Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Memorial Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 240 students

We are best known for Classical Education program.

 
 

Living in Houston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $241,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2010

My son is currently in Pre-K and has attended Memorial Lutheran since he was 18 mo. old. I really love this school and the familial environment. Its true that most teachers know most of the students by name, even when they are in different grades. Also, many graduates return to work there later. I think that says a lot. When in daycare, my son was well cared. I liked that the children were well behaved, encouraged to be responsible, and attentive. In fact, my son rarely even got sick! Not the case in our previous daycare. On occasion my husband gets frustrated w/ the somewhat casual atmosphere, but it works for my son and me. I don't like schools that are so uptight w/ their rules that they forget about people. I recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

This school is amazing. I put my preschool age son in Memorial Lutheran after I had a pretty bad experience at one of the most 'elite' and expensive day cares in Houston (will not mention the name). The teachers are clearly teaching at this school because they love children and value education. My son knows most of the students all the way through 8th grade. The school has a large family feeling. Within a week of our enrolling our son in school, the teachers (not just my son's teacher but all teachers) were thanking me for sending my precious boy there. What a wonderful atmosphere that really appreciates and cares for the students. Academically this school is top notch as well. And the music program is outstanding. I can't say enough great things about Memorial Lutheran.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2009

I love this school! My oldest son just graduated from Memorial Lutheran in which he attended MLS 1st thru 8th grades. My younger son is in 6th grade and has attended since pre K. The classes are small. The teachers love the school and they love the children. The school gets better year after year with the addition of new programs such as a science lab and computer lab. Parent involvement has been a problem in the past but seems to be getting better. I highly recommend this school! It is definitely a hidden gem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2009

Memorial Lutheran School is one of the best private Christian schools in the Houston area. My children learned not only academics but Christian love and behavior with life lessons. Strong leadership and caring teachers make for a positive learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

What a relief it is to be at Memorial after public school! My children are happy and learning and have experienced teachers who are attentive to their needs. The extracurricular activities and specials offered (esp. fine arts, Latin, and Spanish) are all incredible. My kids are not only being given what they need academically, but emotionally and spiritually as well. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2007

Are there better private schools? Maybe...... but for more than twice the price and limited diversity. We love MLS for 4 reasons... our children are happy, low student/teacher ratio, the teachers are great -- creative and well educated, and the diversity is amazing. MLS is represented by more than 20 countries and every race and this is because the tuition is kept low because of the funding it receives from the church. Miss Anna, Miss Engler, Cantor Muth and Mr. Drosche are just a few examples of the fine teachers at MLS who are committed not only to the education but also the spiritual well being of the children. The only thing I wish I could change -- parental involvement. It is improving but I wish more parents would be active in the school PTL and fundraising events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

Memorial Lutheran School has some the most professional and caring teachers around. Memorial Lutheran now has a great writing curriculum to add to its already strong curriculum of comprehensive language arts, wonderful computer lab for Pre-K to 8th, music, orchestra, band, Latin, logic, Spanish, art, competitive sports at the elementary and middle school level, as well as high school credit courses in the 8th grade. My children attended Memorial Lutheran from K-8th grade and were more than ready for the rigors of high school education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

Both of my girls have attended Memorial Lutheran since they were two-years-old, it has gotten progressively worse each year. I found the teachers to be unprofessional and not attentive to the student's needs. The classrooms are overcrowded - and the teacher's seem to focus more on the religious/moral behaviors of the students than actually teaching them to read and write. Additionally, I found the Headmaster to be unattentive, often not even returning phone calls. If you are looking for a good private school education, you won't find it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2007

My boys have been bullied since they arrived here. I spoke with the principal here & not a lot happen. He spoke with the little boys but now they have started being rougher. Teachers here talking w/ each other too much & not enough looking at the kids. No real one on one here with the student & teacher. They have 15 in a class but still not enough attention. Costs will be going up with the new school yr already too much. Not worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2007

The schools academic level is average. Our gifted sons left the school and scored below average or barely average on reading skills and language arts. Not much availability to adjust the schedule for talented or somewhat different students although the intent and interest was there. Great personality teachers and principle. Very rigid with religion which makes the experience very boring for the kids. No real Christmas program ( all singing Christian hymnal songs - no traditional CHristmas songs or plays etc). SPorts ok. Music classes are great - esp Violin. The music teacher is exceptional. The school is trying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2006

This is an extremely organized school, and the environment is very nurturing and caring, yet they instill a sense of age and individual appropriate responsibility. It's worth a look!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2003

My son has attended since his was two years old, he is now seven. We love Memorial Lutheran School he couldn't wait to get back to school this year. The children there are taught very important values and how much God loves them.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 31%
Black 18% 13%
Hispanic 7% 51%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Award of Excellent by the Lutheran School Accreditation Commission (2009)

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Reverend J. Bart Day, Headmaster
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
  • Year-round
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • LSAC
Fax number
  • (713) 782-1749

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Parent teacher league is involved in all fundraising efforts and school suport. the community is generous with donations to our annual auction.
More from this school
  • Students who attend Memorial Lutheran School do not have to be Lutheran! Students from other faiths attend our school. We also have a good number of international students at Memorial - from countries such as Norway, Angola, China and England.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Lutheran High North
St. Thomas HS
St. Agnes Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5800 Westheimer Road
Houston, TX 77057
Website: Click here
Phone: (713) 782-4022

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Crossroads School
Houston, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT