Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Michael Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Houston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $407,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,100.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 5, 2013

We're very happy with SMCS. This will be our son's 3rd year there. He has learned so much and is doing really well. In fact tested above grade level. The education standers are higher and harder than HISD and other private schools. Making stronger and brighter kids. The staff and family members are nice and welcoming. We have really enjoyed being a part of the SMCS family. Can't wait for 2013-2014 school year. Our son is excited to start school and see his friends and past teachers who's made an impact in his life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

I'm very disappointed in the education my daughter received at SMCS. Overall the school is horrible...There is no consistency in the classroom & the curriculum is taught very scattered. These are children's primary foundation years for their education & you would think they would want to make sure the core curriculum is taught & mastered before moving on to the next task. They use Edline for keeping parents up to date on class assignments, but it's never updated nor does it contain anything specific. They do not communicate well with parents. They also do not provide lesson plans or anything to parents to help you stay informed of what's being taught in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

Great improvements in this school the last few years. This school is well on its way to becoming one of the best middle schools in the Houston area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

Both my boys are starting school at st. Michael's, i've heard only wonderful things about this school from other people!!!everyone was so kind and especially both my boys loved it with the tour they had, they can't wait to start!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

I have friends that have their children there and they are very happy with the school. My daughter will certainly attend this school.


Posted September 26, 2010

If you ant a catholic education for your kids, sms is thw way to go! We are building a brand new campus and it will be amaing. Our new principal, Ms. Scrowonek, is AMAZING.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Fall 2009 - St. Michael Catholic School provides a quality Catholic education for my children. As a parent of multiple children at SMS I am thankful for the quality teachers, leadership from the principal and a pastor who fully supports the efforts of the school. The school recently had a large technology upgrade in the classrooms and is currently in the midst of a campaign to build a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

This new school year, Fall 2009, St. Michael School has a new principal! We are looking forward to a great year!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2007

This school lacks backbone from the principal and their Math and Spanish program have to be desired especially in middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2007

All three of my children have attended St. Michael's School and we found it to be a warm and nurturing environment. Wonderful and supportive teachers, strong academics (most do well in area high schools), good discipline, Christian environment, a lot of well behaved kids - a great environment for children K-8. All three of my children have fond memories of St. Michael's. That is why many alumnae return to send their children to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2007

Deplorable and extremely saddened by the lack of control the principal has over the parents, children and teachers. Ultimately, the children suffer and the parents continue their success in bullying socially. The previous parent who had four children there is right on, except, the Pope is the only hope!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2005

So far, so good. Actually really, really good. Great teachers, nice families, happy kids. My kids love to go to school and it has been a great experience at SMS thus far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2005

I sent four kids to the school till I got so fed up with mediocrity I took the last two out before middle school began. Years ago they had a wonderful principal. A new pastor ran her off, then two uninspiring men followed her. The first was run off in mid year, the current principal has great disdain for the parents at the school, as well as the teachers. He presents himself well in public but prefers to coast along, running off any teacher or parent who asks the school to try and be better. Past school commissions have tried to replace the principal but the pastor protects him. Every year long time families leave in disgust. A new principal is the school's only hope.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 31%
Hispanic 20% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Black 1% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • ACTS
Fax number
  • (713) 877-8812

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Galveston-Houston
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1833 Sage Road
Houston, TX 77056
Phone: (713) 621-6847

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Afton Oaks School
Houston, TX


Crossroads School
Houston, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT