Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Banff School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Houston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $182,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2013

This is my daughter's fourth year here. We have looked at other schools but the big thing that stands out in Banff is that you have access / open communication lines to the principal and teachers all the time. The other thing I like about this school is that the teachers are very helpful in pushing each student to realize fullest potential. No one school will be a perfect fit but here, we found the closest fit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

My child attended the elementary school for a year. Whilst reading levels were advanced, overall, the classrooms and equipment were worn out and out of date. In fact the whole facility has had little or no investment for the past 20 years, except for the gymnasium which was rebuilt after the original one burned down. The school is run on a shoestring and parents are expected to organize and pay for everything when it comes to extra-curricular activities (including using their own homes to facilitate any clubs or competition activities). Whilst the elementary teachers were generally good, the administrative staff were absolutely terrible. Any information supposed to come from the school was either wrong, changed at the last minute or not communicated at all. As for the admissions policy, there is no testing or screening which means that there are a disproportionate number of students with behavioral/learning differences Don't be fooled by the glossy website.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

We choose to send our daughter to The Banff School over any other school because of the high standards and the caring teachers. The students at Banff benefit from the individualized attention that comes with having small class sizes. If you are thinking about changing schools due to overcrowding, or if your child is unhappy in their current school,or if they are not receiving a top-notch education where they are- I encourage you to take a tour of Banff. We honestly love the principals and the teachers here. They have the student's best interest at heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

Since there are not a lot of kids that go to this school you are either popular or an out cast. You either suck up to the "queen bee" or you suffer the consequences. Everyone is EXTREMELY cliquey and the principals don't care and are fake. The education is good, I have learned a lot, although most of the classes are boring. The extra curriculars are very limited and no field trips or fun stuff out of the classroom. Don't send your child to this school.


Posted January 26, 2010

We have been at this school for four years. I have four children here and am completely involved with the school. There is a family-oriented calmness in this school. The children and parents are all listened to and the teachers bend over backward for the best thing for students. The parents who complain are usually the ones who do not volunteer and don't get involved with any extracurricular activities. I will be here until my youngest leaves and then maybe volunteer afterwards as well. This school is very helpful with their education careers and shows many colleges to the children as soon as they are in high school. I wouldn't change a thing about it. Five stars all the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

My son just started at Banff this year after being exclusively in public schools and Banff is great. I wish we would've had him here all along. Much of the peer pressure and getting lost in the huge public HS's is gone. The teachers really care about the students and I feel he's getting a much higher quality of education. Also, for being a private school, they have their rules, but they are very reasonable. They also make conscious efforts for students to expand socially as well such as a week long field trip near the beginning of the school year. Bottom line - great school --- 2 thumbs way up from me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

My children have been at the banff school for a few years now and are very happy. I am very pleased with curriculum that they offer and the Banff School. Both my Children have learned so much with thier Teachers. Which has placed them in the Honor Roll last year. I am looking forward to another year at the Banff School. If you get a chance stop buy and take a look at what they have to offer! You will be happy that you did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

I am a junior at The Banff School. I feel Banff is preparing me for success in college. This year I am taking several dual credit classes and will graduate as a Distinqished Scholar next year. I like the extra curricular activities and the friends I have made at Banff.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2009

My child has been at The Banff School for a few years now and is very happy. My child loves the teachers, and is looking forward to the years to come. I am extremely happy with the curriculum that they offer and my child is learning well above what they are teaching in the public school system. The staff is very nice and genuinely concerned for my child. Every morning the office staff and principals are at the door to greet the parents and children as they come in and if I have ever needed anything or have had any concerns they have either addressed them then and there, or made an appointment with me that very day to address them. My child enjoys the extras offered at the school and has made many friends that will be part of our family for life. I highly recommend that you come and look at the school and see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2009

The staff at the Banff School truly care for the well being and future of its students. The education for pre-school is unbelievable and the teachers are kind, tentative, and patient. They offer many dual credit classes for high schoolers that really prepare the kids for college life. The small class size allows the teachers to take time on each and every student, and make sure they are comfortable with the material being taught. This is an outstanding private school!


Posted January 18, 2009

The teachers are phenomenal, caring, kind, passionate about teaching, and organized. While the prinicpals are excellent; unfortunately, the front office staff is not as organized and items on the calendar are usually last minute and always subject to change without prior notification - makes it hard to plan. I am an involved parent myself & have noticed the (Banff) family is picky about whom they allow to help out. The classrooms are wonderful, it's the inconsistency with attendance, getting return phone calls, & getting answers to questions that is frustrating. As for extra curricular, I disagree, there is not a lot offered but at least what is offered is decent. My child is learning so much from his teacher & we've been there going on three years. I just wish the calendar & communication were a lot more organized!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

Though this school focuses on the arts and encourages creativity amongst its students, the lack of discipline and the low expectations are enough to cause frustration in teachers, parents and students alike. The education provided is not sufficient compared to other students from other schools.


Posted September 20, 2007

I have been at this school for more than nine years. They offer great college oppurtunities and small classes. Im planning to stay here through my senior year. I enjoy the 'homey' environments.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2005

I am very happy with the program offered at Banff School. It offers a complete curriculum from pre-k all the way to high school. There is a lot of commitment from the teachers to make sure that all of the students make the most of the time that they spend in the classroom. Banff offers many extracurricular activities like gymnastics, music, art, dance and parents are very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 31%
Asian or Pacific Islander 28% 4%
Hispanic 12% 51%
Black 8% 13%
Two or more races 7% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (281) 444-3632

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13726 Cutten Road
Houston, TX 77069
Phone: (281) 444-9326

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT