Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Living Word Christian Academy

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Houston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $111,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 39 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

55 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 16, 2012

My son started attending Living Word Christian Academy/ABC Word Academy school in August of 2011. He was 2 1/2 years old. Ms. Evelyn was his teacher she is AWESOME! She nutures her students at the same time teaches the essentials needed for 2 year olds to grow to the next level, which is obviously effective. My son loves her! His learning ability seems to improve by the week. Ms.Tina and Ms.Veronica are both welcoming, both ladies are approachable with WONDERFUL spirits. The enviroment makes is safe I love that there are active camera's around the campus. I would refer Living Word Christian Academy/ABC Word Academy to anyone that is seeking a school for thier child. ~Stacy Thomas
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

This is a great school, friendly staff, clean enviorment and excellent educational skills being taught and a wonderful christian foundation. I was very impressed with this school and would refer my family, friends and co workers. Sharalda Smith
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

I have had the pleasure of having 2 of my children attend ABC & Livingword academy. My son attended ABC when he was 3yrs old & would quote scriptures & sing all the time from what he learned & now my 23mo old is following in his footsteps. She already knows her ABC's & singing yes Jesus loves me! I really love that this school gives my kids the basis of christianity. My son is now 7yr old & still goes to the summer camp where he enjoys himself & back singing songs & quoting scriptures! Tonya Young
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

ABC Word Academy is a GREAT school. The directors and teachers are all Wonderful people. The care, and education they give your child is amazing. The first thing that impressed me about this school was how clean and organized it was, the staff running it just puts it over the top. I recommend it 100%. I am very happy my child is atteding this school, and she looks forward to being there everyday. Martha Perez
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

Last year was my son's first year at Living Word and I'm so pleased with his improvement in his education level and social level. The staff I interacted with were fantastic and very understanding. I would recommend them to any parent who is looking for a great school for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

What a great school!!!!!! This school has surpassed all of my expectations and I really enjoy the staff and the administration. They work hard at educating my children and work tirelessly to set the children up for success. The facility is always kept clean and the classrooms child friendly. The school site is safe with cameras in each room and a combination lock on the doors. Kudos to the administration and teaching staff!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

My child attends the Living Word's ABC Christian Academy and I am very pleased with the professionalism that is exemplified by all the staff members. I am especially pleased with the service that is rendered by Ms. Tina who has made herself available whenever needed. Ms. Tina's hands-on service goes far beyond the call of duty to ensure that all the children needs are met. Overall, I know that this academy provides a Christian, yet educational environment for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

I absolutely LOVE the teachers! The care my children get here is GREAT and ABC has a wonderful academic program..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

ABC Word Academy is a great school. The directors and teachers are friendly and professional. I especially want to acknowledge Ms. Tina for being nice and caring and Ms. Evelin for being an awesome teacher. My son has attended this school for two years and is doing very well in class. Not only is the learning environment fun, interactive with hands on activities, but a Christian curriculum is taught too! This school was the right choice for my son; I know he will be well prepared for kindergarten. Keep up the great work ABC Word Academy staff! Sheritta McElveen
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

Exceptional School. Love Ms. Tina the director. She also taught my little one when she was still in the classroom. Now she is with Ms. Evelyn who is also awesome. I honestly think my daughter learned more by going here than to regular school. She definitely learned more here than any other daycare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

ABC Word Academy has been the right choice since my child's school closesd without warning. I had to find a school that had the same concept and when I entered the school and met Ms. Tina she made me feel right at home and this is the reason why I chose this school. She is is very professional and listens to the parents and really care about the students. My child was able to continue on with his learning and is excelling academically. The school has great teachers who also care about the students. I made the right choice and want to say ABC Word Academy is a great schoo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

We are very pleased with ABC Word Academy and positive that we made a good choice. The staff has been very attentive and proactive with our daughter. We appreciate the hard work and constant dedication. thanks,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

ABC Word Academy is a good school with a caring environment. My two children are well cared for. The caregivers in the infants room are caring and attentive to my child's needs. The teachers in the toddlers room have been great academically. I can see that my child is learning. It is good to see him come home with projects that he has completed that day. He also looks forward to seeing his teachers every day. The office staff is friendly and good about contacting us if there is an issue concerning the children's health and other matters. Overall, ABC Word Academy has been a good choice for the caring and well being of our young children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

We are very pleased with ABC Word academy and confident that we made a good decision, in allowing our daughter to go there. We appreciate the dedication and love shown. There is always a high level of respect from the employees and you are made to feel like you are apart of one big happy family. thanks for everything
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

ABC Word Academy has been instrumental in my preschoolers learning. He is learning so much and each week he is talking to me about something new! It is amazing to see the growth. The teachers genuinely care for the kids and it shows. The staff is courteous and helpful. If you have any issues they will work diligently to get the situation corrected. I was recommended to the school and my experiences have been a blessing. I too will recommend ABC Word and I look forward to another great year! Y. Humber-Jackson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

ABC Word Academy is a good school for infants and toddlers. I have been pleased so far with what my 18 month old is learning on a daily basis. I especially like the structured curriculum for the infant and 18 month to 2 year old classrooms. The teachers and staff are very friendly and the school itself exudes a wonderful Christian environment. The one thing that I am displeased with is how the price increase was handled. I have no problem with increases in pricing, but I was not notified in a proper or timely manner before the price increase went into affect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

ABC Word Academy is a wonderful place for kids and families! We feel lucky that our family is part of this school. We would like thank the staff for everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

ABC Word Academy is a wonderful school. I love the way Jesus is being incoroporated in their everyday activities. This is clearly demonstrated when my son is able to recite bible verses at 3 yrs old or when he comes home and emulates how Mr. Coleman sings " If anybody ask you who I am, Tell them I'm a child of God". Thanks for doing a wonderful job ABC. Tomeka Preston
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2012

Our family has a 10 year tenure with LWCA. My oldest son was homeschooled, and after I experienced a brief illness in February 2002, he was invited to attend LWCA for a week while I recuperated. He loved the academy so much, he begged to stay and ultimately graduated from 8th grade in 2008. What I appreciated most about the academy was that it built on the foundation that we had alread laid in our son's life: nurturing a love for God and a sense of responsibility in him taking ownership of his own education. When he entered high school in CFISD, his counselors and teachers were simply amazed with how far advanced he was in his studies! This year he graduated from high school Summa Cum Laude and will leave to attend Baylor University in a week! We were so pleased that we repeated the same process with our two younger sons, one who entered second grade in 2009, and the last one who entered first grade in 2010. Both boys, again, faired very well with the process at LWCA: the daily chapel, the rigorous and biblically intergrated curriculum, AND the nurturing and dedicated staff! We have also been VERY pleased with their standardized test scores each year. Thank you, LWCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

If there was way to rate the school -0- stars I would have. The administration is horrible! It's like talking to a brick wall. When asked a question or if a concern is brought to them nothing gets resolved and please don't expect an accurate answer. The reply is usually babble, just enough to aggravate you so you leave it alone. Please reconsider bringing your child to LWCA. Spend a little more money to get better service.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 94% 13%
White 3% 31%
Hispanic 2% 51%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6601 Antoine Drive
Houston, TX 77091
Phone: (713) 686-5538

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Smith Academy
Houston, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT