Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
450 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Emery/Weiner School 5

Posted March 13, 2010
- a student
I have been at emery for 3 years now and i have loved it. The teachers and the environment are great. Emery teaches their students to be hard working, tolerant, and giving. Although the school is quite small Emery encourages the students to branch out with other students in the community. I know that there will be more wonderful thing to come to Emery.

The Emery/Weiner School 5

Posted June 08, 2009
- a student
I am so thankful that my parents sent me to Emery! I absolutely adored the connection that I had with my teachers. I always felt comfortable to approach them for help and looked up to them as role models. Emery helps shape each student into a caring, conscious adult. It embraces individuality and character. I am confident that Emery has given me the skills to succeed in college and beyond. Go Jaguars!


The Emery/Weiner School
no rating

Posted May 02, 2009
- a parent
Excellent school with an indepth education. the focus is on learning how to think. The teachers are superb and the administration is responsive and solid. Could not find a bettter place for my daughter in Houston.l

The Emery/Weiner School 5

Posted March 13, 2009
- a student
great school!! i love it and every experiance i have had here! go jaguars

The Emery/Weiner School
no rating

Posted January 26, 2008
- a parent
Excellent middle and high school.real understanding of adolescents.Great teachers and curriculum.


The Emery/Weiner School 5

Posted June 11, 2007
- a student
The environment at Emery High School is one of a kind. Students are able to approach their teachers whether it be for academic assistance or just to chat about current events. The Shabbaton and two trips offer students and teachers a very unique opportunity to bond, get to know each other better, and build character. They are able to try new things such as camping and repelling, while learning. The Winterim session is another unique aspect of Emery which gives students the opportunity to take classes that interest them in a real-world way. Additionally, during this time seniors are encouraged to find an internship with the help of the school to help hone their interests before college. This is a one of a kind school.

The Emery/Weiner School 5

Posted November 07, 2006
- a student
I loved the school, though like other reviews have said that parents do have a lot of say, I think it has something to do with money. The closeness of the students, the school trips, the great teachers made attending here one of the best times of my life. I never did not want to go to school, unless I had a test...but friends were great, the enviroment was great also.

The Emery/Weiner School 5

Posted September 25, 2006
- a teacher
EWS is a great school with a lot to offer. The teachers make every effort to help students succeed, and the degree of experiential learning is unparalleled. The school leadership strives to actively involve students, and students thrive in a close-knit, nurturing environment. The academic programming allows for very advanced learners, while at the same time accommodating the needs of students that may not neccessarily be learning at an advanced pace.


The Emery/Weiner School 4

Posted September 21, 2005
- a student
Seven years of this school (high school and middle school) made my transition to Cornell University pretty easy. I learned that if you want something that is not there, you must start it. As for parental involvement--they seemed to have a big say in what happens.

The Emery/Weiner School 4

Posted April 30, 2004
- a student
Put a bunch of isolated pre-teens in a extremely close enviroment and watch the fun begin. That is the basic philosiphy at Emery/Weiner. While the small numbers encourage close relationships between the students and teachers, it can be quite sufficating. The acedemics are good, but are not as flexible as one may expect from the small classes. The worst problem is the power some of the parents have on the administration and faculty. Past experiences of mother's pressuring teachers for good grades and the like need to stop.

Nearby schools

The Emery/Weiner School
9825 Stella Link Road, Houston, TX  77025
(832) 204-5900
Last modified The Emery/Weiner School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Top