduated from SPX last year and I have to say that it is the best thing that has ever happened to me. I am a student that has significant learning disablities however with the amazing, supportive envrionment at SPX I managed to take some of the most challaging courses the school offered and I graduated fifith in my class with a4.3 GPA!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2008

If you have a student that needs individual attention this is the place. It is a good school and you will like the teachers. But the drive will tax you if you do not live near by. Until there is a school like this on the North side, I will continue to be a road warrior!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

SPX is a wonderful school! The teaching staff is so dedicated, and my son really responded to his fullest ability to their nurturing style that really involves the student in his learning process. There is something for everyone, as it meets the needs of so many academic, athletic, artist, and social styles. The students are so friendly. The parents are very involved, and welcoming, and not snobby as at so many other private schools. The campus is continually improving. I love the focus on community and social service. The students have the same counsellor their entire 4 years, so there is consistent support, and a understanding of your child's progress. My son is very motivated, has lots of mentors, and is very well prepared for college. The only weakness I have seen is the athletic program which focusses too heavily on football.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

My daughter transferred to SPX and it was the best decision she's ever made. I knew after one day that this would be the ideal school for her. The academics are great and the school community is excellent. The kids have a tremendous about of school spirit. It's a great value.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2006

St. Pius is an excellent school. My daughter is a freshman. The faculty, staff and students offer a lot of programs for freshmen students to help them feel welcomed and get adjusted to their new high school environment. I've noticed a strong parent involvement. They also offer a lot of extracurricular activities. Tuition is a little pricey but well worth the sacrifice for a great education. - Proud SPX Mom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2005

If your into playing football, this is your school. There are some good teachers at this school with undue pressure to keep this athletic machine going. If you go on the advanced courses route, its as good as any school in Houston.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2005

St. Pius is the school of choice, if you are concerned with your child getting a stellar education in a Christian enviroment. If you can afford it, it is well worth the money and investment, in your child's future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My child loves the school. She is in 9th grade. We live 65 miles away in Conroe from the school and the drive is so worth it, for the great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My son is a sophmore at SPX. The family atmosphere is wonderful and he loves it. The staff is usually flexible while maintaining high expectations. It was a good choice for us. SPX Mom
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 31%
Hispanic 29% 51%
Black 15% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • Literary magazine
  • Marching band
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Sister Donna M. Pollard, O.P.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • SACS
  • TCC
Fax number
  • (713) 692-5725

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Individually guided instruction
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Game club
  • Literary magazine
  • Marching band
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 15, 2015

 
135
days left!
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$13000 - $13000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

811 West Donovan Street
Houston, TX 77091
Website: Click here
Phone: (713) 692-3581

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT