Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Theresa Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Houston

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $288,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

I am a long time parent with the St. Theresa Community (20+ years) and the school only tends to get better. It's on the edge of Memorial Park, cozy within a neighborhood and affordable. The school over the years has gone through it's growing pains and now the school is flourishing into a school of excellent. Everyone knows everyone, the kids are happy to be there and it's an amazing experience for the children who start as early as PreK3. My childrern are either alumni of St. Theresa or soon to be. The teachers are amazing, dedicated individuals who love teaching our children, who love to teach and who will provide the skill sets for high school, college and life. My older children continue to communicate with their grade school teachers from St. Theresa for college advice, assistance with assignments and support. At St. Theresa we are a community of faith, friendship and community service. St. Theresa is my home and the home for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

Good, little-known private Catholic school in the heart of Memorial Park. Dedicated teachers and parents, enthusiastic students and increasing number of extra-curricular activities. Overall good value.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2014

I have 4 kids at St Theresa. I have moved to Houston from abroad & have been here just over a year. Love this school. Our transition into a new country & a new school system was smooth & that speaks volumes for the community support from the families & faculty. My kids are performing really well in school. We enrolled mid year & thought the kids grades would drop due to the transition but was so happy that they were thriving at their new school. The kids at St Theresa are so friendly & welcomed my family. The school has a superb learning support teacher at St Theresa. She does so much more than is required for her students. All the teachers are fantastic. The faith formation is a big plus. As we continue to move around the world it is the faith that ground my family. The school say prayers first thing in the morning & all do the pledge of allegiance to the USA & the Texas flag everyday. The whole school attend weekly Mass & have regular visits from various RE organizations. It is a smaller school feel however St Theresa is growing & will continue to grow like their sports program. I highly recommend St Theresa. It is a hidden gem in a beautiful location right next to Memorial Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2013

I'm a former student I just graduated and I have to say this, the principle is a bully and is rude to everyone she also has no idea how to teach do your kid a favor and don't make them go there it doesn't help if your kid has a different way of learning so if they are able to keep their mouths closed so the teachers can look at emails and watch videos about random things that don't teach anything (they actually do this) then it's fine send them there but if your kid is not a socially awkward kid that doesn't do what ever his told then don't.


Posted April 2, 2013

We were so excited when our kids got accepted to St. Theresa's. Our excitement turned to dismay when we received our teacher assignments. Both teachers were well into their 50s-60s and we learned quickly that the method of teaching in both classrooms was very outdated. One of our kids rated as gifted and this school could not accommodate the more rigorous needs. If your child is middle of the road and fits neatly into a box, then this school might work for you. If your child is special in any way and you want a school that recognizes and encourages that exceptionalism or uniqueness, versus trying to mold them into the status quo, this is not the environment for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2012

We absolutely love this school. The teachers are dedicated, and the current principal is a wonderful leader. She's supportive of both her parents/students and her staff. I pray she stays! We couldn't have asked for a better school for our daughter. We plan to send her and the rest of our children to St. Theresa's through the 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

Our 1st grade daughter attended St. Theresa's this year; unfortunately, we had to move back to San Antonio and were unable to complete the school year. Our experience at St. Theresa's was all positive. The principal is bright, energetic, and cares deeply about each student there. The teachers are happy and enthusiastic about teaching; their positive attitudes are evident because the children are so happy. I am a speech-language pathologist and provided free speech screenings for the 3-5 year olds and also worked with some of the elementary teachers to help with modifications to assist a few students. I was most impressed with the teachers with whom I worked; they were already implementing great strategies to help all of the children and were so open to trying anything new to help the students learn successfully. Overall, school is fun, the atsmosphere is positive, and I just wish we could replicate this school in San Antonio. My daughter was accepted to other "prestigious" private schools and I initially worried about my decision to send her to St. Theresa's. I am SO glad I did...it is truly an amazing place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

This school could be so great. but its not. They have had three principals in 3 yrs. The one there now is very trutthful about anything. Good teachers who stick with it!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 21, 2010

This school has had several principals in the past two years. the principal there now is questionable. The sports are outstandin even for a small school. The best soccer and basketball team in the diocese, even for a smalls school, 150 students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

St. Theresa has proved to be an excellent school. Originally, we were going to place our daughter in a top notch public school, but due to overcrowding, the school she was intended to go to had no room. The school the district wanted to send her to was way below our expectations. After careful research, we selected St. Theresa's. The teachers and staff provide excellent care, time, dedication, and academic needs. My daughter was even accepted into the Vanguard program at Briargrove and TH Rogers, but we decided keeping her here would serve to her academic and social benefit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

This is a school on the edge of greatness. My child has attended 3 years, and it gets better and better! He is learning things in 6th grade that children we know at other schools do not learn until 8th grade. The teachers are very dedicated. The campus is lovely, and feels very secure. The cafeteria is excellent - my son wants to buy every day! Discipline is good. Parents are very nice, supportive, and welcoming. I have been pleased when I have had to use after school care. The athletics can be a little weak, not because of coaching, but because the school is quite small to be able to compete on the same level as, say, St. Cecelia. Students at the Catholic high schools have told me that kids who went to St Theresa were 'really ready for high school'. 'the leaders', and 'advanced in language arts and Spanish'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2004

The school is well-run and a definite first-rate alternative for someone who wants to get their child out of the public school 'rat-race' of testing! I should know...I teach in the HISD system. It is also a 1st rate Catholic education. My child was in the GT system at an Exemplary school in HISD and St. Theresa's is able to meet her academic needs without the heavy loads of rote HW that she suffered in her HISD school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 46% 47%
White 42% 37%
Black 6% 14%
Asian 5% N/A
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (713) 869-3784

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Galveston-Houston
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6622 Haskell St
Houston, TX 77007
Phone: (713) 864-4536

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT