Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Vincent De Paul School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Houston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $345,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2014

Excellent school with a loving and caring administration and faculty. Not a school for everyone but if you are lucky to get in you will receive an strong spiritual and academic education. Love it here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 4, 2014

I feel that the administration has their own agenda and it's not the children. It's all about waiting lists to get in and high test scores. Principal is ineffective in my opinion. Teachers are not held accountable and can do whatever they like with no fear of repercussions. Administration bullying students is a common theme. Child must fit in their box to succeed. What happened to good old fashioned Catholic schools? What a disappointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

My school is a great school that provides an excellent education based on Gospel values to my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

SVdP is a great Catholic School with a small community. We have a strong Catholic identity as well as a good base for academics. We tend to score high in standardized tests and our children get into a top choice high school. Some of the facilities within the school are old, the school is celebrating its 70th anniversary this year. But overall, SVdP is a great place to be for pre-K through 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

We love St. Vincent de Paul School! It has a vibrant, active and supportive parent community, and magnificent faculty and staff. We couldn't ask for more for our children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

St Vincent de Paul Catholic School is a fabulous school that provides a excellent education and a broad range of activities including sports, music, and academic clubs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Our school is very involved with each and every student, and the parents are dry involved in helping the teachers have the best possible facilities to teach in, and students to teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Our school is not only wonderful as far as curriculum and preparing our children for high school, but under our principals leadership, the school offers enrichment programs throughout the year to help keep our children aware of the "moral compass". In addition, the school provides parents with resources needed, including a positive parenting series, focusing on timely matters involving family and our children. Our principal truly cares about each and every child, and that genuine love is filtered through her faculty. It is a fantastic community and a special place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

St Vincent de Paul School is a Catholic School with grades PreKindergarten -8th grade. Our school is celebrating it's 70th anniversary this year. SVdP has a strong academic curriculum and a wide range of extracurricular activities, athletics, art, and music programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

St. Vincent DePaul is a great school. We have been very happy there. They definitely have a focus on spiritual growth and their education standards are high. The faculty and staff have been great to work with and parent involvement is high. The school goes the extra mile to addresses issues and challenges. I highly recommend SVdP. You and your children will get out of it, what you put into it - as is the case in most schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2012

Went to St.Vincent from k-8th. An excellent choice for your children. Strong leadership and parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2011

SVDP is a great school the teachers are very nice and are well educated. Here there is a friend for everyone. I am a middle school student and have been here for 9 years. I find the academics challenging and useful in most ways. My class size is about 50 students and in most classes 20-25 students with one teacher. In the younger grades they are trying to make the classes smaller by not getting new students. I do not agree with most of these reviews, the principal is very nice and some parents volunteer a lot but none "run the school." My mom is very active in the school and knows all about the teachers and a lot of the parents. If it wasn't for some of the parents that volunteer and help so much nobody else would do it. Some parents barely help with volunteering so if nobody did nothing would get done. SVDP IS A GREAT SCHOOL TRY IT OUT! But i have to agree its not for everyone


Posted July 20, 2010

I also removed my children from this school. Classrooms are over crowded, certain parents run the school, and it is not a Christian based school in that it does not teach good moral character. They do nothing about bullying or help children to have values. The education is second rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2010

We are about to start our second year with SVDP. What a wonderful school! The environment is so nuturing and the academics stimulating & challenging in a healthy way. Our children our thriving! Thank you SVDP!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2010

I was not happy with school. Took my kids out of the school. Didn't like some ot the teachers. The principal is weak it appears that she can not do the job. She lets certain teachers and parents run the school. My children are happier elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

First all schools have something good about them but this school in particular is an excellent school, Why? becuase first, the teachers really care about you. They want to make everybody succeed in everything. Our school awesome!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2009

I sent both my children to SVDP from pre-kindergarten. My son is less achademically skilled and left after 7 great years. My daughter is still here working to finish up her 9th year. They both made really great friends and really enjoyed the school's boy scout and girl scout programs. My daughter is still a girl scout after 8 years. And my son is still envolved in boyscouting after 10 long years since first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2008

I have 4 children at SVDP, have been there for 10 years and my kids are all very happy there. It is not a school for students with special educational needs on either end of the scale; however, I have found the administration and teachers to be pretty responsive to any concerns I have had. It had some administrative shake ups in 2006 but seems to be in a good place right now with Carolyn Sears as the principal. Teachers and administration reply via email the same day most times. It's difficult to get into SVDP unless you are an active parishoner at the church, but that makes for a Sunday experience in which you know many of the people at mass and your children feel at home in the church. Our family has been very happy at SVDP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2006

SVDP used to be a wonderful school, and is some aspects it is still a great school. The teachers are wonderful, acdemically is very good, great support for sport and art. However, since last year there have been changes in the direction of the school that started to affect the programs. We are not sure right now where the school is going and that is a major concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

my 2 children has been in this school since preK. SVDP is a great school. teachers are well skilled, there's a small teacher-student ratio. children are well trained - academic and spiritually. school facility is great. i will highly recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 31%
Hispanic 21% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Black 1% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (713) 663-3562

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Galveston-Houston
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6802 Buffalo Speedway
Houston, TX 77025
Phone: (713) 666-2345

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Beresford School
Houston, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT