Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Ghost Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Houston

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $206,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 24, 2014

This school really needs to be closed down! Not suitable for the children. Also Sr. Judy is not a good principal, I believe that she is just filling the position to answer her call to God. But she doesn't have any idea how to be a educator and her assistants in the office are always gossiping or eating and are extremely rude! The coach is also a very old rude man who doesn't participate with the children. He is so old school. Time to change this school to match the year 2014 not 1960.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

This school is just a used old building that should not be occupying children. Everything that I have read has surfaced to be true. This school is old inside and out. This is a perfect example of how a private school operates by choosing and allowing majority of the students to attend by reducing their financial burden . Wonder how these children succeed wgen they have mini demons as teachers. And the church is not that far off. The office staff doesn't realize that the first impression begins in the office. I would stop by for parent business and have to wait until their gossip is done or finished fixing her makeup. Oh my this institution is advanced child care with old age principles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2014

I like Holy Ghost school my son has been in this school for four years and because is in a good area but what I dont like is that since 2012 to 2014 i seen the kids from 6 to 8 grade. They dont respect were they are studing. They say bad words and when they are in church they say bad words too. One of the thing that I have notice is that the big kids that come from regular school that are not private bring there bad influence. I dont like this because the teacher dont say anything and the parents dont teach there kids to act respectful. For me this school dont look like a catholic school no more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2014

I feel so blessed to be able to send my daughter to Holy Ghost. I'm a working mother who appreciates the extra mile my pre-k daughter's teachers always go for her. She loves going to school and the connection she shares with the staff makes dropping her off every morning so much easier. I'm amazed at how much she has learned this year. Both spiritually and academically. We looked at several schools in this area and I can confidently say that we made the right choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

Every school has issues, however, the issues at Holy Ghost are numerous, and serious. The principal, Sister Judy (a very nice lady) has no control over her faculty, staff, or even the students. The teachers there are bitter, and burned out in general and it shows in their attitudes as well as their teaching. There are cliques of teachers and families that run the school. The level of education is subpar- don't expect your child to get good acceptances to high school. The few kids who did get acceptances are struggling with the high school work load. Teachers do not update the website for homework- ever. You will not have online access to your child's grades, or financials, no online bill pay, and they do not accept credit/debit cards as payment. Cash or check only. A good example would be that today, 1/27/14 Holy Ghost's website homepage says "Happy Thanksgiving!" Holy Ghost's heart may be in the right place, but education and technology is about 10 years behind the times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2013

I also graduated from HGS. I believe the post below is truly bias, due to the fact that the poster is a teacher on school salary. The post from the teacher stated, "This is not a High School where the student have open time." From personal experience, after reading your post, you should be ashamed of yourself. A teacher that is compassionate, caring, and takes the time to understand their students is a teacher worth remembering. Also, word of advice, you should really brush up on your capitalization skills. For example, the teacher below wrote, "This is not a High School... Math, Reading/Literature, Writing/Handwriting, History, PE, Spelling, Vocabulary, English, Science, and Religion." You do not capitalize 'High School,' because it is used in a general sense. If you are referring to a specific school with a proper name before "high school" then it is capitalized. You do not capitalize "PE," Spelling, Religion, Vocabulary, Math, Science, and Reading/Literature," because they are referred in a general sense, and it is not the course title used on the school's report cards. Also, "Math 101" would be capitalized and not the general word 'Math' used in the teacher's posting. :) :) :)


Posted August 2, 2012

Holy Ghost School is a PreK 3 thru 8th grade. The students have a scheduled time to go to the library because the rest of the time they are in class. Students don't have free time during the day to just sit in the library. This is not a High School where the student have open time. In primary grades the students day is structured with Math, Reading/Literature, Writing/Handwriting, History, PE, Spelling, Vocabulary, English, Science, and Religion.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 1, 2011

This is a loving environment, and the school really works with the children. The school is diverse, and because it is so small, it feels like a family. Many of the families have children who have attended here for years. I am glad we sent our children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2010

I am an a graduate of holy ghost school. I'm not proud to say I went to this school but it is what it is. The teachers have horrible communication skills, it seems they are afraid to tell the parents what is going on. Or how the child is doing. Then when it is brought up by a parent, the teachers blame it on the kid or give the suggestions of "watch their homework" "study with them". Yes it works for...3 days. The parents aren't here to be on our case everyday if we didn't learn it at school then there is a problem. Another issue they have..library. The library should be available all of the school hours for all of the kids not just when the "schedule" calls for the kids to go. I know this sounds mean but I wouldn't suggest this school to anyone.


Posted October 7, 2009

excellent academics and teacher-student ratio
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2008

Extremely disappointed in the way my child has been treated at Holy Ghost.They claim they are there to instill 'self-discipline' and 'responsiblity' but they will do at the risk of having the child fail. Unless your child is very responsible/mature, he will get lost in the shuffle of lack of communication between parent/teacher. If yours if failing, you won't know about it until the end of the school year. If parents don't make the effort to speak with the teacher, the teachers don't bother telling the parent want is going on. It appears teachers feel no obligation to help the child be successful. No warm fuzzies given to the kids - the attitude is one of dislike for children. At least two teachers have used curse words towards the kids. Parents have same complaints about the same teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 57% 51%
Black 19% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 15% 4%
White 9% 31%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (713) 667-4410

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Galveston-Houston
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6920 Chimney Rock Road
Houston, TX 77081
Phone: (713) 668-5327

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT