Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Thomas More Parish School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Houston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $251,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 13 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

60 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2010

This school is awesome you people who want to chose a good school for your child should pick STM it is a great school
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2010

I am really beginning to be disillusioned with this school. Came in after hearing positive things about it but I have since realized it is all sugar coated. I heartily agree that the pricipal is definitely not warm and sometimes looks through you. again the reception is not warm and that is not good at all considering that first impressions matter a great deal. I do agree that a warmer environment is needed. Also, I think the teacher to student ratio is quite high, is that not why I am paying for a private education? There is a lack of resources to help students who are struggling, rather seems you either do it on your own or your child is just pushed along with the flow. Hmmm Bahhhh
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Too much focus especially in the elementary grades on giving LOTS of homework and grading it. 7 and 8 years old shouldn't be getting 3 hours of homework. It concerns me when I see the homework pile bigger than the inclass work pile. It makes you think there is less teaching going on in class due to the amount of homework. I haven't seen my child's average go up significantly. It is disturbing how some of the teachers talk to the children and how fearful parents are in speaking up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

No selective admission process. They welcome anyone who applies. No waiting list to deal with. Expectations are high, but it seems there is more homework than in class work. Homework is actually graded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

We are new to the school. I do find many of the parents to be intimidated by staff and even teachers. They don't speak up even when unhappy about their child's progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

I read the reviews. School does have high expectations (at times unrealistic), but the teachers do not or have no knowledge where to refer students for extra help or any recommendations. As far as the math program Everyday Math is only used up until 5th or 6th grade. The administration will take your concerns seriously if you are involved in the school. This school is very republican and appears to be less tolerant surrounding certain issues. Too political instead being focused more on catholic teaching all the time. One of the reasons I left.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

Principal is a problem. She is non-responsive and does not want to be too involved when there is a concern. This is unusual when parents are keeping the school open by paying tuition and fundraising.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2010

Transfd from SFDS into 5th. My daughter still attends and will go thru to 8th. More activities for the children, the teachers are SO MUCH NICER & talk to the children instead of at them. Lunch program is awesome. Grades are emailed to parents regularly. Academically awesome, prepares them for college. Tuition is VERY reasonable compared to other Catholic schools. We've had problems w/some teachers, but over all I would recommend this school. I feel like they really care about my daughter and that's important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I agree with the last two posts. More emphasis on writing, parent orientation to the University of Chicago Mathematics program, better communication between parents and teachers as to what students are working on week by week, and in a previous post diversity among staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

STM has a little over 500 students if you include pre-school students. As for academics they try to push the students to read a year above their grade level for Reading, English, and Spelling. The math program is University of Chicago Math program. I would like to see more emphasis on writing though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

I have been active at St. Thomas More Parish since 1977. We sent our four children to the school and we are now involved as Grandparents of attending students. As our children left STM to attend High School and then College I was glad that we had given them a good start. Some of our children went to Catholic High School and some went to Public High School, no matter which high school system they entered, they were one of the best prepared for their high school academics. As they continued their higher education, I heard each one of them, at one time or another, express their appreciation for their educational foundation given to them at STM. Now that they are grown and parents, they are seeking the best they can give their children, a Catholic Education. They are sending their children to STM. I noticed a comment about the tuition being one of the highest in the Archdiocese for Elementary/Jr. High; my research finds this not to be true. If you compare the schools of like size which offer similar opportunity you find STM to be very reasonably priced. If you are considering Catholic Education, take time to give STM a look. I don t believe you will be disappointed.


Posted July 21, 2009

Like the other commentators, I would agree to some extent that STM is not a warm and fuzzy place. However, I have found that the teachers do connect with the kids and have fun with them after the priorities of learning/teaching have taken place. I have 3 children @ the school and am very pleased with how they are being prepared to meet future academic challenges. I am also thankful for the the character development that is stressed @ STM. This school is for those who want their children to succeed in real life where everything isn't sugar coated or handed to them on a platter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2009

Very strong academic with trachers and administration that cares. Promotes parental involvement in your child's education. Many high school scholarships are given to our students and high schools love our students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

I agree with so many of the negative comments about this school. The principal is not warm and it is time to make a few faculty and administrative changes - people with a fresh and positive outlook, which is entirely the reason why we will be leaving. This was our first year there and will be our last. I am not happy at all with several fo the staff and they way they condust daily business.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

Academics are very strong, with writing being an exception. Not the place for you if you are looking for warm and fuzzy nurturing for your child. Time to make a few faculty and administrative changes - people with a fresh and positive outlook.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2008

St. Thomas More offers Kindergarten to 8th grade classes. The student to teacher ratio is 1 teacher to 23 kids. Kids are grouped in reading and math based on ability. At the elementary level kids move from one class to the next like middle school. The teacher will work with your child but you must keep in close contact with them or else your child will be lost. The principal is not a very warm person to say the least.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2007

My kids are currently enrolled in STM. Teachers are supportive, small student/teacher ratio, great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

I am a graduate of this school. It has helped me excel and be the very best I can be. The school gave me the intial building blocks i needed to achieve at my high school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 25, 2005

I am a fifth grade student at this St.Thomas More School. The teachers help the students with their needs and weaknesses. they have sports teams such as track, baseball, basketball, volleyball, and soccer which is open for 6th-8th and track open for 5th-8th. I really would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2004

St. Thomas More Parish School is a wonderful environnment for children to grow and learn. My children have attended this school for over 3 years and I am very satisfied. I strongly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 31%
Hispanic 24% 51%
Black 22% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 6% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (713) 721-5644

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Galveston-Houston
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5927 Wigton Drive
Houston, TX 77096
Phone: (713) 729-3434

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Sephardic Gan
Houston, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT