Advertisement
Advertisement

Living Word Christian Academy

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Houston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $111,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 38 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

54 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 28, 2012

My child Had some behavioral issues and this principal worked with me to help my child succeed. The principal and teachers exhibit their love on a daily basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2012

I am a public school teacher. My niece and nephew started out at LWCA. Unfortunately, their parents had to relocate. However, when my niece started her new school, she was so far advance than the other students. She was test and moved up a grade. My nephew is ahead of this class. After seeing my niece and nephew advance academically, my son now attends LWCA. There is a big difference in Private Christian Education and Public School Education. LWCA offers lots of one on one. I enjoy talking and working with the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2012

Enrolling my grandaughter at this school was my biggest mistake.I feel as if I failed my grandaughter. My grandaughter has been at Brookhollow Christian Academy for 6 years and I was very satisfied. BCA only went up to 2nd grade, which left me looking for another Christian Academy. I'm sad to say I was told about LWCA.The teacher I was introduced to when I came to tour the school wasnt the same teacher that is my grandaughters teacher now. At the beginning of the school year I noticed the mispelling of words on the board.I went in at the beginning of the school year and let her teacher know that I was there to support her as the teacher and my grandaughter. I noticed that the teacher didnt give out conduct sheets for the purpose of communication. The first 9 weks was o.k., but I was noticing that her teacher didnt seem as if she was an experienced teacher. The second nine weeks was a total nightmare. My grandaughter recieved 3 F's on her progress report and I was never notified by the teacher that my grandaughters grades dropped down from A's and B"s to F's. There is no communication from the teacher to the parents and the administration is know help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2012

As a parent I feel that when you have a problem with anything that occurs at the school you should be able to go to the administrator of the school to resolve the problem. Each time I went to Ms. Goodie or had a conversation with her I felt as if she wasnt holding the teacher responsible for anything. I felt as if I was being labeled and attacked. At this point I'm just waiting for the end of the school year because I have know intention of returning to LWCA. Every school that hold any type of Accreditation has guidelines in which they must follow in order to keep their Accreditation. I bought my grandaughter here for a Christian Education, small classes, firm but loving teachers. I feel that my grandaughters teachers are lazy, unexperienced and untrained. I dont recommend Living Word Christian Academy to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2010

I currently have two children attending this wonderful school. The earliest my children attended this school was 18 months. The structure, love, and innovation this school brings to our children is amazing. The christain teachings have also helped my kids become more confident in their faith and beliefs. Nothing is forced and when children seeking more knowledge it is provided.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

This school is great! I love the small classes and the children learn so much. I think the potential for this school is outstanding and they will do great things. I would suggest that anyone who has a little one to send your child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

My grand daughter has been going to LWCA since she was 3. It is an awesome school with great teachers, assistants, and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

My daughter is going to the first grade next school year and has been with LWCA since Pre-K all my daughter wants to do in her spare time is read, do math problems and write. I beleive this is all due to this school. She started reading and doing basic addition in Pre-K and now in kinder doing more advance levels along with learning spanish. They also have fine arts programs so that your child may be in after school activities which is also awesome. Also the adminitration has always been very nice in answering any questions I have had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

As far as learning it is a great school my son has learn so much there. But the adminitration, I believe the attitudes could be better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

My daughter started at Inwood Oaks Christian School in kindergarten. She loves the school and is learning at higher level than public school. Next year will be her third year at IOCS. We love the school and there strong Christian environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2007

My son has attended IOCS since he was 3 years old and he is now in the first grade. He is very excited about learning and if that excites him I don't mind making the sacrifice to send him to IOCS. And to top it all off, the school is christian based. They have praise and worship service everyday and parents are invited to participate. My husband and I are pleased with my son's progress. The staff is helpful and friendly and all of the teachers are certified instructors. The after school programs they have developed are great. If you are in search of a Christian School for your child, please give IOCS a tour. You will definitely love it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2006

Hello, my name is Shawn Carpenter and my two children have been attending Inwood Oaks School for two years now and we love the school , the staff everything about it. My children have and have had wonderful teachers I know they are learning and want to learn more. They are excited about going to this school. We were at Sea World ,Texas and my kids kept asking me when were they going back to school, I was like wow!, they rather be at school than see Shamu, that's just so awesome to me. I thank God so much for allowing my chidren to be in an environment like Inwood oaks Christian, it's truly a Blessing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2005

Great school. The staff is very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. My 2year old and my 7 year old kids are very happy and my 7 year old is learning much more than when she was in tomball school district, considered a top school. The are also learning about god. I make the sacrifice to pay for my kids education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

It was very difficult working with the staff at this school. There seemed to be a 'control issue' between the administration/coordinators and the teachers. Yet it was the students who suffered when parents are denied access to teachers. I would strongly not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 14%
White 2% 37%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 47%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6601 Antoine Dr
Houston, TX 77091
Phone: (713) 686-5538

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Smith Academy
Houston, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT