Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pilgrim Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 180 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Houston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $251,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2013

I have two children at Pilgrim and we love this school All the teachers are wonderful - very involved with the kids. The academics are strong. The class room sizes are small so everyone receives a lot of attention. In addition, the parents are encouraged to participate and be involved at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

I have two kids at Pilgrim and 8 years between them at the school. I live in the Meyerland area where the public schools have strong magnet programs. Still, I chose Pilgrim for the following reasons: K-8 REVIEW 1. Strong academics. Their English grammar and phonics program are particularly good. Spanish, music, and computers start in 1st grade. Love how there are lots of field trips. 2. Small class sizes - The teachers work individually with each student. It's not just about "classroom management" 3. Low bureaucracy - all the staff are very approachable. When I have a concern, I can go directly to the teacher or principal. You won't find that open access in most public schools and even some private schools. 4. Strong, Christian education - the Lutheran faith provides a solid foundation. Of course, people of other denominations and faiths are welcome. 18 MONTHS - PK REVIEW This the best, most affordable, and flexible childcare option in Southwest Houston, hands down. The little kids benefit from a lot of the school activities (Chapel, assemblies, etc.) early in life. It gets them excited about school. Teachers are warm and attentive. My daughter was already reading in PK.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2013

I could not be happier with the education of my 2 children at Pilgrim Lutheran School. They both started with Early Childhood Ed. at two. My son graduated & is now a Junior at Strake Jesuit, a very competitive college preparatory school. His Iowa test scores at Pilgrim were exceptional as were others in his class. He was well prepared academically, spiritually & emotionally. His fall PSAT-NMQT scores were in the top 13 scores in his class (210+) & could make him a candidate as a National Merit Scholar Semi-Finalist next year. My daughter is in the 8th grade and her Iowa test scores are equal if not better to my son s. The staff has a great deal of responsibility for my children s success by passionately promoting a loving, Christian & disciplined environment. Overall results of the staff have consistently made Pilgrim students scores one to two grades higher than the Iowa test of basic skills grade equivalency. The music program is strong & participation is encouraged. Spanish is taught early. The athletics programs have given my kids a team ethic as well as physical development & are well supported. This is the best investment I have made for my money. Bob Heilman, PLS parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2012

Pilgrim is especially good for math and grammar. They have an absolutely fantastic robotics program. Teachers use traditional textbooks and teach skills that the public schools have abandoned (like adding without a calculator). The school has a kind and caring environment. The principal, teachers, and staff are easy to work with and responsive to parent concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2011

My daughter started attending Pilgrim part-time at 18 months. She's is entering Kindergarten in the fall of 2011, and she's going to continue attending Pilgrim! It's a fantastic, loving, Christian environment with outstanding academics. She's already reading, writing, and beginning math in Pre-K! If you live in Meyerland or Bellaire and want the best education for your kids in a caring environment that welcomes your involvement as a parent, you need to send your children to Pilgrim Lutheran School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2010

Pilgrim is a family oriented environment that truly cares about the education and spiratual growth of each and every child. My son has been at this school since he was 2 yrs. old and is now in 5th grade. All of the teachers here go above and beyond to communicate with parents and spend extra time with children who need extra help. It is obvious that there is a high level of dedication with the teachers, and all support staff. The office staff is very helpful and pleasant to deal with. The principal is very available and involved. Pilgrim is a great school and I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The school was ok, it could have been better. I go to a public school now, and it definetly feels like the school day is going at a way faster pace then it was at pilgrim. Plus at public school, well the one that i am going to, we actually have loads and loads of homework. One good thing that probably came out of Pilgrim was the history. Pilgrim is very strong in world history, U.S. history and Texas history. I can definetly say that i know more history about the world and the United States, than anyone in my class. I would suggest to you that if you don't like small schools, then don't go there, but if you want a family-like school, then go there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

The school was ok, it could have been better. I go to a public school now, and it definetly feels like the school day is going at a way faster pace then it was at pilgrim. Plus at public school, well the one that i am going to, we actually have loads and loads of homework. One good thing that probably came out of Pilgrim was the history. Pilgrim is very strong in world history, U.S. history and Texas history. I can definetly say that i know more history about the world and the United States, than anyone in my class. I would suggest to you that if you don't like small schools, then don't go there, but if you want a family-like school, then go there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2008

Pilgrim Lutheran School has an awesome Principal who is very supportive and interacts with everyone. His teaching staff is awesome as well, the teachers are caring and hold strong christian values. The classes are usually less than 18 students. I say schedule your private tour you won't be disappointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2008

I never heard of Pilgrim before until got a very positive comment from our doctor. So far, I am so impressed all the staffs, principal, and teacher at Pilgrim. They are very caring and loving. Our son's teacher (Mrs. Jamison) at toddler program, she will work and communicate with you regarding to your child. Mrs Jamison is an excellant teacher. I can feel all the kids including my son be loved and cared at Pilgrim. I highly recommend to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2006

The school is very family center. Everyone knows each other. The teachers seem loyal and loving to the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2006

A very high quality, small class size school. Particularly good in the middle school years to the eigth grade. Good students, with a great deal of parent involvement in their childrens lives in almost every case. Many parents are professional, but still find time to be involved. Student peer group is much more academically oriented than usual. Serious amount of homework as part of the academic grade. Lots of teacher attention on the needs of the student as an individual. Small class size presents a manageable social enviornment for your child to mature in. Undoubtedly the best group of teachers and motivators we have seen in our childs education thus far. The school is un-assuming and a tremendous academic value. They emphasize morals and academic achievement without being over religious. All faiths there seem comfortable and accepted. Fairly strong music program. Reasonable amount of competative sports for boys or girls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2006

Pilgrim Lutheran School in Houston is a close-knit, loving environment for your children. My son started there in Pre-K @ age 4 and completed thru 8th grade. The staff is supportive and accomodating to the needs of your child. The academics are strong and varied. Sports,music, foreign language are all part of their accredited curriculum. The parent support base is evidenced by volunteer librarians, kitchen workers and moms/dads there every day to help the school and its family succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

I have been at pilgrim lutheran for three years with my two children. Pilgrim is the best private school in the southwest houston area. The guidance counselor at bellaire high school recommended pilgrim as the school that best prepares students academically for high school. Principal schepmann is a wonderful, caring man with many years of experience. The teaching staff is highly skilled, some young, some having been at pilgrim for decades, so a good mix. With excellent music, art, spanish, athletic, and religious programs, children receive a well-rounded education. Quality is the key at pilgrim. Many public schools in this area receive an 'exemplary' rating, but after looking at test scores and comparing them to pilgrim, pilgrim deserves a triple exemplary rating. You just can't put a price on your child receiving a quality education. Pilgrim lutheran is the best investment a parent can make for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2005

This is by far one of the best private schools in Southwest Houston for the money. Academic achievement as demonsrated by published test scores combined with students success in enrollment in Houston's best high schools are exemplary. The school's faculty and staff are caring and professional and genuinely interested in the student's sucess from an academic and spiritual perspective. If you value your child's early and elementary education, Pilgrim does not dissappoint. We have one child (son) who has graduated from Pilgrim and now attends Bellaire High and another (daughter) in the 6th grade. Both have been here since kindergarten and are excellent learners thanks to the faculty and staff! PB
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2004

Pilgrim is a wonderful school! The teachers take time to know each child and find his stengths. We have been at Pilgim since 5th grade, my child has grown so much academically, socially, and spiritually. It will be a sad day when we move on to high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 31%
Hispanic 19% 51%
Black 13% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 9% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • NAEYC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8601 Chimney Rock Road
Houston, TX 77096
Website: Click here
Phone: (713) 432-7082

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT