Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Northeast Christian Academy

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Houston

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $137,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,030.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2014

As a former teacher and current parent, I could not be more pleased with the improvements I have seen at NCA over the past several years. My children have received a truly excellent education. They are challenged intellectually and academically, and they have been taught the importance of honoring God in all they do. I am most impressed with the quality and commitment of the teaching faculty. The engage the students and invest in their lives. Certainly the facilities are dated and need improvement; however, I believe the leadership is working to address this and possibly purchase land to move the campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

Horrible place to teach and the parents run the school, not the administration. It's a customer service business, not a school. The building is old, run down and moldy. The classrooms are tiny, suffocating and most the time the AH or heater doesn't work. I don't understand how the place is even still around. I wish I could rank it zero stars.


Posted May 29, 2013

I have been associated with NCA for years as my nephews have attended for their entire school careers (with one graduating this year). Regarding SAT and placement scores, my nephew scored perfectly on the Math portion of the SAT and has been offered over $300,000 in scholarships from various universities across the country. The academics are certainly something to be proud of. As a certified teacher who has taught in, and been an advocate for, public schools, I feel I have a strong basis for comparison. I recently took some time off from teaching full-time to be with my own family more and have taken the opportunity to substitute at NCA. I have consistently been nothing but impressed with the staff, the students, and the parents at NCA. It is truly a breath of fresh air when you walk into their building on a school day.


Posted January 27, 2013

Great improvement over Humble ISD schools. My daughter ecently starting attending and I am satisfied thus far! Looking forward to many more positive experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2012

Check out the graduating SAT scores and placement. You are better off at Kingwood Public Schools.


Posted December 8, 2010

I have been teaching for 7 years at NCA. I taught at a local high school prior to coming to NCA. The constrast is stunning. In the public school, I spent about 70% of my time and energy, doing paperwork for the government and trying to control and maintain a teachable atmosphere in overcrowded classrooms. Here, I teach three different preps, yet I can focus on teaching, while maintaining a continuity with the students year after year, and even get most of my work done while at school during the day. There is a great rapor among the faculty and staff, and the students are wonderful. There is a notable absence of strife or conflict here among students as well as staff. The atmosphere is conducive to both teaching and learning. I've noticed that studious, diligent students are respected here by their peers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 9, 2010

NCA is the best kept secret in Kingwood (even though we do not want it to be)-its amazing how many people do not know about the school. The ademics are amazing! My boys will really be prepared for college. The teachers really treat you with respect-they actually take the time to get to know you! Your opinions matter. The Christian aspect is wonderful and really puts meaning into what you are learning. We have been a part of the public school system and this is by far the best decision we could have made for our children! Its worth every penny. The athletic program is awesome-competitive with winning teams..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

My daughter has been at NCA for three years, starting her senior year in August 2008. We left the public school in our district because of poor performance over all and the lack of goals and motivation in the students. My daughter has been so happy at NCA and has been taught and nurtured and prepared for life after school. She has been very active in student governing and sports and can speak her mind and opinions in a very intelligent manner. I am so proud of her and thankful to NCA staff. It's weel worth the costs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2007

My two boys have been in NCA for the last two years, I love the school staff, the second grade teacher is amazing, he has thought our kids what public schools see in 3rd and 4th grade, He is wonderful. Having God in their curriculum was the most important thing to decide if NCA was for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2004

NCA has been a wonderful school for our children. The caring attitude of the faculty creates a great place for our children to learn and grow. Our daughters have been at NCA for 4 years. Prior to that time, they were in the area public school system. In terms of academics, they are definitely ahead of their peers who are in public school. The extracurricular activities are also great. The kids are able to participate in activities that they would not have the opportunity to in the public school setting. This has increased their self confidence and physical health. We feel sure that after completing their education at NCA, they will both be well prepared for college and beyond. Also worth mentioning are the excellent principals. They are approachable, yet professional. We can tell they have the kids' best interests at heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 31%
Hispanic 9% 51%
Black 8% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • CSI
Fax number
  • (281) 359-5560

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1711 Hamblen Road
Houston, TX 77339
Phone: (281) 359-1090

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT