Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
70 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Alexander-Smith Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 27, 2015
- a parent
The support and encouragement my kids had to graduate from this school was super I have to say thank you for the whole staff including the owner

Alexander-Smith Academy 5

Posted July 27, 2015
- a parent
Had my twins graduating from the school in 2014 and it was the best school ever with fantastic staff and great atmosphere


Alexander-Smith Academy 3

Posted February 11, 2014
- a parent
I am a parent, and I am looking for a private high school in Houston for my boy now.

Alexander-Smith Academy 1

Posted March 18, 2013
- a parent
This school has been overwhelming disappointing to my child. The teachers are painfully weak, unkind to the students, and truly uncaring. I see now that no one had rated the school in 3 years, there may have been a time it was a good school. I think people say they like it because they are desperate and have no other choice for their child. My child did have other choices and I thought the small school would be nice. But the inflexibility, lack of respect for the students, terrible teaching, and very odd teachers has been a total disaster. The principal is very nice, but has no intention of asking terrible faculty and admin to leave who have been there for decades. A crime, especially at the cost financially and for a kids' childhood.

Alexander-Smith Academy 1

Posted December 16, 2010
- a parent
This school is very weak academically. The total instruction time is much less than other schools. There are no classes on Fridays, and there are all kinds of breaks (winter break, spring break etc). Kids come from other private schools (Awty, St John's) and find the material very easy-- a slacker school. Agreed that some kids can benefit as they make easy As but what they will miss is good background in very important classes (Chemistry, Physics)


Alexander-Smith Academy 5

Posted July 11, 2010
- a student
Loved it small class size was so much better than any of the big ones

Alexander-Smith Academy 5

Posted June 14, 2010
- a student
Going to Alexander Smith Academy was the best decision I have ever made. I loved that the classes were so small that each student received the individual attention he or she needed but large enough to get into a heated class discussion or debate. Another great part about ASA is that the teachers truly care about the progress each student makes and intervenes when they feel a student is struggling. I would have never gone to another school besides this one and I am so grateful for the past 4 years that I have spent there.

Alexander-Smith Academy 5

Posted August 26, 2009
- a student
ASA is the best school I have been to (and I should know as I have been to seven in several parts of the world). The teachers are friendly, helpful and care about your education. Tutorials are amazing, the teachers will sit with you one on one and go through the entire lesson with you if that is what you need. Every Friday is dedicated to tutorials so you can get all the help you need. Though many view the Fridays as a day off!! Come and see ASA and you will be made to feel welcome.


Alexander-Smith Academy 4

Posted April 11, 2005
- a parent
When I visited this school for my daughter I was VERY impressed. The school is providing a very nurturing and supportive place for the kids and giving them a great education.

Alexander-Smith Academy 4

Posted April 11, 2005
- a parent
Wonderful teachers at this school...they are life savers.

Nearby schools

Alexander-Smith Academy
10255 Richmond Avenue, Houston, TX  77042
(713) 266-0920
Last modified Alexander-Smith Academy is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top