Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Thomas Episcopal School

Private | K-12 | 627 students

We are best known for classical education.

 
 

Living in Houston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $251,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

60 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 12, 2011

My children are challenged and happy, and I believe will be well prepared for college. The teachers care about helping students succeed and the children are respectful. I think the math and science curriculum are strong. They teach both sides in science - creationism and evolution, although all the teachers are Christian. Seniors get into good universities. The school is a good value and is NOT a snooty, rich kids school. Very family oriented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

My daughter is about to graduate and has been at STE since kindergarten. The headmaster, who has been in place for 6 or so years, has made great improvements. Honestly, there was a time that the school did focus only on bagpipes and drums and the work load was mostly memory work. SInce Mr. Cusack took charge that has changed. Girls and boys are treated equal, there are ample sports for girls, the middle school science program is growing, the teachers are well-qualified and the curriculum is always being scrutinized for value and relevance. The office staff is friendly and always willing to help. The graduating classes (of about 50) always get into schools such as Notre Dame, West Point, Princeton - to name a few - and average more than 3 million in scholarships each year. I highly encourage all to take a second look and see the advances and progressive stance STE has made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

Negative comments on this site are inaccurate or outdated. Sports for girls: in both middle and high school girls have more sports teams than boys. MS: 4-boys/5 girls, HS: 7 boys/9 girls Lower school science: science modules are taught in all lower grades, and a special science teacher starts with 4th grade. "Un-degreed" teachers: are an exception. One quarter to one third of teachers have advanced degrees. Those without degrees are experts in their fields or native speakers of the languages they teach. High tuition: STE's tuition is significantly less than comparable area schools. The school IS accredited by SAES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2011

You have to love this school. It is a smaller school so the sense of community is amazing. Morality and religion are part of the education. The quality of education is extremely good. The school focuses on a classical education. I personally love that the students must go to chapel every day. I am sending my children to this school becuase of the community, religious focus, and quality education. I am disappointed to see a few low ratings from disgruntled students or parents on this site. We want the best for our children, so we're sending them here. If you want an easier school, a less religiously focused school, then go elsewhere, but don't disparage this amazing place where those things are not important to you. You should have chosen another school. If this school lowers its standards for education, homework, and religion, then it will produce dumber kids with no moral compass like the public schools do. I love this place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2010

I spent all of my primary and some of secondary education at this school. I have horrible memories from STE. I am currently studying to be an elementary teacher UT Austin, and as I look back on my education, I see a lot of rote memorization, repetition, little meaning, and no community. STE fails to embrace the cultures, backgrounds, and stories that come from the students as it forces them to choose, for example, bagpipes/drums or dancing. Obviously, there is no choice. Girls dance, boys play the drums or bagpipe. I honestly wanted to play the drums when I attended STE, but that was unacceptable.


Posted November 21, 2010

Read between the lines of the information pages of the school. Click on the chapel link. STE requires every student to go to chapel. Parents, who are not Christian realize this, but ignore it because the academics are "good." STE talks about Christianity, but hardly ever carries out what they are supposed to do. What does it mean for a ten-year-old to chant words that she doesn't really understand? Now click the School Song link. Boys are supposed to be strong and brave. Girls are supposed to be gentle and have beautiful hearts. After attending this school, I find that STE creates the borders and walls between gender roles constantly in the curriculum, and even in religion. I would not send my children to this school ever.


Posted November 9, 2010

They incorporate the Scottish Arts and Music daily
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

This school is a small, unworthy, and bland school for a higher than usual price.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

STES offers a well rounded education. The work load is heavy and the quality of work expected is demanding but I feel it will give my children the foundation they need to prepare themselves for college. This school is not for lazy, undisciplined students. The teachers are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

Unless your child is big on Scottish music or dance, there isn't much more to brag about. Curriculum is outdated and not competitive with other privet schools in the area. Sport's program for middle school is basically non-existent. I believe the school is trying to improve the situation, unfortunately at a very slow pace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

My daughter is a Kindergartener at this school and she loves the school, her teacher and the traditions. She is reading confidently and with enthusiasm. There is a lot of parental involvement required but I would expect that out of any school with an academic emphasis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

The curriculum is out of date. They are trying to upgrade science, but not in the lower school. Some teachers are excellent but there are an equal number that are not. It seems to be more important to have the kids quiet than in interactive learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

I agree with many other reviewers here. The curriculum is out of date, and teaching of math in particular skews heavily towards rote memorization at the expense of understanding basic concepts. All of this could be overlooked if the school provided a nurturing and happy environment for our child, but our child's teacher is very lazy and finds it easier to control the class with threats and punitive measures (as noted by several other reviewers here) rather than by keeping children engaged. We have been very disappointed, primarily in the academics, but also by the cliques.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2009

This School really tries hard to give kids a broad education. There are some areas that could be better i.e parent/teacher communication, but overall I have been impressed with academic standards. For a small school there are many extracurricular opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2008

Who ever says this school is bad. What other high school in the U.S. has a pipe band that won the Juvenile Pipe Band Championships 5 times and played for Queen Elizabeth 2. Also environment is fun and focuses on education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2008

Leadership in the administration is lacking and trickles down to result in poor motivation with the school programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2008

Very poor in science and math -- evolution is replaced by Genesis, and math is taught by rote rather than getting students to understand concepts. Horribly sexist environment that excludes girls from the Scottish band program and most sports.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2008

I went to STE for seven years, and then left. Here's the boildown. I never attended the lower school, but I sense that the middle school is the best part.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 18, 2007

Great school. Love that the girls and boys are taught separately 1-8 (this does not mean there is no interaction!) New headmaster has made amazing changes with more to come! Required foreign language from grade one is fabulous and the small classes and parent involvement make for a truly wonderful environment for the student. Tuition is reasonable (comparatively speaking) and extra curriculars are expanding. The school has also applied for accreditation. The upper classmen are kind to the lower school and this gives such a boost to the elementary kids! (Nice not to see high schoolers making out in the hallways too!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2007

This is a very involving private school that includes chapel five days a week. Although the extracurricular activities are not extremely big, they are growing and have increased in number. Just this year they have started their first girls' soccer team and this is the second year with a high school and middle school swim team. Their high school girls' basketball team is getting better as is the middle school. They also have a very good writing and Latin program. Many children that go to St. Thomas throughout high school end up making it into great colleges and are very successful. They also have highly involved highland dancers and a world class bag-pipe and drum band. Every year they hold the Scottish Festival around March in the Toyota center to show off the amazing dancers and band members.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 31%
Asian or Pacific Islander 19% 4%
Hispanic 10% 51%
Black 6% 13%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Cantonese)
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Scholastic Gold Crown Awards for the Yearbook

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mike Cusack
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4900 Jackwood Street
Houston, TX 77096
Website: Click here
Phone: (713) 666-3111

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT