Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
740 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Thomas High School 5

Posted June 18, 2016
- a parent
STH is a college prep school, challenging. The homework requires planning ahead. Time management is gift if you have the natural knack, but it is a skill all students need to acquire for school, for life. There is a lot of reading and essay writing for nearly every class. Expect to read 3-4 classic books in English every year, and novels. Students have to take notes in all classes. Much like a college, teachers are allowed to set their own rules for their class. Some allow make up work, some do not. Most all offer extra credit work. Students learn to to take up their questions, requests for extra help directly to the teacher via email or in person. The school wants students to be ready for college and become independent.Bigger concerns or issues can be taken up directly with the academic office. Teachers respond to emails, phone calls and so does the Administration.

St Thomas High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 18, 2016
- a parent
Persistence is the only way to learn anything.Nothing is a given for anyone anywhere. Even with failure a person can learn something.


St Thomas High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 18, 2016
- a parent
Students can develop a dialog with teachers and the principal. Note the students are not in charge, nor should they be.

St Thomas High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
I feel there some extraordinary teachers. Very high level of critical thinking in their curriculum. However, some are difficult and incalcitrant to the point of ruining your childs ability to succeed and get a grade point average they need to get into colleges. It doesnt matter how hard it is if they make impossible to the grades you need to get into good colleges. Defeats the point.

St Thomas High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
Beyond acceptable. As a freshmen you are the same level of a college and I dont see the point of exhausting the students beyond necessity.


St Thomas High School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
Yes. You either develop these things are you cant stay there. Its just too hard to be there without being able to withstand a daily grind. There isnt much there that is fun so you have to just dig in everyday.

St Thomas High School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
There is certainly a demand for respect. My son was very respectable starting off so I cant say there has been an improvement.

St Thomas High School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
This very much depends on who you are dealing with but certainly at the top administration level this is an absolute no.


St Thomas High School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
At the moment I think they try although there have certainly been experiences where my child is defending himself from bullies and he gets admonished. I also think they have teachers who hold there students to a very high level of accountability without being held to that level themselves. There is also more focus on competitiveness than anything else.

St Thomas High School 3

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
Our son had scholarship offers from several schools but we choose STHS because of its philosophy of brotherhood and we felt it would be a more supportive and spiritual environment. However, we have been deeply disappointed. The faculty seems more intent on protecting itself then in looking to why there is a growing number of unsatisfied parents. There are a predominant number of very wealthy families whose son's are serious bullies and have diminished the brotherhood experience the school markets they embody. It is a struggle to get into any extra curricular activities and there is so much homework that there is little time for much else anyway. Although they tout that they give large amounts of financial aide that turns out to be untrue as well especially compared to the schools they compete with. There are some very good teachers there whose curriculum is well developed and on par with many colleges. I commend them, but do not be surprised if your child is lonely, isolated, exhausted and has teachers that could care less and that are absolutely unsupportive and unavailable. I hope they come to recognize they need some improvements. I feel there certainly is the potential there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Thomas High School
4500 Memorial Drive, Houston, TX  77007
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. (713) 864-6348
Last modified St Thomas High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top