Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Alexander-Smith Academy

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Houston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $253,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2014

I am a parent, and I am looking for a private high school in Houston for my boy now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

This school has been overwhelming disappointing to my child. The teachers are painfully weak, unkind to the students, and truly uncaring. I see now that no one had rated the school in 3 years, there may have been a time it was a good school. I think people say they like it because they are desperate and have no other choice for their child. My child did have other choices and I thought the small school would be nice. But the inflexibility, lack of respect for the students, terrible teaching, and very odd teachers has been a total disaster. The principal is very nice, but has no intention of asking terrible faculty and admin to leave who have been there for decades. A crime, especially at the cost financially and for a kids' childhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2010

This school is very weak academically. The total instruction time is much less than other schools. There are no classes on Fridays, and there are all kinds of breaks (winter break, spring break etc). Kids come from other private schools (Awty, St John's) and find the material very easy-- a slacker school. Agreed that some kids can benefit as they make easy As but what they will miss is good background in very important classes (Chemistry, Physics)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2010

Loved it small class size was so much better than any of the big ones
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2010

Going to Alexander Smith Academy was the best decision I have ever made. I loved that the classes were so small that each student received the individual attention he or she needed but large enough to get into a heated class discussion or debate. Another great part about ASA is that the teachers truly care about the progress each student makes and intervenes when they feel a student is struggling. I would have never gone to another school besides this one and I am so grateful for the past 4 years that I have spent there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2009

ASA is the best school I have been to (and I should know as I have been to seven in several parts of the world). The teachers are friendly, helpful and care about your education. Tutorials are amazing, the teachers will sit with you one on one and go through the entire lesson with you if that is what you need. Every Friday is dedicated to tutorials so you can get all the help you need. Though many view the Fridays as a day off!! Come and see ASA and you will be made to feel welcome.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 11, 2005

When I visited this school for my daughter I was VERY impressed. The school is providing a very nurturing and supportive place for the kids and giving them a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2005

Wonderful teachers at this school...they are life savers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2005

This is an EXCELLENT school. There is a fair amount of time and attention given to all students and the teachers are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2005

This school saved my life! The teachers are great and the class size is small. My parents were always really involved and able to talk to teachers whenever possible. -Heather Pratt
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 28, 2003

Best treatment of students in the Houston Area. Happiest students, kindest teachers and staff. This school really cares about the student and the family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2003

this is a great school, it rocks it is fun and the teachers are great.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 22, 2003

This school was the best thing that ever happened to me. I transfered here during my senior year from a large, public high school. I wish I had attended this school all four years. The class sizes are extremely small, and the teachers really can devote attention to each student. I looked forward to going to school every day. If every school in the country was organized like this one, every student could and would go on to college.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 31%
Hispanic 8% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Black 3% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (713) 266-8857

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10255 Richmond Avenue
Houston, TX 77042
Phone: (713) 266-0920

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


River Oaks Academy
Houston, TX


Yes Prep - West
Houston, TX




The Tenney School
Houston, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT