Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Thomas High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Houston

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $288,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2014

I am a former student who attended St. Thomas High School from the 9th to 10th grade before transferring to a large public school. I strongly urge against sending your kids here. The teachers were great but most students that St. Thomas accepts are extremely toxic (rancorous but not competitive). Nearly everyone who attends this school is either a bully or jerk. This school does not check the backgrounds of their applicants indicated by the large number of freshmen in my class who had been suspended numerous times and/or expelled from middle school. As a result, many good kids who came to this school with high hopes eventually transferred. In addition, the faculty does not discipline their students. In some ways, the faculty encouraged their students to bully each other and wreck their classes. Because every class was like a human zoo, the academics were hardly top-notch even though the teachers were great. One of my teachers admitted in class that Strake Jesuit (the rival school) was a better school. Lastly and unimportantly, girls rarely come to STHS during our breaks.


Posted January 11, 2014

St. Thomas High School is a great school. I have grown deeply in my intellect and faith since coming here and the school has been a great resource in my quest for knowledge. The teachers are all knowledgeable and supportive of us students and there are many different ways to accel both academically and athletically. The community is also very accepting here and anyone can make friends very easily. My friends I meet here are probably going to be friends for life. I would highly recommend St. Thomas for any students who want a challenging academic environment and a common brotherhood among students. It is definitely on of the best private schools and the best all- boys school in Houston.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2013

I do believe St. Thomas high School adequately prepares students for college success, however, it does not in any way develop an adolescent's EQ (emotional quotient). The faculty and staff at this institution do not set good standards of how a mature student should act, and there are countless occasions I can recall where my son (class of 2012) was encouraged to bully through the actions of his teachers. The staff does not care about the individual student, and the administration has been known to treat wealthier students differently. Often times many of the classmates your son will have when he goes here will be second generation. If you are a parent looking to send your kid to a place that will instill catholic values, do not go here, your son will learn to hate this place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2012

Our son is finishing his freshman year as STHS, and we could not be more pleased with his experience so far. His critical thinking skills have been stretched and developed, he has been challenged without being overwhelmed, and he has been made to feel that he is truly a member of a school family. HIs teachers are very approachable, and want the kids to succeed. They are dedicated professionals, very much connected to the school's motto of "Teach me goodness, discipline and knowledge." We have been warmly embraced by the parent community. As a volunteer, I have had the chance to be around some of the students and I am awed by not just their civility, but their confidence in speaking with adults, with kindness, courtesy and openness. I am confident my child will be more than prepared for college after receiving his diploma from STHS, but more importantly, he will be a better man for attending the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2012

Our son attends STH and is in the class of 2014. The school is academically very challenging. Curriculum is exceptional and it is definitely a college prep school. The athletic program is very well support by the school and there are so many sports that all students will be able to play at least one sport. Since STH competes in TAPPS athletic league there is less pressure to win at all costs like some of your 5A schools. Most of the after school clubs such as the debate, theater are top notch. There is a strong sense of community with the students, parents and faculty. STH students are much more likely to work together and not participate in less than constructive peer related activities (bullying, discipline, and character issues etc) like some other high schools in the city of Houston. We believe our son is receiving a very well rounded education. We very strongly recommend STH as a high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2011

My son (9th grader) has only attended since Aug. 2011 so things may change in the future. My son has an average near 89 for all his classes. The school has a cohesive curriculum and that is its strength. The information is overwhelming and the amount of teaching is not commensurate with the information that is given. Additionally, it seems as if 25% of the work is busywork and of minimal educational value. I hope the busywork diminishes and the teaching gets better because the home-schooling my wife and I do cannot last much longer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

I am a current Senior(Class of 2010) at STHS and after four years I believe that I am truly prepared for college. St. Thomas has helped me grow as a young man and as an intellectual. To combat the previous comments, the teachers are anything but arrogant. They are kind and sincere and simultaneously, they are incredible teachers and always make sure their students are on the ball. On another note, St. Thomas is an extremely fun and exciting school to attend. There is always something going on with clubs, sports,theater,dances, service opportunities and retreats. In middle school, I was considered as an outcast and didn't really have friends. When I went to St. Thomas, I started to gain a group of friends and now I have an incredible group of friends at St. Thomas, Stake, Duchesne, St.Agnes and IWA. STH is just an overall amazing school and community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2009

The best school for a high school boy to go to. Teachers guide you and help you to find the answer instead of just giving t to you. It teaches every student to be resourceful. It also is a very good school for a Student to get involed in. There are many opportunities for the student to be involved and have fun. Send your kid here
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2009

Or son attended this school his freshman and sophomore years. He transferred to another private school for his junior and senior years. Transferring to another school was the best move we ever made for our son. Comparing his current teachers to the teachers at STHS really exposes the weaknesses and arrogance of many of the teachers at STHS. If we had to do it all over again we would have avoided STHS. Our son will also graduate this year with college credit in History and English at his current school, which he could not have gotten at STHS. STHS is very over-rated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2008

I agree with you on the teachers being arrogant when asking questions. I know they have helped my son with his learning disabilities, but many of the teachers, not all, want to teach high performing students. However, that is not what our society is about. Even though we are Catholic, I still feel the NCLB Act should be spread throughout all of education in the U. S.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

St. Thomas is a wonderful school, with over 104 years of tradition, that helped our sons develop into responsible and caring adults. One son graduated in 2004 and is an honors aerospace engineering student at the University of Texas. The other is a senior and will easily get into the college of his choice. Many people have approached me to comment on what fine young men my boys have become. I attribute much of this to the efforts of the dedicated teachers and coaches at STHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

The education I received at St Thomas High School prepared me well for college classes. Also there was a sense of school pride because so many students were involved in athletics. There were countless ways for students to get involved besides athletics as well. The service requirement I think was very important for developing catholic young men too. However I found there was a little too much of the rich, priveleged kid syndrome. Also, I know the new principal has apparently made STH much more strict and less enjoyable. I cant recommend it as highly as I used to, but I enjoyed all my 4 years at STH.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 2, 2006

A great school with great values, which, in today's society means so much. My brother attended this school, and I hope that my children will be as priviledged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

This is a great school and community.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted November 26, 2004

Hello! I am delighted with the St. Thomas education that is given to the fellow peers and studens of the school. My child is incredibly organized, only because of the St. Thomas culture. Send your kid here, do not think about anything else. Oh and also, they will give you a lenient finacial assisstance because this school is amazingly urbane and expensive. But, it is worth your money to see your child be happy, successful, and intelligent! Well take my words for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2004

This is one the best schools in the Houston area. My son has done very well here, and so have my other 2 sons. St. Thomas is a very fun school, and the curriculum is challenging. There is a lot of spirit at St. Thomas, through students, and Alumnae. The school has been around for 104 years, and is still strong. The motto of the school has been used since it started, 'Teach me Goodness, Discipline, and Knowledge'. The parents are well involved, and the teachers are absolutely wonderful.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 37%
Hispanic 22% 47%
Black 6% 14%
Asian 4% N/A
Two or more races 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (713) 864-5750

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Galveston-Houston
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4500 Memorial Dr
Houston, TX 77007
Phone: (713) 864-6348

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Lamar High School
Houston, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT