Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Mark's Episcopal School

Private | PK-8 | 430 students

Our school is best known for our engaged community.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Houston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $345,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 7, 2014

We spent one year in WUES before moving our child to St. Mark's and I cannot say enough good things about it. All my comments will be gushing and emotional after our very unhappy experience at West U. The vision statement of the school really says it all. It is a nurturing environment that celebrates the uniqueness of the child. There is focus on exploration and learning through investigating. The teachers are wonderful, the materials and facilities are top notch. The work is age appropriate yet advanced. Our daughter gladly goes off to school each day and now has stories of the things she did each day that she enjoyed. The art and photography that is throughout the school is beautiful and speaks volumes to these two teachers. Visit the school and you will be very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2012

This is an outstanding school for many reasons. The principal runs things in a very progressive manner meaning that it is evolving academically and within the community all the time. The parent's guild is very active with lots of wonderful opportunities to get involved if you can. The school is small but not too small. They have arts, music, sports, computers, library, I could go on. Having been accepted to other schools such as St Johns I feel that we made the correct choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2011

The early childhood program (Preschool 2's through Kindergarten) is exemplary, with an engaging curriculum and nurturing, supportive teachers. The school's small size is a plus, because students are truly known by faculty and staff, from the headmaster down. The new headmaster, who just finished his first year at the school, is terrific,. He is a great asset to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2011

We have been very happy with St. Mark's. Our son needed a small environment. I feel he is a more protective environment than what the public schools can give. We are excited about the new Head Master and look forward to what he plans on doing with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

I have had three children graduate from St. Mark's Episcopal School. All three kids were very different type students. We had complete support throughout their years and all three were accepted into 100% of the private high schools in which they applied. The extra-curricular is limited because the classes are small. I see the small classes as an asset because my children all received such great individual attention. I highly recommend St. Mark's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

We have been at St. Mark's for 8 years, through some rough times, but have been very happy with the end result. My child was accepted to all three of his high school choices and Lamar IB. He feels prepared more than expected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

I am a former student of St. Mark's and now attend a public high school. St. Mark's academics are okay - not highly challenging, but decent enough. The english department is very advanced, however math is very, very far behind. The other majour point about St. Mark's is the serious lack of diversity, both racially and socio-economically. The school seems to have a student 'profile': white and upper-middle to upper class. Though these issues need to be addressed, overall St. Mark's has set me up pretty well, and is a good, safe, choice for the average to above average student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2006

St Marks is a wonderful school. The academic side of the school is very well thought out and the teachers seem so ready to make each student feel important. There are numerious extracurricular activities for students of all ages. The level of parent interest is very very high and great support is found for the entire school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2006

I have been a student at St. Mark's for 9 years. I started at St. Mark's in kindergarten and will be graduating from 8th grade this year. Overall, St. Mark's has been good for me. I've learned so many things and have grown academically. I'm not going to lie, St. Mark's has its down points. I have to say that the dress code is definatly strict for us teenagers. Sometimes we feel as if they want us to submit to total conformity. But don't think that St. Mark's is all bad. I have never been an excellent math student, but the math teacher has been willing to see me before school and after school to make sure that I understand everything. The teachers really do care. Which is really really nice. -Caroline
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2005

We have been at St Mark's for two years and it is a great school. For the past couple of years it has been going through a transition but it is already great and only going to get better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Some outstanding teachers and some very average (historically math, but 1 weak English teacher also). The quality of the students is consistent with the goal of educating 'average to above average' in the Episcopal tradition. Kids generally do well at the best 2 public schools in Houston, as well as Episcopal and other private high schools. Principal is not interested in supporting a first class sports program and has some annoying 'politically correct' notions, but is diligent and has taken the school to the next level as evidenced by the major building program and other improvements. I say this as the parent of a senior at Episcopal who attended St. Mark's K-8 and who has been accepted to top 50 nationally ranked colleges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2003

The most wonderful teachers I have ever experienced. They truly care.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

Poor quality of students, and grades are too small. Lack of good policy
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 31%
Two or more races 9% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Hispanic 4% 51%
Black 3% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (713) 349-0419

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3816 Bellaire Blvd
Houston, TX 77025
Website: Click here
Phone: (713) 667-7030

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT